? 10/15 Indie PMPS 105.. +2 110, +3 67, +3.5 149, +4 149, +4.5 149, +5 107,

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jessica & furbaby Indie, Oct 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    2 questions... 1. Did a curve today and looked good. I know according to SLGS she earned a reduction but am so confused as I thought (my vet mentioned) at this point the goal is nadirs at 72. And we want her to stay steady throughout day. So did she earn a reduction or not?

    2. Tonight she is only 105 preshot which is low for her. Am wondering if I should shoot a lower dose??

    Help!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2016
  2. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Hey there, she earned a reduction tonight because of the 73 she hit at +4 because of SLGL is a reduction at 90. So please reduce her to .75 unit tonight. Congrats on the reduction!
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    With an AlphaTrak, our take action point (giving high carb food) is 68. 72 isn't much different. That 72 is almost at the reduction point if you were following TR, and since you are following SLGS, Indie definitely earned that reduction today. Congrats!

    If you are nervous about tonight or cannot monitor, you can shoot an even lower dose tonight, maybe 0.5 units, then start the 0.75 units dose tomorrow morning.
     
  4. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    So its now 45 mins past her usual shot time and she is now on her perch and I can't seem to get her down. Been trying last 15 mins. Is it really bad if I now just skip tonights shot?? Shoot! No pun intended. Ha
     
  5. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
  6. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    I will bump this for experience.... I don't want you to lose momentum....
    @Wendy&Neko
     
  7. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
  8. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    You all rock! I honestly couldn't have gotten this far without this board!!! ❤
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If you skip she will likely be high tomorrow. If you shot, you need to be able to shoot 12 hours from the shot time tomorrow. You can make up the late shot 30 minutes earlier a day or 15 minutes earlier a cycle to get back on your schedule.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It's not the worst thing if you skip her shot, but she will likely be higher tomorrow due to today's lower number and the skip.
     
  11. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If you shoot tonight, take the reduction to .75 unit.
     
  12. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Okay I went ahead and shot late since I have some flexibility tomorrow. Gave her 0.75 units. Yay!
     
  13. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    If it were my kittie, I would shoot tonight as long as you can monitor so she doesn't lose the momentum because she is looking really good.
     
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    YAY! We just crossed posted!
     
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good for you. :)
     
  16. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Get a +2 so you know how the cycle is going.
     
  17. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Please post the +2 when you get it.
     
  18. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Thats what I thought. I don't wanna mess this up. Heck I would take off work Mon to keep this momentum going!! I keep praying we get OTJ by end of month, just in time for my birthday. Haha AND I am a youth leader and we have our fall retreat 11/4-11/6 and I can't be home to give her 4 of her shots!! And have been praying about this exact weekend since the start of this "sugar dance". I would have someone else fill in and give her her shots as I have two people but she is now so aggressive since being on insulin she bites anyone who comes near her. My poor baby!! :(
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  19. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Since I encouraged you to shot, I will stay with you to make sure Indie is safe. :)
     
  20. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Okay, will do. Thank you!!
     
  21. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Awe thank you!! ❤
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  22. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I will check in around 11:30 EST :cat:
     
  23. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    She actually is up. It was 110 at +2. I ended up giving her some treats to get her down from her perch to give her her shot 2 hours ago so perhaps that made her go up??
     
  24. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That is basically about the same number so this could be an active cycle the number being the same. Can you get +3 ? I will check back.
     
  25. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Sure thing. Will do! Thnx again.
     
  26. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Oh wow, +3 is 67. Am feeding her some HC food now.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  27. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Okay, good catch and recheck in 20 minutes and post.
     
  28. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    How much HC did you feed? You don't want Indie too full. If she continues to drop, you want room to feed her again.
     
  29. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Even though you reduced the dose to .75, the larger dose of 1 unit is still influencing this cycle.
     
  30. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Ooh good point! Luckily not too much. Maybe 1 oz. And typically she can always eat. One plus.
     
  31. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    +3.5 149. She is pretty sensitive to HC food. She responds well.
     
  32. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Being sensitive is a good thing at times like this. Recheck in 30 minutes. You will want to get two readings 30 minutes apart with out any influence by food to know that she is not going to go back down again. I will check back in 30 minutes to see how she is doing. You are doing great!
     
  33. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    +4 149.....stayed the same again. Will test again in 30 mins.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  34. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Sorry, got waylaid by kids. You are doing a great job.
     
  35. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good, yes, one more test without food would be good and it looks like Indie nadirs somewhere around +5 or +6.
     
  36. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I need to give Bubba his +8 snack at 2AM EST so I am going to stay up for that and I will check back with you in.
     
  37. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    +4.5 149....stayed the same again.
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  38. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Looks like she's surfing which is good. If you have it in you, it might be good to give her one more 30 minutes cycle to see her through to +5 since that is about the time she nadirs. Maybe a little bit of LC food to keep her surfing.
     
  39. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Okay, sounds good.

    Thank you so much for seeing me through this! I so appreciate it!! :bighug:
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  40. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    My pleasure! Just paying it forward as so many helped me when we first started this dance. By the way, Indie's BD is the same day as mine. :cat:
     
  41. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    nice job jessica!

    Indie's ss is looking pretty good. For what it's worth, my first reaction when looking at her ss - if you are able, I would sure try to test a little more than you are right now. While SLGS calls for a weekly curve, Indie's doing really well and if her pancreas is sputtering back to life and putting out some more insulin, you sure want to know it. If you hadn't been doing a curve today, those low numbers tonight would've been missed.

    Just wouldn't want anything to happen to her.
     
  42. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Thanks for taking the time to review the SS and comment :) During the week I am at work and gone 12 hours. But I could certainly get a test or two in at night. And during the day to protect her I have my sister feed her HC food at +3 and +4. But maybe I should have her do it at +2 and +4 now?? Should I start doing more +2 tests at night?
     
  43. Jessica & furbaby Indie

    Jessica & furbaby Indie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    +5 107. Fed her LC food and now am off to bed. Good night all. Thank you all so much!! Indie says thank you too :)
     
  44. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Whenever you can catch a test would be a good idea, before bed or on those days you are home. I'm glad she's eating during the day.

    I do like the idea of her eating at +2 and +4!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page