10/16 Tango AMPS 54, +3 = 43

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-97-3-63-dose-advice.294836/#post-3213500

Morning all,

I have been skipping doses due to Tango's low numbers. I have not been able to monitor him well the last couple of days, but based on this mornings readings I think he was dropping too low after meals. Yesterday afternoon he would not eat his meal at 2pm or 6pm, threw up both. He is only on FF pate. I got a small meal into him at 8:30pm and again this morning, with a tablespoon of DM dry (which I know isn't ideal).

I'm curious for advice on how to proceed, now that he is dropping, without injections. I have just fed him a full can of FF pate with table spoon of DM dry once more and will continue to recheck and update his spreadsheet throughout the day. I do have some higher carb gravies, but don't want to unnecessarily throw his system off unless we drop lower than the 43.

Thanks!
 
How many calories do you think he is getting in him? Compared to what should he be eating per day? I'm concerned about the vomiting. What flavour of FF are you feeding? Any chance there is a food allergy.

We've seen kitties here test in the 40's when they are not on insulin. It's in normal range, but lower than we want a cat on insulin to go as it leaves no margin for error. I've tested one of my own non diabetics in the 40's.
 
He eats 2.5-3 cans of FF per day. I alternate the flavours and he has shown no problems so I really think he just got too low yesterday and ended up sick.

At any point is switching to a med carb advisable? Or just aim for increased calories and meals? I got a timed feeder to give him food throughout the day to help when I am not around. Even after his second meal this morning, he is only up to 50.

I definitely won't be giving him any insulin with these few days of lows.
 
Given how lovely Tango's spreadsheet looks now, and how he's done the last few days, I think we can officially call it an OTJ trial. :D. Here are the instructions - ignore the first one - today is day 4:

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.

  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!

Good luck with the trial!!!
 
Thanks so much, my fingers are crossed for continued good progress!

One concern I have is that the vet mentioned he has a tooth that should come out, she wanted to stabilize him first, but I am guessing that has the potential to throw him back into needing some support?
 
Back
Top