Bama Kitty Mom (GA)
Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 10/2 Bama Kitty PMPS 338 +2 307 +4 313 +6 305 +8 289 +10 346
Curve was completed overnight. Starting 5.25 this AM.
Curve was completed overnight. Starting 5.25 this AM.
Actually I didn’t warm the fluids yesterday but kept my hands on him, petting and talking to him while my mom stood behind us to watch the levels in the bag and tell me when he reached his limit. I tried the pinching maneuver you talked about but he continued to leak fluids for two or three hours afterward and is bed was wet again. This time I am certain it was due to fluid leak as he urinated soon after I discovered it and he peed a good amount. Also, his bed had no urine odor and he had no Gabapentin or anything to sedate him.How’s the fluid warming going? Did you think it made things any easier? I hope so.
And good luck on your new dose.
That is a good rule of thumb to remember. He's probably going to bounce anyway. When you feed the MC wet, do you just give the gravy or some of the whole thing? Reason I asked is I have some Delectable Squeeze Ups that are 14% [per online calculator] and they are just basically gravy, about .5 oz in a tube that I could either put over his regular LC wet or LC dry or just give some of the Squeeze Up. Thanks @PerfumedCatMom!I would have gone with MC wet. Whenever you see a 100 point drop in the span of two hours it’s better to go for slightly higher carb so that he doesn’t go too low then bounce. Sorry no one got to you before you fed the dry but you know what to do now.![]()
A small teaspoon is usually what I do. The gravy is fine because that is where the carbs are.That is a good rule of thumb to remember. He's probably going to bounce anyway. When you feed the MC wet, do you just give the gravy or some of the whole thing? Reason I asked is I have some Delectable Squeeze Ups that are 14% [per online calculator] and they are just basically gravy, about .5 oz in a tube that I could either put over his regular LC wet or LC dry or just give some of the Squeeze Up. Thanks @PerfumedCatMom!
No, I've never tried it. Where do you get it?@Summer and Susie -- Have you ever tried Delectables Squeeze Up? Marketed as a snack, it comes in .5 oz tubes and is basically gravy that squeezes out in ribbons. Bama loves it. I have used it when he doesn't want to eat. I'll squeeze a ribbon over his food and he'll start eating. Looks to be about 14% carb according to one of the online calculators.
Yeah, the 18s are big, but they flow faster so, for Bama, that sounds like what you need. The largest I use is a 19, but usually a 20 gauge - but that’s just for fluid-compliant kitties.Vet gave me two sizes to try, BD brand I think. Size 20 and 18. I like the 18s because the fluids seem to flow much faster and are what I currently have. I did nick a blood vessel the first or second time as I saw the pink fluids had drained onto a pad under his chair. Vet told me he didn’t have a lot of space to hold fluids. It’s hard to grab a nice thick pad of skin on him. Maybe I should cut back to 75 mls. His camel’s hump seems to flatten fairly soon after even as his fur around the fluid hole remains wet for hours.
20g is a nice small needle for the cat but will take a little longer to flow — especially if they are not the Terumo ultra thin walled needles that have more internal space for the fluids to flow (available from Thriving Pets). It’s important to hang the bag up as high as you reasonably can get it because that makes the fluids flow faster — you would be surprised how much faster.You have had an interesting time with the fluids. I have the 20G needles and it seemed like it took a long time and the flow was not very fast
Walmart, PetSmart, maybe some grocery stores, too. Rather expensive for what it is. Think I gave $10.99 for a box of ten tubes. Gone are the days when poor, little old ladies could live off of cat food on the cheap.No, I've never tried it. Where do you get it?


Yes, I was surprised at how fast the fluid flowed with #18s and hangin' it high.20g is a nice small needle for the cat but will take a little longer to flow — especially if they are not the Terumo ultra thin walled needles that have more internal space for the fluids to flow (available from Thriving Pets). It’s important to hang the bag up as high as you reasonably can get it because that makes the fluids flow faster — you would be surprised how much faster.
Yes, those days are gone. There is nothing cheap about cat food, cat treats or vets anymore.Walmart, PetSmart, maybe some grocery stores, too. Rather expensive for what it is. Think I gave $10.99 for a box of ten tubes. Gone are the days when poor, little old ladies could live off of cat food on the cheap.![]()
Do you think Bama felt the thicker needle? I'd love to speed up the process too but the 20g needles are intimidating enough. Going to a bigger needle?Yes, I was surprised at how fast the fluid flowed with #18s and hangin' it high.![]()
Yes, unfortunately he whined a bit until I found a good spot. He also has some scar tissue from 7 years of insulin injections and it is hard to find a place to jab where it will slide in easily. I get a fresh needle if I poke him more than 2 or 3 times before getting it in. I hate having to do it but he does seem to benefit from the additional fluid. Maybe I'll get the Terumo ultra thin walled needles from Thrivingpets.com that Suzanne and others have recommended. I have always hated needles, injections, the sight of blood, etc. I never would have imagined I would be doing all these things but I just tell myself that he needs me to do them and there is no one else available to do them but me.Do you think Bama felt the thicker needle? I'd love to speed up the process too but the 20g needles are intimidating enough. Going to a bigger needle?![]()
Seven years of insulin injections!! Wow!Yes, unfortunately he whined a bit until I found a good spot. He also has some scar tissue from 7 years of insulin injections and it is hard to find a place to jab where it will slide in easily. I get a fresh needle if I poke him more than 2 or 3 times before getting it in. I hate having to do it but he does seem to benefit from the additional fluid. Maybe I'll get the Terumo ultra thin walled needles from Thrivingpets.com that Suzanne and others have recommended. I have always hated needles, injections, the sight of blood, etc. I never would have imagined I would be doing all these things but I just tell myself that he needs me to do them and there is no one else available to do them but me.
Thanks, Wendy, that makes sense. I'll leave him at 5.25 for a few days. Does it make sense then to increase another .25 to get him to 5.5 before 7 days have passed? Say, after 3-4 days? @Wendy&NekoNice stretch of blues today.
Sorry no one mentioned it yesterday, but typically increases go to 0.5 units at a time when you get to 5 units total dose. Think of it as a percent increase on the total dose. 0.25 units is just 5% of the dose. But if you are on smaller doses, 0.25 units is a much larger change.