? 10/08 Butters AMPS 70/+2.5 76/+5 61/+6 83/ lab results back...kidney issues...?

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday all was going very well until late afternoon. Butters was doing her usual thing (sleeping), when she suddenly woke up, ran to the basement, hid under the couch and yowled a noise I'd never heard. I dragged her out and it was like she had no idea who I was and she didn't seem to know where she was. I thought her BG dropped but it was fine 70. I checked several times and checked my own. She has never hidden under the couch before.
She was breathing quick and her ears were burning hot and still acting disoriented so I decided to take her to the vet. I figured better safe than sorry. She went into her carrier without the usual major drama. Maybe 2.5 hours passed from onset of weird behaviour to the vet seeing her. As soon as the vet walked into the exam room she went mostly back to normal. The vet said her respiration and heart rate were perfect, temperature perfect, gums and teeth look good. :confused:

He pulled up her scruff and thought she was a bit dehydrated. I always add extra water to all of her meals so they are soupy, but I guess I need to add more.

They are doing a wellness 1A profile (CBC full) blood panel and a urinalysis (dipstick and microscopy) to check for any signs of infection or anything else off. I declined the fructosamine and said I'd share my spreadsheet with them instead. :)

I don't know what to think. I thought maybe a seizure but she has had a couple in the past and this was not a seizure.

I did find out she put on 2 lbs since her dx in May, so I need to cut her calories a little. The freeze dried chicken treats are adding significant calories I think.

Have a great day all.
 
Aww. I hope everything is well with her. Perhaps she had a bad dream and it spooked her? I don't know if cats dream, but dogs do, so why not cats? I think for a dream she may have calmed down sooner, but I don't know :(.

At least you know it wasn't a hypo, so that's one less worry. Great job looking out for her. Hopefully it's nothing serious and she'll be fine. Poor Butters :bighug:
 
I had also wondered if it was a bad dream. But two hours later when she was still acting disoriented, breathing fast and not eating, it seemed too long for a reaction to a bad dream.
She was due for a wellness check next month anyways! So she got it one month early.

How odd! And naturally she was fine for the vet. It's like going to the mechanic and telling them that no really, my car was making this weird noise! but it's fine when it's at the shop. Glad she's doing ok now.
LOL that's exactly what I had said to the vet told the vet. She was panting hard and fast from the moment she ran under the couch until the moment the vet walked into the exam room. :facepalm:

Hugs to you and Butters :bighug: Hope she's past whatever it was. Was this an old vet (one you'd seen before)? What did they think of your tightly regulated diabetic :)?
Thanks :bighug:It was an old vet. The one who dx'd her, put her on Vetsulin/Caninsulin and said he couldn't help me if I didn't feed her the prescription dry/wet combo and if I home tested. LOL. It was the other vet in the practice who was available. They are close by and I knew they wouldn't turn her away in her hour of need. When I told him how much testing I'd been doing, he looked skeptical and was actually interested in seeing her spreadsheet, which I will email today. He did make me sign off for refusing the fructosamine test though. :D
 
Happy to hear Butters is ok :)!

The only other thing that may be worth getting if they didn’t do it is a chest X-ray in order to get a look at the heart just to make sure everything appears perfectly normal. I had 2 different situations, 2 different cats and the X-ray was key. The one required an additional cardiology work up due to a few potential concerns from the X-ray. It turned out he was fine, but they stressed that feline cardiology issues can be sudden & serious so it’s best to get some imaging—X-ray to start to make sure nothing is being missed.
 
Happy to hear Butters is ok :)!

The only other thing that may be worth getting if they didn’t do it is a chest X-ray in order to get a look at the heart just to make sure everything appears perfectly normal. I had 2 different situations, 2 different cats and the X-ray was key. The one required an additional cardiology work up due to a few potential concerns from the X-ray. It turned out he was fine, but they stressed that feline cardiology issues can be sudden & serious so it’s best to get some imaging—X-ray to start to make sure nothing is being missed.
Thanks so much for your suggestion! I am kicking myself a bit because I made the vet listen to her heart twice and kept asking "are you sure it sounds okay", but never thought to ask for an X-ray and he didn't suggest it. I am going to make arrangements to get her one.
 
