10/15 Crushy amps 353 new dose wonkiness for 4 cycles??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/15 Crushy amps 353

Hi guys .. crushy, what the heck are you doing way up there? Come on back down now silly! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/15 Crushy amps 353

I did see that post.....If its new dose wonkiness its going on and on and on though..

how long is it supposed to last??
 
Re: 10/15 Crushy amps 353

I don't know, but you can send a PM to someone experienced, and get some guidance.
Poor Crushy, poor you. High sucks.
 
ok Ill post to the board too....

Im pretty discouraged and confused as to what is going on with these high numbers
 
Michele

Tilly's webpage says this about NDW:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

This could be NDW but I think it is likely a bounce from the blue numbers. Yes...kitties can bounce even from blue numbers. Crushy bounced like this on 10/5 after blue numbers so it is not atypical for him to do so. And he started that bounce before you increased. Bounces can take up to six cycles (sometimes more in a few kitties) to clear and it looks like he has the potential to do that.
 
on 10/5 Im pretty sure my bottle of Lantus was going bad and that was why he was having those high #s then. I got a new bottle on 10/6 and he immediately earned a reduction that day. Unless that was just a coincidence.

And before this his bounces were getting shorter! Usually lasting less than a day. (ex: the bounces in the PM on 10/9 and 10/12) I was kind of excited about that!

It is true that around 10/5 with all those pinks he was on 1.75 units, the same amount he is having now though.

Maybe 1.75 units is just a bad amount for him??
 
My cat also has also had periods of higher numbers. I kept thinking I was giving fur shots and then bought a new bottle of Pro Zinc as well. I would start to panic and get very discouraged. Maybe it takes some time for some cats to acclimate to the insulin and get more consistent active cycles. He is a new diabetic. You have seen some nice greens and blues. I pray for consistent safe and healthy numbers for Crushy.
 
There are so many variables involved which can affect BG. Studies have shown in humans that there can be up to a variance of 50% in absorption rates from shot to shot. Unless your vial was left out or had floaties in it, it's doubtful there was an issue with the insulin. Lantus is not as fragile as thought and many members have used their vials for six months if kitty was on a low dose. You also changed the injection site the night before he came down; that definitely can affect numbers. The other thing that could be attributable to the longer bounce was that you decreased the dose on 10/4 p.m. cycle. The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles (although it's likely in most cats that it is 3-4 cycles). So if you take out three cycles after the reduction, that could have been when his depot was drained from the decrease and numbers went up; less insulin to counteract the bounce means higher bounce and/or longer duration bounce.

Sometimes they develop a pattern where they clear bounces in a certain amount of time but then they change. Just like nadirs change. There are some cats (like Tess who can be on the same dose for long periods of time and yet the bounce period is unpredictable.
 
Thanks Catherine

He is a new diabetic and it does take time. But its hard not to get discouraged sometimes. Just when I think I see a pattern forming it changes.

One pattern I have noticed is right when I start to get really discouraged and ready to throw up my hands, something changes. He just gave me a yellow # for the first time in a while. Not a fabulous number (278) but at least its not PINK!

I think Im developing a prejudice against the colors pink and red in general because of this....
 
One day, you will add yellow to that list :-D :-D :-D

One thing FD teaches you is patience. Crushy might have diabetic for a bit before he was dx and it will not likely be a quick fix to see his numbers coming down into green all the time. But that's ok!! Because when you find his fitting dose, he will.

Lantus and Levemir are "zen" insulins. It takes patience and, BTW, did I say it takes patience, Grasshopper? :lol: :lol: I understand completely how you are feeling. When Gracie was dx, I think for the first year, the numbers were our own personal roller coaster. We were elated when she was in blue and green, and we both wanted to stay in bed with the covers over our head when she was yellow or pink. In the meantime, she was having a blast playing, romping around, wrasslin' with her brother.

Hang in there!! We're here to support you and help you figure this out.
 
thanks Marje

my moods are totally related to his BG lately! omg....such an emotional roller coaster

Its a trick to be patient yet not complacent and missing something. My mind is constantly in a whirl trying to figure out what is going on. If this is a "zen insulin" I probably really need to pick up meditation or something so I can chill out a bit ;-)

and thanks for your explanation. Im still not sure if that vial was really bad but what you say makes sense. It was sort of cloudy but no floaties. It was hard to tell if the cloudiness was from condensation though. Its so humid here right now that as soon as you wipe the cold bottle it clouds up again immediately.
 
If the insulin was cloudy, I'd definitely change it but I do know sometimes the condensation can be a bit difficult to discern from cloudiness.

I decided I could either take up meditation and deep breathing or start smoking. So I went with the meditation ;-)
 
I know how you feel Michelle. You are investing time and all your effort to help Crushy so seeing

yellows, blues, and greens encourages you on the way! It's hard not to overfocus on the day to day numbers when we are

getting readings every day at all hours of the night, but again it probably the pattern and direction that we are

going in that is more important. I have to say that it was hard focusing at my job sometimes when my cat

was getting high numbers.
 
ha ha! re the meditation vs smoking Marje... :lol:

My head is not on my work either Catherine...Im just glad Im working from home right now and can compulsively test Crushy during the day ;-)
 
it can be discouraging and i suspect everyone here understands when you say your emotions follow crushy's blood sugar numbers. even when you know what you're doing it can get difficult. all you can do is hang in there and figure that you don't have control over all of it, so just control what you can. you're doing a great job and crushy will eventually get regulated. some lucky cats have it happen quickly, but most do take a while.

we're all here with you if you need encouragement! it's good to have people in the boat with you!
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
we're all here with you if you need encouragement! it's good to have people in the boat with you!

VERY good to have people in the boat with me!
thanks Julie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top