10/11 punkin amps 280 CSU presentation on acromegaly

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Very Active Member
yesterday

We had to stall this morning for a bit - punkin's first test came up at a surprising 107! perhaps it was just a bad strip. all is normal at our place this morning.

We took punkin to CSU for stereotactic radiation treatment for his acromegaly on Sept 20-21-22. The 4th year vet student who worked with him ended up doing a presentation to the CSU veterinary students about punkin's case. Here's his powerpoint presentation. I just have to say that the REALLY big picture is NOT punkin! he's big, but not THAT big!

We had to break it into 3 parts to be able to upload the attachment.
 

Attachments

Love it!!! Glad Punkin is doing so well! Will you have any follow up scans to see how the tumor changes?
 
Okay, if that one pic of the woman holding the large orange cat is punkin, either that is a VERY small woman, or punkin REALLY knows how to work angles in his other pics! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Great presentation, and I love how the vet worked in all the cool punkin pics.... and even Anya got to make an uncredited appearance!!

Hope the vet is able to turn this into a paper and/or conference presentation so others can learn as well!
 
Hi guys .. Thank you so much for sharing the presentation! I've been looking forward to it .. and I'm also glad punkin is doing so well! Have a great day guys!
 
Thanks for sharing this. Great info to keep on hand. I hope he got an A.

Definitely not Punkin, but it scares me every time i see someone proudly show pix of a cat that big!!!
 
Punkin is a star!! I loved it!

It's great that the vet student is spreading the word about acro-cats, and FD too! I loved how he worked in the pictures as well, especially the kidnapping picture :lol:
 
Great presentation! Thank you for posting it. I love the first slide with a pumpkin background. :lol: :lol: Love all the pictures too. It's interesting to see how they did the treatment. You are a trooper, Punkin.
Liz
 
glad you all liked his presentation - i think acromegaly is a somewhat unknown disorder and the more people (especially vets) know about little-known medical disorders the better.

and NO, that giant cat is not punkin. he'd thank you for noticing how svelte he is in his other photos! :lol: well, some of them. i don't know who the white/black kitty is - i wondered if it was another one that had SRT. maybe someone will recognize it.

yes, all acromegalic cats are diabetic - what we would consider type 2 diabetics, meaning the diabetes is caused by something else. Basically the growth hormone that the tumor secretes distorts the cells that receive insulin making the insulin unable to work within the cell. So we keep raising the dose of insulin so enough will "leak" by to keep their BG in levels low enough to not cause organ damage.

i doubt we'll do follow up scans, primarily because of cost, but also because the way i understand it, the physical tumor could remain the same size. the radiation prevents the cells from replicating correctly, so in that way the tumor will die, but the current cells will still go through their normal lifespan. what is most important is that the secretions of the growth factor stop. that's what causes the growth of their little bodies and what makes them diabetic. that should begin soon - i'm not sure why we had an initial drop in dose, because they said to expect it to start in about a month and continue for several months after that.

we probably will do the blood test that measure the growth factor, however - i think they suggested getting that done at 3 months.

I asked Dr Lunn, who specializes in acromegaly at CSU to explain it to me in writing so i could post here, and this is her response:

Yes - cats with acromegaly are truly diabetic. They have high blood glucose, glucose in the urine, and need insulin therapy. Therefore they are diabetic. But there are different types of diabetes. In some patients the pancreas fails to make any insulin at all. These patients need insulin for the rest of their lives. This is called type 1 diabetes in humans. It is seen in younger people and children, and it may be an autoimmune disease. Most dogs and some cats also need life-long insulin therapy but it is not clear if it is really autoimmune in dogs or cats.

In type 2 diabetes (again, a term from human medicine) the pancreas is able to make insulin, but the insulin does not work - for a variety of reasons. This is called insulin resistance. In human medicine they will try diet, exercise, oral medications to control blood glucose, but sometimes insulin is needed. It is likely that many diabetic cats are this way - their pancreas can make insulin, but it is not enough, or it is not effective, due to insulin resistance. Insulin resistance in cats can be caused by a variety of illnesses, medications, Cushing's disease, thyroid disease, obesity, or acromegaly. If the insulin resistance is bad enough, these cats will be diabetic. They are true diabetics - but the underlying cause of the disease may not be pancreatic damage.

As you correctly state, when BG gets too high, the glucose is toxic to the pancreas. So if a cat with "type 2" diabetes is not managed aggressively to keep the BG normal, the pancreas has less chance to recover.

A cat with acromegaly is not likely to become non-diabetic (go into remission) until the acromegaly is treated. Some of our cats have gone into remission as long as 19 months after SRT, so it is possible for their pancreases to remain functional.

The Rand/Roomp protocol is specifically for cats without known concurrent disease. These cats are more likely to go into remission, and the chances are greater the better the BG is controlled. This is NOT a good protocol for an acromegaly cat. (my note - she's referring to a question from me re:trying to keep a diabetic cat in the range of 50-120)

Acromegaly cats are highly unlikely to go into remission until their disease is treated. But they can have periods of variable insulin sensitivity, perhaps due to variable GH secretion from the tumor. It is dangerous to allow these cats to go under 100 - I would not recommend that. And there is no point. The reason to regulate a cat that tightly is to try for remission - that is not going to happen in an acromegaly cat. (my note: some acro cats do seem to have times when the tumor switches off production and they can go into remission for a time. we've seen several have that happen here. the tumor that grows in the pituitary gland is classified as "pulsative" meaning it is not constant with its secretions.)

Many cats with diabetes (TRUE diabetes) likely can still produce insulin from the pancreas. Most of them have a concurrent disease that is treated or just goes away (or is never diagnosed) and they can then go into remission. Cats with acromegaly are an extreme example of this - they have a severe concurrent disease that causes insulin resistance. They are absolutely definitely diabetic.


Katharine F. Lunn BVMS MS PhD MRCVS DACVIM
Assistant Professor
Department of Clinical Sciences
Colorado State University
300 West Drake
Fort Collins CO 80523
970 221 4535
kathy.lunn@colostate.edu
kathylunn@me.com
 
Very cool...informative, with a nice touch of humor. I saw the "kidnapping" picture when you posted it the first time...it is a classic!
 
Loved the presentation....Punkin's a STAR!!! And I love the way Dr. Lund explains things. She uses understandable language without talking down to those reading...great explanation!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top