Thanks so much for your suggestion! I am kicking myself a bit because I made the vet listen to her heart twice and kept asking "are you sure it sounds okay", but never thought to ask for an X-ray and he didn't suggest it. I am going to make arrangements to get her one.

Hopefully, it will show nothing but there can be issues without any murmur being heard. Even in the case of a murmur, similar to us and especially early on, it may be very intermittent or so subtle that it’s difficult to hear. X-ray will show if there is any thickening or any other “red flags” that need to be looked into further with additional imaging, etc to rule out issues.

Don’t kick yourself....that hurts :p! No harm, as you said, you are able to get one :bighug:
 
Well I missed the vet's call but they emailed me the results. Just reading and it shows elevated SDMA and creatinine and BUN....and says "kidney disease is probable".
I'm at a loss. I wasn't expecting this. Did I somehow cause this?
I'm updating her spreadsheet with the results and waiting for the vet to call.
 
Well I missed the vet's call but they emailed me the results. Just reading and it shows elevated SDMA and creatinine and BUN....and says "kidney disease is probable".
I'm at a loss. I wasn't expecting this. Did I somehow cause this?
I'm updating her spreadsheet with the results and waiting for the vet to call.
I don't know much but I do know Butters is the luckiest cat to have you look after her. You have been taking care of her the best you know how :bighug:and I know you'll continue to do so. Hang in there. Plus there are so many experienced folks here to help whatever comes your and Butters way :bighug:
 
Labs are updated in her SS and I spoke to the vet. No infection, immune system good. He is very concerned about her "low" glucose (94). He wants me to go to 1/2 u, which I said no.:rolleyes: He was very displeased with me for that. He also told me to stop bugging her so much with the testing.

The bad news, he says, is there is a kidney issue. He says maybe they are just getting older and weaker. He wants her to go on a k/d diet to reduce the amount of protein, and recommends giving her a probiotic, cranberry, and if it continues to get worse, possibly sub-q fluids. His big concern is that her specific gravity is a little low, combined with high BUN and creatinine. her creatinine levels have doubled since her last bloodwork in may.
He also mentioned that her kidney weakness could be partially from her being on the low side of sugar. Is that really a thing?

Did I do something to cause this? Is it her food? Should I look at a food change? I give her Feline Natural canned food right now, if anyone is familiar with this? I'm going to up the water in her food for sure.
Any suggestions anyone has would be much appreciated. I had a cat who had kidney problems but it was late stage when I found out and it was too late to do much about it at that point.
Thanks :bighug:
 
Aww. Sorry for the sad update. I don't know anything about any of this. You shouldn't beat yourself up over anything. You've done an awesome job with Butters :bighug:
 
Last edited:
No you didn't cause it :bighug::bighug:- kidney disease is fairly common in older felines. Keeping her below renal threshold is also giving her kidneys a break so you are doing the right thing there too.

You new go to website: http://www.felinecrf.org/

Could you include the ranges on the Labs page? Each lab is a bit different so we need to include the ranges too. Yes, Idexx does the SDMA. It will be worth a retest at some point. FWIW, I have a cat whose SDMA was 14 when I got her (normal range is 0-14) and now hovers around 5. The same with urine specific gravity. If possible, you should try capturing some at home first thing in the morning, and running it to the vet for a quick in house USG test. Morning pee is most concentrated. USG measures how well your kidneys are concentrating fluids. If you've just had a large amount of water, you can make it very dilute.

Butters phosphorus could be a little lower - you may have to investigate some slightly lower P foods. 1.6 is in normal range, but higher end. BUN and Creatinine are higher end, but a cat being dehydrated can impact those numbers.
 
So sorry that your vet doesn't know the first thing about FD...at least you were well armed in that department!

Yes, I've heard that kidney issues are very common among older felines and the FD doesn't help. I'm glad Wendy chimed in with solid information about kidney issues!

I do hope she doesn't have any more of these 'spells'...it sure is stressful ...

