11/02 Cole - PMPS 241 / +1 281 / +2 248

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Colio, Nov 2, 2020.

  1. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
  2. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    With your first low PMPS (and not a fur shot;)) I'd get a +1 and a +2 so you can get a good picture of where he is headed. Do you have MC and HC foods now? And lots of test strips? And honey/karo? I'm not trying to scare you or anything. I just want to make sure you are prepared as it seems like you are getting closer to a dose where he may show you lower numbers...like the healing greens. :D

    Also, consider collecting some overnight tests. It's hard to know what Cole is doing on the PM cycles without them. He was likely sliding down overnight.
     
  3. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I should have done +1, but wow - the +2 has just scared the daylights out of me. Gave him MC food with honey, and gravy...

    Should i test every 30 minutes?
     
  4. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yes - test in 30 from that 49. You're on Alphatrak right? that's low so we will want to keep checking to get him >68
     
  5. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @Butters & Lyla I'll be around for about an hour to help - are you able to check-in later? If not, I'll look for others :bighug:
     
  6. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Yes on the Alpha Trak - will test again at the 30 min mark

    thx
     
  7. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @Colio is Cole acting okay? Showing any physical symptoms? Jax never has but wanted to check.
     
  8. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    No symptoms - he's acting just fine. Wants more food so there's some of the usual meowing going on but nothing unusual.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  9. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    That's good :) they know they need food when they are low. You're doing great :cat:
     
  10. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    If you aren't already, try to write down what you are feeding. So for that 49 - did you feed 1t MC, 1t honey? Or something like that (my measurements are just an example :))? It will help us see how he's reacting to carbs and will help you next time he dips low.
     
  11. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I might have given him too much food - probably 2 tbs of MC and 1 tsp honey, and then another 1 tbs of MC

    Will start to keep track..

    Time for a test
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good catch. Last night you got two lower than usual tests so another at +4 was needed. He likely continued to drop. When the +2 is the same another test in an hour or two is suggested. If lower than the amps it’s definitely likely to be an active cycle and needs to be monitored. Many cats go lower at night so once in a while it’s a good idea to set an alarm and test between +5-7. The high preshots you have been experiencing are likely bounces from dropping lower than he’s used to.

    A reduction has been earned starting tonight. The dose will be 2.75. Congrats!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  13. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Up to 77 - more food?
     
  14. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @tiffmaxee we'll see what the next test is but are you around to check-in? I need to run out in about 30 min for a bit.
     
  15. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I would hold food and test in another 30. Way to get him up to safety :)
     
    Suzanne Burton and Colio like this.
  16. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I will check in. Yes. just reading through.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  17. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Thank you all - testing again in 30...
     
  18. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I'll be here for next test then won't be around for a bit.
     
  19. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    No problem. I'll keep my eyes on. Light work day for me now until late this afternoon.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I can check back. Time to remove the 911. Put it back if he drops again. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
    JaxBenji likes this.
  21. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    @Colio you could probably remove the 911 now if you're comfortable with that? I see you have three of us with eyes on you now.
     
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Time for the next test and when you get it please add the results to your title so we know all is good. Thanks.
     
    JaxBenji and Butters & Lyla like this.
  23. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  24. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Dropped again - more MC and honey ...

    Should I drop the 911?
     
  25. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Did you already give him more MC and honey? How much?
    Can you check again in 30?
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  26. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    1 tbs food and 1 tsp honey - and yes I can check again in 30 minutes
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We are watching so you can remove the 911.
     
  28. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Okay perfect. You're doing good. 52 is still too low on the AlphaTrak. See you in 30 for next test.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You need to get over 68 and continue feeding until into the 80’s and then maintaining without food.
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  30. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Thanks - trying to be calm but this is stressful
    Glad I have all the support.
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are doing fine. The honey wears off quickly. It’s important until at least in high 70’s to test every 30 minutes. The food lasts about that long. Tough when working I know. :bighug:
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  32. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I know. :bighug:You're doing good though. We know the food is bringing him up. But we don't want to go longer than 30 minutes without testing Cole right now if you can help it.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  33. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Finished the part of the meeting where I had to present so I can focus on testing now
     
  34. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If you need to wait 60 like what just happened just put food in a dish for the second 30. They pick the worst times to throw us a curveball.
     
