10/29 Kona AMPS 313, +4 297, +9 300, PMPS 270, +2 180, +3 138, +4.5 122

Did a ketone test today… looks neg to me.

upload_2023-10-29_10-8-7.jpeg

upload_2023-10-29_10-8-43.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-29_10-8-7.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-29_10-8-7.jpeg
    37.2 KB · Views: 109
  • upload_2023-10-29_10-8-43.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-29_10-8-43.jpeg
    44 KB · Views: 116
Uggg.. numbers still staying high. Not seeing thet normal drops you would see at +2 & +3. Would love to see flat numbers just like this but in the low blues or high greens. Starting to think 1U is probably her target dose. Time will tell... I'll keep watching.

Today’s Summary
6:50am - AMPS BG 313
6:50am - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:05am - Shot 0.75U
10:50am (+4) -
BG 297
4:00pm (+9) - BG 300
 
Last edited:
Today’s Summary
6:50am - AMPS BG 313
6:50am - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:05am - Shot 0.75U
10:50am (+4) -
BG 297
4:00pm (+9) - BG 300
6:44pm - PMPS 270
6:45pm - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:00pm - Shot 0.75U
 
Today’s Summary
6:50am - AMPS BG 313
6:50am - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:05am - Shot 0.75U
10:50am (+4) -
BG 297
4:00pm (+9) - BG 300
6:44pm - PMPS 270
6:45pm - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:00pm - Shot 0.75U
9:03pm -
BG 180
9:07pm - Freeze-dried chicken breast snack
 
A freeze-dried snack might not be enough to prevent her from dropping. You want to use food to ensure she doesn't dive too much. Bounces can be triggered by dives as well as lower numbers than she's used to. In active cycles, you want to feed a tsp of food after each test if she is dropping.
 
@Bandit's Mom she dropped hard.

I gave her no carb food. Should I have switched to low/med carbs at this point or more so if she goes below 100?

Today’s Summary
6:50am - AMPS BG 313
6:50am - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:05am - Shot 0.75U
10:50am (+4) -
BG 297
4:00pm (+9) - BG 300
6:44pm - PMPS 270
6:45pm - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:00pm - Shot 0.75U
9:03pm -
BG 180
9:07pm - Freeze-dried chicken breast snack
9:58pm -
BG 138
10:00pm - tsp of TruLuxe Pretty in Pink (no carbs)
 
I gave her no carb food. Should I have switched to low/med carbs at this point or more so if she goes below 100?
Did she drop from 180 to 138 even after some food?

I saw that you have been feeding her only twice a day when she was in higher numbers and I remember your saying that that is how she has been fed all her life, but when on insulin, you want to feed small meals in the first part of the cycle. Not only to prevent dives and consequent bounces, but also to prevent reductions and keep her at a good dose. Without food, numbers will keep falling. As she starts seeing lower numbers, food is an important tool in getting her tightly regulated.
 
I saw that you have been feeding her only twice a day when she was in higher numbers and I remember your saying that that is how she has been fed all her life, but when on insulin, you want to feed small meals in the first part of the cycle. Not only to prevent dives and consequent bounces, but also to prevent reductions and keep her at a good dose. Without food, numbers will keep falling. As she starts seeing lower numbers, food is an important tool in getting her tightly regulated.

Yes, I’m struggling with the food and snacks while I’m away because her sister is a freak and hard to regulate.

I’m going to see if I can set up that new automatic feeder somewhere in the house where her sister doesn’t know where it’s at.
 
Today’s Summary
6:50am - AMPS BG 313
6:50am - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:05am - Shot 0.75U
10:50am (+4) -
BG 297
4:00pm (+9) - BG 300
6:44pm - PMPS 270
6:45pm - Fed 1 can of Quick n’ Quirky
7:00pm - Shot 0.75U
9:03pm -
BG 180
9:07pm - Freeze-dried chicken breast snack
9:58pm -
BG 138
10:00pm - tsp of TruLuxe Pretty in Pink (no carbs)
11:30pm -
BG 122
11:33pm - tsp of TruLuxe Pretty in Pink (no carbs)
 
Another thing you might want to consider. A zero carb food isn't always the best choice. Feeding Lowest/Zero Carb vs Lower Carb Foods Some cats do better with a little higher carbs. A lot of people feed food in the 3-6% carb range.

Thanks @Wendy&Neko - I'll check the post out tomorrow.

Bummer.. here I thought lowest carbs were better. And I just bought several cases thinking it would be the one I'll stick with long term. I will mix with another flavor and try to bring the carbs up juuuust slightly. :facepalm:
 
Back
Top