? 10/22 Karamelle AMPS 52 +2 70 +4 62 +7 48 +8 52 +9 62 +10 88 PMPS 88 +2 175 +3 230

So this is the 2nd BG under 50 on this dose. Do I decrease with the next one or is it 3 under 50 and decrease with the 4th one. Sorry, just trying to understand this. @Angela & Cleo Or should I just hold it unless it goes under 40?
 
So this is the 2nd BG under 50 on this dose. Do I decrease with the next one or is it 3 under 50 and decrease with the 4th one. Sorry, just trying to understand this. @Angela & Cleo Or should I just hold it unless it goes under 40?
The general rule is 3x between 40-50 on 3 separate days - see Info - Reminder: *earning* reductions
However, Karamelle is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic since her dx is less than a year. How is your ability to monitor if you decide to hold this dose? Has her appetite improved enough that you feel confident you can steer her BGs with food? I tend to err on the side of caution based on my ability to monitor my Cleo.
Can you give her a little LC and test again in 30 minutes?
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
The rule for cats who don't hold reductions well, regardless if they are newly diagnosed or not, is to reduce after the 3rd time between 40 and 49 on different days, or if they go under 40.

There is also some consideration to how easily they come up when low. When under 50, you should be testing every half hour to make sure they come up above 50 again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Thanks @Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko I totally forgot to test in 30 mins. I know I need to be on the ball better. But also I know that she raises really well with LC food. I got a +8 just now and shes at 52. So do I hold it, or wait and see how it does up to PMPS time. Should I do a +9, +10 and +11? I fed her at +7 and usually I would feed her again at +10 to give her at least 3 hours in between meals and then at PMPS. Shes eating really well today and Im here to monitor.
 
You could give a tsp or two of LC and see how she does with that. I would start with a +9 and decide when next to test based on that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
She was screaming at me for some food just now so I caved and gave her a couple teaspoons of FF. Will test again at +10. Shes not supposed to have any more food now since its almost 2 hours from PMPS. Or does that not apply in this case?
 
I went ahead and kept the dose. She tested at 88 at PMPS, last time she had eaten was at +9.25. She wouldnt eat at PMPS so I syringe fed her some Weruva. I dont know why she seems to tank around this time in the evening. I did try and give her an extra Ondansetron during the day one day but it didnt seem to make any difference so I didnt keep it up. She was so perky and acted like she was feeling great all day. But now she just seems tired, no energy again. I assume its got something to do with her Pancreatitis. I need to play around with the meds more I guess and find out what will keep her feeling good into the night.
Anyway, tomorrows another day. I'll do a couple more tests tonight, hopefully she will stay above 50.
 
I hope she stays up too! That's a lot of time in green that she's not used to - yet.

Shes not supposed to have any more food now since its almost 2 hours from PMPS. Or does that not apply in this case?
We tell new people not to feed the 2 hours before PMPS. At least until they have to data to do so safely. What you want to avoid is feeding in that time frame, and not knowing how much to food raised her numbers and whether she would have otherwise been safe to shoot. If you get a few +1 tests, you'll get an idea how much her food/dinner will raise the numbers, and you can take that number into consideration to determine if her PS is safe to shoot.
 
I hope she stays up too! That's a lot of time in green that she's not used to - yet.


We tell new people not to feed the 2 hours before PMPS. At least until they have to data to do so safely. What you want to avoid is feeding in that time frame, and not knowing how much to food raised her numbers and whether she would have otherwise been safe to shoot. If you get a few +1 tests, you'll get an idea how much her food/dinner will raise the numbers, and you can take that number into consideration to determine if her PS is safe to shoot.
Thanks. I generally like to test when she hasnt eaten in a couple of hours anyway. She does seem to go up fast with even LC food. Looks like she may be bouncing now. I will do a +3 and see where its headed. She was a lot more lively at +2 (2 hours after her Ondansetron), but wouldnt eat, probably because I syringed quite a bit at PMPS. I might try the extra Ondansetron in the middle of the day again tomorrow to see if maybe stopping the pain med and adding the extra Ondansetron might do the trick. Her last dose of pain med was yesterday morning.
 
Back
Top