10/06-Dolly-AMPS 195 -198@2 -178@4 -180@5.75 -PMPS 247 -229@2.25

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-151-4-143-5-173-8-25-pmps-219-170-3.253869/


Sending healing prayers to all the kitties and their caretakers that are not feeling their best
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Dolly's Numbers
I am frightened by Dolly's sudden increase in her BG numbers. Once I raised her to 1.5units her numbers just started getting higher. I do labs often (vet feels too often) and address, if anything, what the vet suggests to further test. Cannot address her BG with any vet because they get extremely concerned with her low numbers and would probably find nothing wrong with where she at. Cannot go to the vet she was with most of her life, they demanded we take her off insulin. Started giving her ZiwiPeak Air Dried Chicken as a snack during the night, 5% carbs, on the 4th of October. Could this possibly be raising her BG? When I look at her SS everything just went south with the increase. Need guidance.
 
Does she get it as only a single before-bed snack? Is she allergic to chicken? (I presume not - just checking).
Hi Bhooma, I haven't checked yet but any news on what's going on with Bandit? Been so worried but also did not want to bug you.

Just recently I said to Rob, wouldn't it be crazy if Dolly was allergic to chicken, all she eats. Never had her tested for allergies, Could it be what causes her sinus issues? She get's her usual lc canned at bedtime and I leave a little of the ZiwiPeak for her to snack on during the night. She wasn't eating the lc I would refresh at 3am, rarely even eating the bedtime snack. She loves the ZiwiPeak.
 
Been so worried but also did not want to bug you.
Not all. I am around. :-)

Just recently I said to Rob, wouldn't it be crazy if Dolly was allergic to chicken, all she eats. Never had her tested for allergies, Could it be what causes her sinus issues? She get's her usual lc canned at bedtime and I leave a little of the ZiwiPeak for her to snack on during the night. She wasn't eating the lc I would refresh at 3am, rarely even eating the bedtime snack. She loves the ZiwiPeak.
I have very little experience with both allergies and sinus issues. I believe that some cats experience a temporary increase in numbers when you change the food. If her usual LC is chicken, there is nothing to indicate she is allergic if you go by her numbers. Again, I have very little experience. We get like 4 kinds of cat food here in India and our cats have to eat that! :(
 
Do you have any answers about Bandit? I see her numbers are still all over the place. Hope this all can be figured out and things start getting better Bhooma. Thanks for responding about Dolly, you have been our life saver so many times over. I wish I had something to offer for Bandit's health. Sending prayers from
Dolly and your favorite DQ:rolleyes:
 
Do you have any answers about Bandit? I see her numbers are still all over the place. Hope this all can be figured out and things start getting better Bhooma. Thanks for responding about Dolly, you have been our life saver so many times over. I wish I had something to offer for Bandit's health. Sending prayers from
Dolly and your favorite DQ:rolleyes:
Appointment with the kidney specialist has been pushed to Monday. Hoping he will be able to figure out if anything is going on - kidney infection etc!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Appointment with the kidney specialist has been pushed to Monday. Hoping he will be able to figure out if anything is going on - kidney infection etc!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Wouldn’t it be nice to just be an infection that can be cured. Not saying an infection is good but hopefully manageable. Prayers Bhooma to you and Bandit and even sweet Budge. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Increase tomorrow. How does this happen? Dolly is back where she was when we started TR last November. I know you can’t take anything for granted, how easy it was to think Dolly would have her wonderful numbers forever. I accepted she would probably not reach remission again but I think I did believe we had everything under control. Tight control. It’s all scary to me. We finally have an appointment with a IM doctor a bit of a distance from us. There are a few + things to address concerning our Dolly girl. Now we can add this, I hope. It depends on the way this doctor views BG numbers and diabetes. Appointment next week. :rolleyes:
 
Not all. I am around. :)


I have very little experience with both allergies and sinus issues. I believe that some cats experience a temporary increase in numbers when you change the food. If her usual LC is chicken, there is nothing to indicate she is allergic if you go by her numbers. Again, I have very little experience. We get like 4 kinds of cat food here in India and our cats have to eat that! :(
Hi Bhooma, could you just tell me if there is any need to continue testing tonight? I don’t know how to deal with these numbers anymore. Wish I didn’t have to remember. DQ:p
 
Hi Bhooma, could you just tell me if there is any need to continue testing tonight? I don’t know how to deal with these numbers anymore. Wish I didn’t have to remember. DQ:p
Was just responding to your previous message when this popped up! :) No more tests needed tonight. Take a break!

