10/13 Mikey, AMPS 152, +5 117, +10.5 142

Happy with 152 after skipping last night! I felt like I should reduce the dose a bit at this point. I gave a skinny 1U. I thought maybe I had given 0.75, but on looking closer at the syringe it was definitely closer to a skinny 1. I put 1S on the spreadsheet. Is this the right way to note this?
 
Thank you, Bhooma.

I'm a bit confused by the numbers. Since I'm using the AlphaTrak, I think I remember that 68 would be equal to 50 on a human meter. I've seen 80-120 as a cat's normal bg range. Before starting insulin, my vet told me to give syrup if under 80, and to test hourly if under 120. This seems like it may be overly cautious, and below 68 is when to be concerned. Is 120 on AT around the same as 80 on human meter, since I've seen the 50-80 range as normal here?

I tried to get a +3, but got Er1, which I've been lucky not to have to deal with until now. I'll try to get one or two tests between 4-6, as Elise advised.
 
I'm a bit confused by the numbers. Since I'm using the AlphaTrak, I think I remember that 68 would be equal to 50 on a human meter. I've seen 80-120 as a cat's normal bg range. Before starting insulin, my vet told me to give syrup if under 80, and to test hourly if under 120. This seems like it may be overly cautious, and below 68 is when to be concerned. Is 120 on AT around the same as 80 on human meter, since I've seen the 50-80 range as normal here?
My mistake! I missed that you are using the AT. With AT, the reduction point is 68 and not 50 like I said. The normal range would be 68-120. The range with a human meter is 50-100. We'd like nadirs to be in 50-80 range (with a human meter) so that's where you would have seen that range.

I would not use high carb/syrup below 80 but below 68. In fact, later in the cycle (especially after the nadir) you might not even need higher carbs to bring numbers up - since the insulin action would be reducing.
 
I agree that if you are able to monitor wait for a drop under 68. Last night I suggested possibly going down if you find yourself needing to skip doses. With your ability to monitor with your work hours changing being more aggressive has the best chance of remission. With TR we shoot if over 68 provided you can monitor.
 
Back
Top