10/3 Esse AMPS 117 - Vacation dose for sitter? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/3 Esse AMPS 117 - Vacation dose for sitter?

Lauren & Esse

Member since 2025
Previous thread! (Eeeeek so long since my last post!)

We haven't seen much green in the last few days, and normally I'd be thinking hard about an increase. However, we're going to be gone next weekend (10/9 PM thru 10/13 AM) and it'll be Esse's first time with a sitter since starting insulin. Would it be okay for me to keep him on 1.5 for now and let the numbers maybe be a little higher through next Monday? Is 1.5u a good vacation dose if he keeps having these cycles with only an hour or two of green, or should it be even less when he's with the sitter? The sitter will be stopping in for 30 min to feed and shoot, not staying all the time. We're still working on training Esse to use the autofeeder on his own, and if it seems like he's not going to eat unsupervised, we may ask other friends to stop in +2 or +3 to give him a big snack.

Also, if you're looking at his spreadsheet to make an assessment, please note that the Libre numbers from 9/29 were probably not super reliable--while he did get down to 63 on the handheld meter overnight, we realized the next morning that his Libre was loose and about to fail. So I don't think he was actually green for that much of the night.

It's very possible, of course, that he'll throw out all my plans and starting having green cycles on 1.5 again, in which case I would need to readjust. But wanted to ask early to give folks time to answer.

1759495364948.png

"Wait--you're leaving me?"
 
Previous thread! (Eeeeek so long since my last post!)

We haven't seen much green in the last few days, and normally I'd be thinking hard about an increase. However, we're going to be gone next weekend (10/9 PM thru 10/13 AM) and it'll be Esse's first time with a sitter since starting insulin. Would it be okay for me to keep him on 1.5 for now and let the numbers maybe be a little higher through next Monday? Is 1.5u a good vacation dose if he keeps having these cycles with only an hour or two of green, or should it be even less when he's with the sitter? The sitter will be stopping in for 30 min to feed and shoot, not staying all the time. We're still working on training Esse to use the autofeeder on his own, and if it seems like he's not going to eat unsupervised, we may ask other friends to stop in +2 or +3 to give him a big snack.

Also, if you're looking at his spreadsheet to make an assessment, please note that the Libre numbers from 9/29 were probably not super reliable--while he did get down to 63 on the handheld meter overnight, we realized the next morning that his Libre was loose and about to fail. So I don't think he was actually green for that much of the night.

It's very possible, of course, that he'll throw out all my plans and starting having green cycles on 1.5 again, in which case I would need to readjust. But wanted to ask early to give folks time to answer.

View attachment 74324
"Wait--you're leaving me?"
Oh my, he looks like a person sitting there, Lauren🥰
What a personality!

I hope you get some answers about your vacation dose! Good luck 💖
 
We typically decide on a vacation dose 2-3 days before the vacation because a lot can change in a matter of days with sugarcats and their insulin requirements! Thus far, 1.5u looks like a good vacation dose - an on-the-line dose is easier to draw and I'm assuming that the Libre reads a little lower than a meter in normal numbers (we typically don't want a vacation dose that sees a cat drop to the 50s or 60s). However, he did drop to 63 on it.

If he surprises you with lower numbers at 1.5u in the next few days, your vacation dose might have to be lower. If you think he won't eat when you're not there, that might be another reason for a lower vacation dose.

If possible, you want to check in on the 6th for the vacation dose. We start the vacation dose 2-3 days before the vacation so that you get an idea of what his numbers look like on it before you leave.

P.S. He doesn't seem to care for the paparazzi bothering him during bath time! ;-) Or was it TV time?
 
Back
Top