I hope you both have a restful and pleasant evening!
 
No you didn't cause it :bighug::bighug:- kidney disease is fairly common in older felines. Keeping her below renal threshold is also giving her kidneys a break so you are doing the right thing there too.

You new go to website: http://www.felinecrf.org/

Could you include the ranges on the Labs page? Each lab is a bit different so we need to include the ranges too. Yes, Idexx does the SDMA. It will be worth a retest at some point. FWIW, I have a cat whose SDMA was 14 when I got her (normal range is 0-14) and now hovers around 5. The same with urine specific gravity. If possible, you should try capturing some at home first thing in the morning, and running it to the vet for a quick in house USG test. Morning pee is most concentrated. USG measures how well your kidneys are concentrating fluids. If you've just had a large amount of water, you can make it very dilute.

Butters phosphorus could be a little lower - you may have to investigate some slightly lower P foods. 1.6 is in normal range, but higher end. BUN and Creatinine are higher end, but a cat being dehydrated can impact those numbers.
Thank you for the info. :bighug: I have put the lab ranges in. I am going to do what you've recommended, starting with a thorough read of the crf website and looking into lower phosphorus foods. She loves her food so much; I'd feel horrible if I find out I have been feeding her high P food all this time.

I have questions but I don't want to ask until I try to find the info on the website and feel a little bit more conversant. However, I would love to know how you got your cat's SDMA from 14 to 5? That is incredible.
The vet wants me to buy a probiotic and cranberry supplement from him, but I am going to hold off for now until I research the website.
 
Aww... poor Butters. Would kidney problems explain her behavior yesterday? Hang in there, you've got this.
I don't know but I don't think so and neither did the vet. I think I was just lucky that her behaviour spurred me to take her to the vet.
I don't know much but I do know Butters is the luckiest cat to have you look after her. You have been taking care of her the best you know how :bighug:and I know you'll continue to do so. Hang in there. Plus there are so many experienced folks here to help whatever comes your and Butters way :bighug:
Thanks! :bighug: I knew literally nothing about FD before Butters' dx. Looks like she and I have something else to learn together, now.
So sorry that your vet doesn't know the first thing about FD...at least you were well armed in that department!
He was stressing me out telling me she is too low and that her weaker kidneys could be because of the low sugar and i should lower her to 1/2 unit BID immediately, and how unsafe it is. He wants her back in two weeks to check her BG again and do a fructosamine. I said nothing. The silence got very awkward. Then he said he'd leave it to me to call and schedule an appointment. I think he knows I won't be rushing to do that.
 
Poor Butters. Maybe just a dream. A few times Ollie would start howling in her sleep, when you woke her it all stopped. And at times sleep with eyes open. Tux one time had his feet going like he was running. They do dream.
Wow. I wonder what Ollie was dreaming about?? And eyes open sleeping? I've heard of this but I have never seen it. It would freak me out. Butters will sleep in my lap for hours and she twitches and bats the air with her paw sometimes. LOL. Maybe it was a dream.
 
I believe that you're the best person to be directing Butters' care at the moment...I'm sorry things felt awkward at the vet...I hope that you're able to ascertain information from the website provided by Wendy and that you'll be able to find a different vet in the meantime that you might be able to work with should you wish to proceed further.

It's unfortunate that your vet gives advice about something on which he is so poorly informed :( I've heard it before...and will probably hear it again...the more you learn here, the sillier they sound with their dire prognosis...and recommendations! As Wendy mentioned above, in fact, by having her BG's low, she's not stressing her kidneys! Higher glucose spills into the kidneys and they have to work all the harder to process that sugar...thank goodness you've gotten her regulated so well...

Take heart...you'll figure this out!:bighug::bighug:
 
Wow. I wonder what Ollie was dreaming about?? And eyes open sleeping? I've heard of this but I have never seen it. It would freak me out. Butters will sleep in my lap for hours and she twitches and bats the air with her paw sometimes. LOL. Maybe it was a dream.

The eyes opened did freak me out. Thought she was gone. What did vet mean by stop bugging her with testing? Did she mean herself or Butters?
 