    Colio and Butters & Lyla like this.
  35. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    OK - got the next test done and he came up to 59

    Fed another tbs of MC food - but no honey

    Should I give more honey?
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  36. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    He's not really coming up that quick from the MC and honey. I'd give him more honey.
    Still well below the 68. @tiffmaxee what do you think?
     
  37. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    In my opinion, you prob should have been feeding some HC, so the honey and some MC is a good substitute. Yes I'd give him a bit more honey too and test again in 30.
     
  38. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Gave him another tbs and 1 tsp honey
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  39. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Good. See you in 30 for next test.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I won't interfere with the great folks helping you, but just wanted to note you probably want to get some HC in the house next time you are out shopping. When they drop early in the cycle, the insulin is at it's strongest and you still have a ways to go until nadir. So HC for low numbers in the first part of the cycle. MC + honey works, HC + honey even better. Do keep good notes on how much and what you fed. That will help you next time you see low numbers and help you figure out how carbs sensitive Cole is. ECID.

    Aren't you glad you didn't increase. ;) Congrats on the reduction. Many a cat reacts to the threat of an increase by going low. :eek:
     
    Colio likes this.
  41. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    At +4.5 up just a little to 65.

    1 tbs MC and 1 tsp honey


    What do you suggest for best HC food? i bought Iams Perfect Portions Tuna and Chicken because I thought it had gravy but realize I can't read the %

    Test again in 30 min
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  42. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I am so glad I didn't reduce - this has been a roller coaster! :eek:
     
  43. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Okay good so you gave him another 1 tbsp MC and 1 tsp honey. And other test in 30. Great will see you for another test in 30 minutes.
     
  44. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    As for HC food, I use Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup, which is 21%. And some of the Weruva and BFF pouches on Dr. Pierson's food list. I also have some first mate.
    The Grandma's chicken soup @ 21% is the highest % HC food I have used with Butters.

    I'm curious, what are you using for MC food? And what % carbs is it?

    Also, remember the carbs are in the gravy. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
  45. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @Butters & Lyla - i'm back if you need to take a break :bighug:

    BTW, when Cole when from 49 to 77, she gave him "2 tbs of MC and 1 tsp honey, and then another 1 tbs of MC" - if he's still not coming up, maybe we need to up the honey to food ratio - so like 2 teaspoons honey, 2 teaspoons food? Just a thought running in my head that I felt the need to type out :)

    Another HC option is Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef - it's 20%.
     
  46. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    That is good info, thanks. I'm glad Cole is still eating! He has had a lot of food.
    Agree that more honey may be needed. I'm worried his appetite may wane.

    I'm okay, Susanne. I can still hang around, too. I'm popping on and off.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  47. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Okay - shoot me a DM if you me to come back :bighug: I'll try to keep watching too
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  48. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Down again to 59 - another tbs of MC and tsp honey
     
  49. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Give him 2 tsp honey with the MC.
    ANd you're giving him the gravy, right?
     
  50. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    he has eaten a ton - I can switch to higher ratio of honey - and do 50/50 with smaller amount of food
     
  51. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I would do that. Yes, as Susanne suggested. 2 tsp honey and 2 tsp MC.
     
  52. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    When you have a moment, please let me know the name of the MC you're feeding.
     
  53. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    done - he gobbled that up
     
  54. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Think you can get a test in 15 minutes? I don't like that he dropped lower 30 minutes after eating MC and honey.
     
  55. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020

    it was Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato - but looking at it, I'm not sure if it qualifies as MC.
    Then I tried the IAMS Iams Perfect Portions Chicken as it has gravy - but I can't read the %
    Now this last time I'm trying some prescription food Royal Canin Fiber which is 6% protein, 2% fat - so I think this is better? HC?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
  56. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
  57. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Is the royal canin wet or dry? What's the exact name? I'll try to find the carb %
     
  58. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    went to 70 at +5.25
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  59. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Royal Canin Fiber canned looks like it might be a better bet.
     
  60. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Okay good. Hopefully he is still going to go up. The honey isn't going to hold him but maybe the other food or a bounce will kick in. Hold off feeding and test again in another 15 minutes. He has a tiny bit of buffer. I'm glad you got the test after 15 minutes.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
  61. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    it's wet

    Royal Canin Fiber - Veterinary Diet
     
  62. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    will do - thanks
     
  63. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I can't find carb content for it but it's not ver high carb if we use the rough anaylis from Pierson - it's at most 7%.

