10/13 Olive AMPS 301, 326+2, 234+3, 130+5, 108+6, 84+7, 94+8, 84+9,114+10

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-7-147-8-161-9-pmps-292.236774/#post-2656021

What a day. Juggling two cats with different problems at the same time. I've been on the phone so much with various vet's and such trying to find Cindy some alternative help while monitoring Olive's levels as I'm on the phone. It's been crazy today. I'm currently trying to keep Olive right at the 85 point. Since I gave her all FF verses the mix of raw with it and it didn't jack up her numbers like I hoped, I gave her a tsp of the Friskies gravy with two more tsp of straight FF and a half drop of honey 30 minutes ago. It raised her from 84 to 85. lol. So I'm wondering if it'll just take a bit more time for the gravy to kick in so I'm holding right here for the next 15 minutes. Last time I gave her gravy it seemed to spike her an hour later...so I'm trying to see what happens here. I'm learning not to jump the gun. In the beginning with Olive she'd plummet so fast I had to act fast. But now it's more gradual so I know I have more time to figure things out.

I found a holistic vet nearly 1 1/2 hours from here for Cindy. I don't want to make that kind of drive with her unless I have to and things sound positive, so they've scheduled a Zoom visit on the 20th. I had no idea what that was until she said it was like facetime. So this works well for Cindy's FIRST visit to even see if they think they can help her. Beats the drive with a screaming cat. I've already transferred over her files. They already told me they have one cat in particular that they've been successful with using the holistic approach so although it's going to cost us an arm and a leg and put Cindy under terrible stress, I'm hopeful it'll all be worth it if they can put her on a road to healing that doesn't involve the Methimazole.
 
Olive has sure turned the corner! :cool::D 85 is a good healing place to hang out. If she wants to surf there, let her.

I have a friend whose cat was allergic to methimazole too - ended up doing the I-131 treatment instead.
 
Olive has sure turned the corner! :cool::D 85 is a good healing place to hang out. If she wants to surf there, let her.
Sure trying...
I have a friend whose cat was allergic to methimazole too - ended up doing the I-131 treatment instead.
Did it work? I know they said there's risk of a cat having to have hormones for the rest of it's life because that treatment overkilled the thyroid is a risk...as well as the need for a second I-131 treatment as sometimes the first treatment only works for a limited period of time. Did your friend say either way if the treatment was worth it?
 
Look how good Olive is looking!
She's really turned the corner lately and we're so proud. It's more progress than we've had since this started.
here is an online thyroid group you may wish to join, they are very knowledgeable
Oh, thank you! I definitely will check that out. It was with the very first pill that we saw Cindy take a dive. I'm just grateful she's at least eating on her own now. It's hard to force feed a feral cat. even though she's not wild at other times, she HATES to be touched unless it's a pet on HER TERMS. The second you try and restrain her she's turned WILD. We're praying for better days to come. Looks like Olive is going to give Mom a bit less stress if she stays on this lower and less bouncy path. She came into the room earlier and pawed at me to pet her, then scent marked everything she could touch at least 20 times a piece. ;) I'm hoping she stays low for a while longer before rising. If she doesn't rise too much by injection time just over 2 hours from now, then what would you suggest? I've shot 129 as my lowest and that was a little bit of a wild ride to keep bumping her up so she'd stay somewhat in the same range for a nice flat curve.
 
SLGS says no shooting below 90. You have to decide how comfy you feel shooting between that and 129. She has bounced the last 2 nights after seeing some nice days. You can ask Olive, but she might not tell you what she's got planned for tonight. :cat: Whether she's flat or rising into PMPS might give a clue.
 
Those are some beautiful numbers today Olive!

Sorry to hear things are so frantic for you Robyn! I remember hearing about Zoom for the first time a while back...and then someone asked ME to set up a Zoom meeting myself...OMG! I had to phone a friend to find out how to do the darn thing...now that's what we all use at work for meetings. My boss and I still use Facetime though...

You'll love Zoom, once you figure it all out. I'd suggest doing a practice meeting with a friend or family member before your Zoom meeting with your vet. It'll really help you get things set up and figured out (like how to turn on the audio)...it's not automatic :)

Have a good evening! Best of luck on the PMPS/shot time...it looks like Olive is going up now...very typical at the end of the cycle...I'll bet she keeps climbing this evening...but that's just me guessing :)
 
Back
Top