Aw, sorry to hear Butters’ lab values weren’t better news. It sounds like at least you caught it early!
Your SS speaks volumes to how devoted you are to Butters’ health. If anyone can tackle this head on and get her kidneys “regulated,” so to speak, it’s you. Butters is lucky to have such a dedicated mama. Hope she gets feeling better soon! :bighug::bighug:
 
Both my cats have kidney disease. Ravan's had it over 2 yrs now. The website Wendy gave you has a lot of very good info.
I give them low Phosphorus ,high quality canned food & they still eat their Raw Food Diet that they were raised on.There are times Ravan will refuse to eat ,then I'll give him anything he wants. It's more important that they keep eating something. They don't need a "prescription diet" Just good quality food.

I keep the Phosphorus below 200 . They also get something called Calcitriol. You can read about it on that Web site.

I was trying to compare Butters Labs with my cats but because you're in Canada the way the results are stated is different than here.

The IDEXX SDMA is a more reliable indicator of Kidney function (that's what it says on Ravan's Lab report) It's also important to have your Kitty's Phosphorus checked whenever he has blood work done. Read as much as you can about kidney disease. The more you learn the better.
Sad to say but most vets want you to bring your cat to them to do the testing they tell you to use an expensive Meter & strips for felines ( not necessary) . They really don't seem to know much about Diabetes or Kidney disease.

When Ravan was first diagnosed my Vet asked if I was going to Euthanize him!! He said when most people see how much work is involved that's what they do. I told him ,no way. I'll teach myself how to take care of him. Then I found this web site. :) Everyone here helped me so much!

This is also on that web site ( cranberries are not appropriate for CKD cats)
Hang in there. It will be OK. Read & ask a lot of questions!

Best of Luck to you & Butters You're doing a great job with his BG I'm sure you'll do just as well with any other problems he may have. ( Maybe look for a new Vet? :rolleyes: )

images
 
The eyes opened did freak me out. Thought she was gone. What did vet mean by stop bugging her with testing? Did she mean herself or Butters?
That's terrifying!
He meant that i should stop bugging Butters with all the testing. Can you believe it? I was so proud of how far she'd come and he's annoyed that I'm doing so much testing. What's it to him? It's not like it's his ears getting poked all the time. She is just fine with it, as long as there is a piece of dehydrated chicken involved. I hope that doesn't cause kidney issues. :facepalm: I've got to read the site asap.
 
Last edited:
Both my cats have kidney disease. Ravan's had it over 2 yrs now. The website Wendy gave you has a lot of very good info.
I give them low Phosphorus ,high quality canned food & they still eat their Raw Food Diet that they were raised on.There are times Ravan will refuse to eat ,then I'll give him anything he wants. It's more important that they keep eating something. They don't need a "prescription diet" Just good quality food.

I keep the Phosphorus below 200 . They also get something called Calcitriol. You can read about it on that Web site.

I was trying to compare Butters Labs with my cats but because you're in Canada the way the results are stated is different than here.

The IDEXX SDMA is a more reliable indicator of Kidney function (that's what it says on Ravan's Lab report) It's also important to have your Kitty's Phosphorus checked whenever he has blood work done. Read as much as you can about kidney disease. The more you learn the better.
Sad to say but most vets want you to bring your cat to them to do the testing they tell you to use an expensive Meter & strips for felines ( not necessary) . They really don't seem to know much about Diabetes or Kidney disease.

When Ravan was first diagnosed my Vet asked if I was going to Euthanize him!! He said when most people see how much work is involved that's what they do. I told him ,no way. I'll teach myself how to take care of him. Then I found this web site. :) Everyone here helped me so much!

This is also on that web site ( cranberries are not appropriate for CKD cats)
Hang in there. It will be OK. Read & ask a lot of questions!

Best of Luck to you & Butters You're doing a great job with his BG I'm sure you'll do just as well with any other problems he may have. ( Maybe look for a new Vet? :rolleyes: )
Thank you so much! :bighug::bighug:I'm really grateful that you took the time to write. As I was typing in the lab results I realized that a lot of the values wouldn't translate to the USA system. :facepalm: I will try to convert them at some point if I can figure it out.