    The rough analysis is you take 100% and subtract out moisture, protein, fat, fiber, and ash. Here's the Commercial Cat Food page from Pierson - https://catinfo.org/commercial-cat-foods/#Calculating__Percentage_of_Carbohydrates:

    Royal Canin doesn't have ash listed so I subtracted the rest and got 7%...and then maybe minus about 1-2% for ash. Here's the RC info - https://www.royalcanin.com/ca/en_ca/cats/products/vet-products/feline-fiber-canned-cat-food
     
  64. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I did a poor job of shopping for what I thought was MC and HC food ... :(
     
  65. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Honey and LC works too - in fact it's listed on the low number sticky - we should have asked what exactly you had from the start. And now you have a shopping list :bighug::bighug::bighug:So from here on out, use your prescription food + honey. Small bites. Like tsp food with tsp honey. We want him to keep eating if needed.
     
  66. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Just tested again - at 95 at +5.5

    food and honey?
     
  67. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Actually let's just do a tsp of the fiber food. no honey. and test in 20. That honey brought him up but will wear off.
     
  68. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    If he's up again at the next test...which I'm hoping he will be, we can probably give an hour pokie break (and you can take breath again too :) :) :))
     
  69. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    done - will test in 20
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  70. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I think this is a summary of food and numbers. Did you get a +3? It doesn't look like it but not sure if I missed it because that was right when I ran out earlier today. I like looking back at #s and food after the fact to see how my cat reacted to the food. It's all a learning experience :bighug:

    +2 49 *3 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +2.5 77 *no food
    +3 ??
    +3.5 52 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4 59 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4.5 65 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +5 59 *2 tsp ~7%, 2 tsp honey (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +5.25 70 *no food
    +5.5 95 *1 tsp Fiber Rx ~7% (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
     
  71. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    up to 99

    What next - food?
     
  72. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    He's flat from 20 minutes ago (95 and 99 are essentially the same). We can wait 30 and see what he does with no food. We are coming up on the second half the cycle so the insulin impact should be coming down. What do you think?
     
  73. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    BTW, he's in a safe # right now.
     
  74. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I'll wait and Lyla is bringing me some HC so should have better options in 30 minutes... I hope this stays flat
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  75. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Sounds good - so next test around +6.25.

    +2 49 *3 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +2.5 77 *no food
    +3 ??
    +3.5 52 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4 59 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4.5 65 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +5 59 *2 tsp ~7%, 2 tsp honey (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +5.25 70 *no food
    +5.5 95 *1 tsp Fiber Rx ~7% (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +5.75 99 *no food
     
  76. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    And I'm hoping you won't need the HC today but glad you'll have it on hand :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Colio likes this.
  77. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    No plus 3 today - on a call.

    You captured it all really well - thank you!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  78. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Up again with no food - at 122.

    Should I wait on more food?
     
  79. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Yay. Yes wait an hour!
     
  80. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Let's see if I can be more clear - I was just excited lol.

    No food and test again in one hour :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Colio likes this.
  81. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    :) If I test in a hour and he is up, I assume wait / if he is down again?
     
  82. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Are we at +6.25 right now?
     
  83. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    He *should* continue to rise till PMPS but he's cat :) and honey does wear off. So the extra test is just insurance.

    If he's lower, we'll see the number and see if we want to feed. We can give small snacks up to +10 to make sure the PMPS isn't food influenced (if he's in low #s at +10, we would of course feed and discuss the PM shot)
     
  84. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Actually at +6.5
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  85. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Awesome - corrected the timeline below. Also added the AMPS...I keep track of breakfast and dinners too so may be worth noting.

    See you at +7.5.

    AMPS 137 *breakfast
    +2 49 *3 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +2.5 77 *no food
    +3 ??
    +3.5 52 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4 59 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4.5 65 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +5 59 *2 tsp ~7%, 2 tsp honey (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +5.25 70 *no food
    +5.75 95 *1 tsp Fiber Rx ~7% (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +6 99 *no food
    +6.5 122 *no food, test in 1 hour
     
  86. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Hi, I'm back. Good to see Cole is still rising. You want him to stay up for two full hours without any food or honey, not sure if Susanne mentioned. I'll pop on and off I just have to feed Butters.

