? 10/4 Ragnar AMPS 517, +3 352, +8 218, PMPS 461 - change dose and food?

Jane and Ragnar

Member Since 2020
Hi all - my question is regarding increasing insulin and decreasing dry food at the same time.

Here's the summary -

After starting with a week on 1u q 12h (and lots of high numbers), then a too-fast increase from 1 to 2u (based on vet advice) for a couple days, back down to 1u for a week (including a weekend away with insulin but no testing), and now a week at 1.5u, I'm considering my next steps.

Ragnar's numbers are coming down a tad here and there, but still running high overall so I had planned to increase him by 0.25 units starting in the morning (to 1.75u).

I have been highly encouraging him to eat as much LC canned food as he wants - feeding frequent small meals, adding some bonito flakes, etc, and I know that his dry food consumption has gone down. I haven't removed it entirely because the vet wanted to be sure that Ragnar would be willing to eat enough calories in canned food first, since he'd already lost so much weight. And the science-y side of me was also leery of dealing with two variables at the same time right off the bat - insulin and changes to carb intake - while also trying to figure this whole diabetes thing out.

At this point, I'm feeling pretty good that Ragnar will continue to eat enough calories in wet food if I keep making it easy and appealing for him. He doesn't vomit, is bright and alert and behaving pretty much normal except for his PU/PD.

Would you recommend that I just do the insulin increase and continue with the current "mostly wet but some dry food" plan for another week? Or do the insulin increase plus try to stop the dry altogether at the same time?
 
Hi Jane,

I don't give dosing advice but I worry that your question will be missed. I recommend you edit your title and select the "?" prefix, and add something in your title like "Dosing advice needed". The people who give advice on dosing are busy and don't often open everyone's condo. They just look at the condo titles to see who has questions.

My response will bump your condo up to the top of the heap, so hopefully this will help get some eyes on your question as well.
 
My concern about raising the dose is that you have basically no data after PMPS. Many cats go lower at night. It is really important to try to get at least one test at night. If you can get one just before you go to bed every night, it'll help us answer that key questions "how low is this dose taking Ragnar". Without the answer to that question, we can't figure out what to do with the dose.

More important, you got a 92 on 9/29. That would tell me you do NOT want to increase the dose. That is too close to the SLGS reduction point of 90. I would dial back the dose to 1.5 units tonight and try to get more data. It's possible he needs a reduction, not an increase. Those high numbers could be from bouncing.
 
Okay, I'll stay at 1.5 and get some tests done a few hours after the PM shot for a few days. I have the feeling that his lower numbers are more likely to be a few hours before his AM shot though, so it looks like I'll be setting an alarm to accomplish that. Thanks!
 
It just has to be a PM test sometime in the cycle. If you for any reason get up up a few hours before the AM shot, you can test then too. A nice large glass of water before bed will often help with that. ;)
 
Back
Top