10/24 Comet PMPS 109. So many questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny and Comet (GA)

Member Since 2020
So we had a wild ride today. I shot .1 this AM and, well, just look at the spreadsheet.

He went down what felt like really hard and fast and took a long time to start climbing again. I was very scared because of the hypos* but hung in there.

Obviously tonight I am not shooting.

What the heck do I do tomorrow? For SLGS, I see this:

>>Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.<<
So do I have to reduce by .25 unit as he got down to 70? (I actually saw a 65 at one point, but with a question mark.) How on earth do I do that when he is only getting .1? Am I misunderstanding this?

* Why I am scared of hypos -- from this thread:
>>So we have had a completely frightening time of it. We had a checkup with the new place set for 2:30 yesterday. I ran out at 1:00 to do a couple of errands. Comet looked great when I left, was walking around and doing stuff. Came back and my other cat ran up to the door to meet me and was talking the whole time, and I saw puke on the floor. Found Comet huddled behind the bed. Scooped him up and ran the three blocks to the clinic. They tested him and he was hypoglycemic. They gave him water and dextrose and got him back up so that he was having consecutive good blood glucose readings at 6:00. They felt it would be wise to keep him overnight. His BG was 400 this morning; they took him off the water and dextrose and started with the insulin again. He was at 200 at 5:00 this evening and came home with me.<<

>>tiffmaxee said:
Explain the scares please.
The first one was very early on after they had done a curve and told me that's all I needed to know. I came home after running an errand and he was hiding someplace he never goes. I took one look at him, scooped him up, and ran. The vet who took him in at the practice that day confirmed he had gone too low. They kept him overnight to be safe.

The second one is on the spreadsheet. He didn't seem off, but the vet had told me to call if he went below 70, she did not want him to go below that until he was more established in treatment. I called the emergency nurse and kept checking and watched the numbers drop into the low 50s. She told me to feed him honey and a high carb food and I did but his numbers weren't going up, so she told me to get him to the emergency hospital. I did, and they tested him at 84. At the time, I wondered if it was the honey/gravy food kicking in finally. But now when I look at it, I just don't know. Maybe he was still fine. But it looked like he was going to keep going down.<<
 
Last edited:
Did you verify any of those greens with a regular BG meter? Just want to make sure what you are seeing is right. His numbers weren't near what we could call hypo territory. Was he showing any hypo symptoms?

No, you aren't misunderstanding things. :) There is still a lot of yellow on Comet's spreadsheet, so I think he still needs "some" insulin. What you can try is what we call a drop. You push the plunger really hard, the insert it into the pen/vial. Then release the pressure on the plunger and the vacuum action will suck up a drop. Alternatively, try counting the number of drops in your 0.1 unit dose by rotating the plunger until you get a drop out. And try counting how many drops of the same size. I've seen some people actually have quite a few drops in their 0.1 unit dose, so they just drew 0.1 and then squeezed out one or two drops.
 
Did you verify any of those greens with a regular BG meter? Just want to make sure what you are seeing is right. His numbers weren't near what we could call hypo territory. Was he showing any hypo symptoms?
No, I just got nervous because he's had a hypo before. I knew he still had some wiggle room, I just couldn't trust that he'd even out before he got down there, so I couldn't enjoy it, I was just scared. Sad, I know.

And no, I just have the FreeStyle Libre right now. I would like to move to a regular meter and actually have one, but am having a hard time convincing him that I should be handling his ears -- he really hates it and won't let me do much yet.

I am not sure what you mean about rotating the plunger? I will grab a needle and try it later. I was really hoping it would be something more easily measurable, like zero! Zero I could do.

He does still need something, I'm sure. What I am worried about is that he will bounce tonight from not having anything, be high tomorrow morning, and then the drop(s) won't do enough.
 
Did you verify any of those greens with a regular BG meter? Just want to make sure what you are seeing is right. His numbers weren't near what we could call hypo territory. Was he showing any hypo symptoms?

No, you aren't misunderstanding things. :) There is still a lot of yellow on Comet's spreadsheet, so I think he still needs "some" insulin. What you can try is what we call a drop. You push the plunger really hard, the insert it into the pen/vial. Then release the pressure on the plunger and the vacuum action will suck up a drop. Alternatively, try counting the number of drops in your 0.1 unit dose by rotating the plunger until you get a drop out. And try counting how many drops of the same size. I've seen some people actually have quite a few drops in their 0.1 unit dose, so they just drew 0.1 and then squeezed out one or two drops.
I drew a drop and squeezed it out and looked at it, then the same for .1. Even through a magnifier, so small. And so intimidating, that such a tiny amount can make such a big difference.

Drew another drop and shot. Fingers crossed.
 
Keep us posted. And btw, would love to see a pic of Comet in your avatar :D
So, the shot went well, but the drop does not seem to have done very much? Should I stick with the same drop tonight?

And shoot, I keep meaning to do that, I will figure it out now! Edited to say: photo added. He was helping me with his spreadsheet a few days ago. (By "helping" I mean "holding on to my arm and insisting on being petted while simultaneously blocking the keyboard with his head".)
 
Last edited:
So, the shot went well, but the drop does not seem to have done very much? Should I stick with the same drop tonight?

And shoot, I keep meaning to do that, I will figure it out now! Edited to say: photo added. He was helping me with his spreadsheet a few days ago. (By "helping" I mean "holding on to my arm and insisting on being petted while simultaneously blocking the keyboard with his head".)
What an adorable Comet he is!!! :bighug:
 
If you want my honest opinion, I think you should stick to .1. He was getting some really nice greens on that dose and as you said, not much accomplished with the drop.
 
Comet is still bouncing today. He seems to like a day of yellow after a run at the greens. :rolleyes: Plus you skipped the shot last night. I'd give the drop dose a couple more cycles and see what happens when he stops bouncing cause it's too early to say what a drop is doing. I think I'd prefer seeing you give a dose you can give twice a day, than a higher one that has you skipping every night. Unless of course you can switch from SLGS to TR since you have the Libre on Comet.
 
Comet is still bouncing today. He seems to like a day of yellow after a run at the greens. :rolleyes: Plus you skipped the shot last night. I'd give the drop dose a couple more cycles and see what happens when he stops bouncing cause it's too early to say what a drop is doing. I think I'd prefer seeing you give a dose you can give twice a day, than a higher one that has you skipping every night. Unless of course you can switch from SLGS to TR since you have the Libre on Comet.
I would love for him to stop bouncing. His PMPS tonight was 205, so he clears the 200 mark (barely); okay to give a drop?

And I would love for him to have regular steady/even doses. His vet told me that she thought he could have 1 shot a day. I knew that couldn't right after everything I'd seen in stickies and on the forum, and said I thought it needed to be two with Lantus. And she was like, "Oh, it depends on the cat." I know that every cat is different, but that did not seem right.
 
He has the libre on. No testing needed. Yes, I’m jealous :p
It does make things easier at least for now. He is still not letting me handle his ears. I envy your ability to do that and test!

So nothing big to report yet. If he is going to start going down, it looks like it is going to start later than it usually does. He ate a big meal and then had some more bites at around +2 and is happily snoozing. I'm going to see where he is at +4.
 
Not much movement from the drop dose last night. He ate very well last night, and I thought the food bump was pushing out the effects, but they seem to have been minimal. I did another drop this morning, we'll see where it goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top