Butters' current food is Feline Natural, which is high quality canned food. She was eating a raw diet before her FD dx, but began refusing the raw food right after I started her on insulin. Probably a coincidence, but with so much else going on I didn't wanna push her so I switched her to that canned food. I'm going to see if I can find the P values for it. If you don't mind, would you share the name of the food you feed your cats?

I will be reading as much as I can for sure, starting with the Tanya's website. I hate to ask more questions until I've done a bunch of reading. But once I read, I will for sure. And I'm not going to do anything the vet says until I learn more myself. No cranberries!

That is so awful that your vet wanted to euthanize Ravan.:( I remember Sue saying her vet asked the same about Luci. I definitely have to find a new vet. It is so expensive to keep switching, especially when I have no idea if the next one will be any better. I'd already made a switch but the one we switched to wanted nothing to do with Butters after seeing her BG numbers bouncing.

Have wonderful evening:bighug:
 
No on the cranberry - see why here and here, probiotics are fine. Butters is stage 2 of CKD, presuming her numbers don't come down if you get her tested again when she's hydrated. Many cats live fine at stage 2 for years. Low protein is not recommended at this stage, lots of food suggestions here. What you want now is good quality protein.Tanya's also has a wet food list. I think at one time I go the analysis of Feline Natural from the manufacturers, but I can't seem to find it in the vault. Their website just lists "typical analysis" of phosphorus, whatever that means. FWIW, of the one food I randomly selected, the phosphorus number was good.
However, I would love to know how you got your cat's SDMA from 14 to 5? That is incredible.
Absolutely nothing. This is enforcement of my vet's recommendation to always get a second test a couple weeks later on a value, to make sure it's really out.

One thing you may want to do at some point is get a blood pressure taken.
 
He meant that i should stop bugging Butters with all the testing. Can you believe it? I was so proud of how far she'd come and he's annoyed that I'm doing so much testing. What's it to him? It's not like it's his ears getting poked all the time. She is just fine with it, as long as there is a piece of dehydrated chicken involved. I hope that doesn't cause kidney issues. :facepalm: I've got to read the site asap.

It didn't cause kidney issue. The kidneys are working hard because of the diabetes. A lot of cats have it as they age. Just like us, kidneys start to tire, wear out.
 
Aww Lyla, I’m sorry the lab results didn’t have better news :bighug: Butters is so lucky to have such a wonderful cat mama! I know you will master the new knowledge to help her as best you can :bighug: You will tackle this, just as you tackled FD! Look how much you know now, that you didn’t know then :)

They must teach in vet schools that testing is stressful to the extreme in cats, when really, it is tolerated so well after the new routine is established :cool: Maybe we should write to the vet schools to stop teaching that :eek: Our vet(s) said the same. Maybe they are scared of stressing out the humans or losing money on the fructosamine test? It’s a business right?

We had a kidney kitty Marlin, and hydration was very important. We also gave renal pro supplement (phosphorus binder) and other things...we caught it late in Marlin, unfortunately :( Seems like this may be early for Butters to have good response to treatment :bighug:

Here for you...:bighug:
 
He was stressing me out telling me she is too low and that her weaker kidneys could be because of the low sugar and i should lower her to 1/2 unit BID immediately, and how unsafe it is. He wants her back in two weeks to check her BG again and do a fructosamine. I said nothing. The silence got very awkward. Then he said he'd leave it to me to call and schedule an appointment. I think he knows I won't be rushing to do that.

My vet tried to tell me that Oberon's anemia might be because I've been testing his blood glucose so much. Um... I really doubt it.
 
