It really is unnerving... I think I'll make it my policy to do that too. It's so hard to get a second test though, especially when your first poke wasn't a gusher!Hmmmmmmmmm…..48 @+7.5 with retest showing 68….unless Herman is showing symptoms (he can show strong aggression when BG lower than 50 and I can’t get near for a second test) I always retest anything under 60 to be sure…. but it’s kind of alarming how many times the BG reading is inaccurate, isn’t it?
….. I guess the previous dose depot is still in play but so far so good.![]()
Yes yep been there. Equally unnerving, I got the EXACT same number 3 tests in a row over a span of 6 hours yesterday. Had to test myself to check.Or in my case, I'd get a second test wildly different from the first, and have to do a tie breaker.![]()
Yes! Fingers toes and paws crossed the numbers stay good after depot drained.Looking good Amy![]()
So it’s a bit soon to know how the 1.5 units is working.The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, and you had a skip in there. The 2.0 unit depot is gone. If he earned a reduction, it's been long enough at this dose to say it's the 1.75 units talking.
Yes, technically, it is still the 1.75U at work. However, sometimes a cat will flip a switch and decide it wants to be on a much lower dose of insulin that in it is on currently. That can be a hairy ride down the dosing ladder for the caregiver that involves unearned reductions and skips. You are seeing some of that with Herman. It can be a tricky balance between keeping him safe and not reducing too soon and losing momentum. He calls the shots and we follow.So it’s a bit soon to know how the 1.5 units is working.
Wow, thanks for that. Super interesting to see! Gives me hope as well as a better understanding. HeYes, technically, it is still the 1.75U at work. However, sometimes a cat will flip a switch and decide it wants to be on a much lower dose of insulin that in it is on currently. That can be a hairy ride down the dosing ladder for the caregiver that involves unearned reductions and skips. You are seeing some of that with Herman. It can be a tricky balance between keeping him safe and not reducing too soon and losing momentum. He calls the shots and we follow.
Gus is one example of that kind of race down in dosing. He went from 3.75U to OTJ in a month.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...Xb5g25eLPu6fiamXTMFFvX-Gg/edit#gid=1005543362