Increase tomorrow. How does this happen? Dolly is back where she was when we started TR last November. I know you can’t take anything for granted, how easy it was to think Dolly would have her wonderful numbers forever. I accepted she would probably not reach remission again but I think I did believe we had everything under control. Tight control. It’s all scary to me. We finally have an appointment with a IM doctor a bit of a distance from us. There are a few + things to address concerning our Dolly girl. Now we can add this, I hope. It depends on the way this doctor views BG numbers and diabetes. Appointment next week. :rolleyes:
Yes, I'm afraid it looks like she needs another increase tomorrow.

Just nod your head at whatever the IM vet says about diabetes and continue to do what you're doing. Better still, don't share your SS. Tell him her BG was well controlled and no longer is. If he asks for specific numbers says in the low 100s. All depends on his view on BG, like you said. One of the vets I went to told me 300 is a normal BG number. :rolleyes:
 
Was just responding to your previous message when this popped up! :) No more tests needed tonight. Take a break!


Yes, I'm afraid it looks like she needs another increase tomorrow.

Just nod your head at whatever the IM vet says about diabetes and continue to do what you're doing. Better still, don't share your SS. Tell him her BG was well controlled and no longer is. If he asks for specific numbers says in the low 100s. All depends on his view on BG, like you said. One of the vets I went to told me 300 is a normal BG number. :rolleyes:
Thanks Bhooma. Hope you got my next message about her appetite. I am going to give her the small amount, 1/8 cup, of the ZiwiPeak. I doubt this is the reason for the increase. That started before the new food. I guess it’s time to take away her young again treats she’s been getting forever. I am going to replace them with a couple pieces of the ZiwiPeak. What do you think?
 
Just saw the last 2 messages. Is she not eating because she wants the Ziwipeak and not her usual LC food?
Maybe she is bored of her old food and wants a change?
She doesn’t expect the ZiwiPeak yet. It’s mainly to use so I don’t have to get up during the night to pull old food or give fresh. She ate a little more lc but not her usual appetite. Thanks Bhooma. Was looking back nearly a year ago when you stayed up with me many nights. I don’t know if I could do that again. These last few weeks of midnight and 1am have really been hard on me. Can’t believe the hours I kept back then. I don’t know that I have fully recovered from my fall. I lost so much weight. I suppose I will do whatever I need to. Take care Bhooma and Bandit and Budge behave :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
These last few weeks of midnight and 1am have really been hard on me. Can’t believe the hours I kept back then. I don’t know that I have fully recovered from my fall. I lost so much weight. I suppose I will do whatever I need to.
I can imagine! Maybe the thing to do would be too keep her at a dose where she sees nadirs around 70? So you don't have to stay up late? It is hard to do night after night!
More so given everything else going on! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I can imagine! Maybe the thing to do would be too keep her at a dose where she sees nadirs around 70? So you don't have to stay up late? It is hard to do night after night!
More so given everything else going on! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks again. I want to wish you a lovely day but I imagine you have a lot on you mind edging towards more stress and worry rather then lovely. Prayers and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
DQ!!!! You are supposed to use the night off from testing to go to bed early!!! :rolleyes:
So stressed I can’t relax :woot: Will do better tonight. DQ:p How is Bandit today? I see a lot of pink. Is she acting okay? Does she act like she isn’t feeling well? Sending prayers for solutions, Tuesday, right? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top