@Butters & Lyla
I'm sorry to hear about Butters and yes Wendy is right , kitties in stage 2 of kidney
disease can live fine at stage 2 for years
If I remember correctly Perry was 6 yes old when he was diagnosed with kidney disease.
He passed at age 12
Tanya's site is excellent. I joined it and the members there are very helpful.
Excellent information.
Perry would never touch wet food so he always ate the K/D dry
Then he needed a binder when he started to get worse, I bought the Weruva
wet and put the binder in that. He ate that
On Tanya's web site lists a lot of the Weruva foods.
I don't think Butters is no where near needing a binder yet
You should join the site after you read up on things
I asked my vet the same question did food cause this, she said no they just
get kidney disease
It sucks , why do they have to get all these diseases
Her numbers looks awesome
Some of these vets know squat.
Glad you held your ground with the vet
Try and stay calm ok

All of Perry's labs are on Tyler's SS except his last one from Tues when I had to let
him go.

Here are the stages for kidney US
Creatinine below 1.6. Kidney function lost is 0-65%

Creatinine between 1.6 and 2.8 is Stage 2. Kidney function lost 66-75%

Creatinine between 2.9 and 5.0. Stage 3. Kidney function lost 76-90 %

Creatinine over 5.0. Stage 4. Kidney function lost over 90%

♥♥♥♥
 
I'm so glad that so many folks responded to the issue with Butters' kidney diagnosis! And that vet of yours...:eek:

I'm sorry I'm always vet bashing...but there's another confirmation of my impression of most (not all) but most vets...as Diane said, 'don't know squat'....

I'll be looking for your new post today so we can continue this conversation! :bighug:
 
She was eating a raw diet before her FD dx, but began refusing the raw food right after I started her on insulin

Ravan did the same thing,so I don't think it's a coincidence. Maybe the insulin, somehow changes the taste of the food?

When I first told my vet about testing Ravan several times a day he said I was being cruel to poke his ears so much. He also said going below 150 BG was dangerous! I ignored his comments & after a few months I brought Ravans' Spread Sheet in to show him. He was amazed to see how many times a day I tested & also how much his BG had come down. I explained how Ravan had got used to the routine of poking his ears & came when I called him to be tested.

He did change his opinion of what I was doing. A few weeks later he asked me if he could give a client of his my phone # so I could advise them. I told him I'd be happy to help,& I'd tell them to go to Feline Diabetes .com ! He asked me for a copy of Ravan's spreadsheet so he could show it to his associates.
We got along really good after that. I'm so sad that he retired last March. Over the years I checked out just about every Vet in my area. Right now I have no idea where I'd go if I needed a Vet. My Vet was only 5 mins from my house! Both my cats get very stressed riding in the car . I believe that stress is the worst thing for them & us also!

If your vet continues to disagree with what you're doing maybe you could interview other Vets & show them Butter's SS. Ask them how "they" deal with Feline Diabetes and Kidney disease. You need someone "open Minded" that will at least listen to your ideas.

I read that veterinarians only get a few hours of training in diabetes. They advise using the older insulin,Prescription cat food & that expensive AlphaTrak meter & strips for cats. Very few are up to date with newer methods. That's probably one of the reasons most people Euthanize their kitties. Too expensive bringing them to the vet & for the insulin ,etc !

I don't know what cat food is available in Canada but here are a few I use here. Organix Pate Chicken 4% carbs 182 Phos. Organix Turkey Pate 5% carbs 193 Phos.
Weruva (Truluxe) On the Cat Wok 4% 163Phos Steak Frites 6% 118Phos Meow Me a River 1% 201Phos Soulistic Moist & Tender Turkey Dinner in gravy 6% 178 Phos

One day at a time! It will all be OK :):bighug:

upload_2020-10-9_13-5-32.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-9_13-5-32.jpeg
    upload_2020-10-9_13-5-32.jpeg
    12 KB · Views: 317
I read that veterinarians only get a few hours of training in diabetes. They advise using the older insulin,Prescription cat food & that expensive AlphaTrak meter & strips for cats. Very few are up to date with newer methods. That's probably one of the reasons most people Euthanize their kitties. Too expensive bringing them to the vet & for the insulin ,etc !

So true! I keep saying it too...it's hard to believe...but so very true. Just about everything vets tell people about FD is wrong...and that business about euthanasia...I hate to even think about how many people must just walk away and say 'ok' to that one...it's just 'easier'...breaks my heart to think about it :(
 
Back
Top