? 10/18 Chloe at 404 at +3

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Roberta and Chloe, Oct 18, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Roberta did you retest?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  3. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Not yet, but this seems to happen a lot. She has upside-down curves. I'll retest in a couple minutes.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Oh I meant to make sure it wasnt a defective strip. But if this is her pattern...then you know best. ;)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  5. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Chloe might be bouncing off yesterday's 80.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Roberta and Chloe likes this.
  6. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    I get defective strips sometimes that just won't show the flashing line after I scoop the blood and stays blank. I don't think they show false numbers.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  7. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    10/11/2020 76 0.25 192 262 0.25 UP
    10/12/2020 279 0.25 275 368 0.25 224 UP/DOWN
    10/13/2020 253 0.25 325 251 0.25 203 UP/DOWN
    10/14/2020 95 0.25 138 124 0.25 UP/DOWN
    10/15/2020 256 0.25 no ketones 353 0.25 281 UP/DOWN
    10/16/2020 253 0.25 268 184 209 0.25 UP/DOWN/UP
    10/17/2020 80 0.25 239 286 220 0.25 303 UP/DOWN/UP
    10/18/2020 391 0.25 404 296 UP/DOWN

    It looks like she goes up at +3 and +4. I thought that would be long enough for the insulin to take effect and bring down the numbers..
     
  8. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That 400 is perplexing I guess its a bounce. :stop:
     
  9. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    @Roberta and Chloe I’m so sorry — I didn’t get the tag on this one.

    I too suspect that she’s bouncing (“whiplashing”) off of that 80. It looks like she’s doing that regularly. Remember, it can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to clear (just as you feel the effects of whiplash for a day or two afterward).

    I suggest that you tell yourself to “sit on your hands“ and fight the urge to react to the higher number. It’s hard, I know. But the higher numbers are completely normal in bounce cycles. And sometimes we just have to write off a cycle and not dwell on it. This is a marathon, not a sprint, right?

    She’ll probably break the bounce soon ... you might even see the numbers dropping by tonight (one can hope).

    The additional testing you’re doing is great — it helps reveal patterns over time.

    Yes, I still think it would be worth experimenting with slightly less than the0.25u dose. On the SLGS method you’ve chosen, one reduces dose by 0.25u when the cat’s BG goes under 90. That’s happened several times recently but no reduction was taken. You don’t have room to reduce by the full 0.25u since you’re already at a dose of 0.25u (don’t want to go to zero, of course), but you can reduce to 0.1u or 0.2u.

    If she drops much after tonight’s PM shot (+3 for example) then I’d try to get at least one mid cycle test (maybe +6?) to see just how low she’s going. It might be that there are some surprising low numbers happening in the non-bounce cycles that you’re not catching.

    Just my two cents. :)
     
  10. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    That would be after midnight. I'll try to stay up that late. Even if I find a good movie on TV, I start nodding off around 10 pm.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Yep. She's extremely difficult to regulate. That's why my vet had her on such a unique dosing program.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page