10/18 Kona: AMPS#1 105, stalled, AMPS#2 163, +2 140, +4 125, +6 150, +8 146, PMPS 174, +2 144

Have you fed her? How long has it been since food? 30 mins? Can you get another test?

Should I be testing her, feeding, then shooting?
Yes, it is test, feed and then shoot. When you encounter a lower than usual preshot, you stall without feeding to see if numbers rise enough for it to be safe to shoot.
 
Have you fed her? How long has it been since food? 30 mins? Can you get another test?


Yes, it is test, feed and then shoot. When you encounter a lower than usual preshot, you stall without feeding to see if numbers rise enough for it to be safe to shoot.

Thanks, Bhooma! Noted: I'll always test, fed, shoot going forward.

So, I just tested her at 8:17am at 163.

So to recap:

Fed 7:00am-7:30am (normal time)
Test 7:30am (normal time) at 105
Stalled ....
Test at 8:17am at 163

Should I stall more or give normal dose? I'm worried about getting too late and messing up the cycle.
 
Since you can monitor today, I would give the full dose. I presume the 163 was after food?

Yes, she ate full meal at 7:30.

Okay, I’ll give normal dose now while tests all day.


Summary so far:
Ate full meal 7:00am-7:30am (normal time)
Tested 7:30am (normal time) at 105
Stalled ....
Tested 8:17am at 163
Shot 1.25 at 8:20am
 
Last edited:
In the SS, you want to put "105 @+12, 163 @+13" in the AMPS cell to indicate that you shot an hour late.

With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90, if you can monitor. I presume (from reading some of your previous condos) that Kona has been on glargine since May but you've only recently started home testing? Is that correct?

At some point you want to slowly start switching her from the RC Glycobalance to a low carb canned food. That might make a big difference to her numbers. We have had cats go off insulin after a change to a low carb diet.
 
In the SS, you want to put "105 @+12, 163 @+13" in the AMPS cell to indicate that you shot an hour late.

With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90, if you can monitor. I presume (from reading some of your previous condos) that Kona has been on glargine since May but you've only recently started home testing? Is that correct?

At some point you want to slowly start switching her from the RC Glycobalance to a low carb canned food. That might make a big difference to her numbers. We have had cats go off insulin after a change to a low carb diet.

Thanks, I was going to read tonight on how to properly note the stalls in the spreadsheet, I knew I was doing something wrong.

Yes, vet insisted I don't need to test at home after asking a few times. Been on Glargine since May and just now home monitoring.

My schedule is M-F I can only do the AMPS/PMPS tests and most of the time I can get in the PMPS +2.
Weekends I am able to test every 2 or 4 hours.

This lies my problem with the food. I would love to switch off the RC Glycobalance, but I'm worried about the transistion and not having more than the weekend to ensure it is a smooth transition by doing tests all day. So I need to come up with a game plan. Maybe a staggered approach where I slowly cut out the Glycobalance over several weeks, then full switch to Weruva, but even then, I worry about the weekdays M-F where I can’t see the full cycle.

Still researching, but yah, that's the goal.
 
Last edited:
@Bandit's Mom I believe the switch to Weruva has been made.

Not quite yet, still on Glycobalance wet, please see my last post. I am only using the Wervua gravy/liquid to get her to eat the entire Glycobalance wet food meal. The goal is to switch to Wervua and off the Glycobalance, but my M-F testing contraints are my concern and I want to come up with a methodical game plan.

I might be able to work from home on a given Monday and Tuesday. That way I can do a better transition to the Wervua with testing over Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Still planning...
 
Not quite yet, still on Glycobalance wet, please see my last post. I am only using the Wervua gravy/liquid to get her to eat the entire Glycobalance wet food meal. The goal is to switch to Wervua and off the Glycobalance, but my M-F testing contraints are my concern and I want to come up with a methodical game plan.

I might be able to work from home on a given Monday and Tuesday. That way I can do a better transition to the Wervua with testing over Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Still planning...

Sounds good. I’m glad the food is mostly not dry as the Glyco dry is very high carb. Not sure about wet. That’s for the clarification.
 
Sounds good. I’m glad the food is mostly not dry as the Glyco dry is very high carb. Not sure about wet. That’s for the clarification.

I can’t get over my frustration I’ve been feeding a high carb food this whole time. The wet is like 15%, it’s not low. The marketing on the food as well with claims it regulates BG over the cycle too!?!? *sigh*
 
Back
Top