    So I gave you 3 pouches: those are all MC foods.
    And three cans: those are HC foods.
     
    Colio and JaxBenji like this.
  87. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I will also be hanging around to see the +7.5 test.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  88. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Thank you so much Lyla for your kindness and help today. It helped with my stress over not having the right food - and I am so appreciative. :bighug:
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
  89. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    He's up again to 135 at the +7.5.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  90. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Team effort. :bighug: Also, others have helped me as much and more. I'm just paying forward the kindnesses other people on the board have shown me.
    So when you need one, double check what % to use if someone is helping you. HC should definitely have been used today. I'm not great with AT numbers but I'd say roughly between 58-67, an MC would be a good place to start. You'll need to play around at first while you figure out how responsive Cole is to the carbs. That's why it is so important to note what % carb food you feed him and what impact it had on his BG, so you know for next time.

    The summary that Susanne did for you, I recommend you copy that right into the remarks in your spreadsheet. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
    Colio likes this.
  91. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    He is up a bit more, that's good. We are almost at the 2 hour mark without food. How do you feel about withholding food for another hour and testing again?

    That will bring us to 8.5, then we can see where he is at and discuss when next to feed (no food 2 hours prior to giving insulin), and hopefully start getting a slightly better idea of where he might be headed for PMPS.
     
    JaxBenji and Colio like this.
  92. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Definitely ok with that. Stayed tuned for +8.5
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  93. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    You're doing wonderful! I think Cole is in a safe spot. He should continue to rise to PMPS.

    FWIW, I would use HC any time you are under the "take action number" which is 68 on AT2. If Cole is near 68 but above it, I would use MC to help keep him surfing. If Cole is under 68 but super close to it 68 (say 65-67), you could try the MC to see if that raises him (assuming you can test in 30 minutes from feeding). You will adjust all this feeding strategy as you get more familiar with how Cole reacts to food. I can bring Jax up from the 50s (on human meter) with MC but when he dips into the 40s (on human meter), I usually need to give him a bit of the HC. It's an ECID thing.

    And do a tsp at a time of the gravy whether its MC or HC. The idea is to get the kitty to safe numbers and then have them stay there as long as we can and if our schedules allow :) If our schedules don't allow, we would be more heavy handed with the food.

    Hope that helps. Excellent work today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  94. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    And updated timeline :)

    AMPS 137 *breakfast

    +2 49 *3 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +2.5 77 *no food
    +3 *missed due to work conflict
    +3.5 52 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4 59 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +4.5 65 *1 tbs 3%, 1 tsp honey (Beyond the Grain Chicken and Sweet Potato)
    +5 59 *2 tsp ~7%, 2 tsp honey (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +5.25 70 *no food
    +5.75 95 *1 tsp Fiber Rx ~7% (RC Fiber Vet Diet Wet)
    +6 99 *no food
    +6.5 122 *no food, test in 1 hour
    +7.5 135 *no food, test in 1 hour
     
    Colio and Butters & Lyla like this.
  95. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    I am printing this out so I have it to refer to - I learned alot today - wish it hadn't been so dramatic, but you and Lyla have been wonderful. :) Thank you for the support
     
  96. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I use a human meter, like Susanne. All things being equal, I would use LC to bring Butters up from the 50s, MC to bring her out of the 40s, and HC lower than that. This is what I was taught. And it assumes she hasn't had a big dramatic drop. If she has, then I'll be more aggressive and break out MC food earlier. I'd also use MC sooner if she was sliding lower earlier in the cycle. Totally clear, right?;) We err on the side of caution when you're new. It is somewhat an ECID thing and somewhat what you're taught. You'll find what works well for Cole. That's why you wanna keep a variety of foods on hand and track what you use.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2020
    Colio and JaxBenji like this.
  97. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Up to 193 @ +8.5

    Usually I feed dinner in an hour - so +9.5. Thoughts?
     
  98. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    You are free to do as you please :) Withhold food 2 hours before shot time.

    BTW, do you usually feed two meals or several small ones? I used to feed Jax two meals but then switched to several small ones (with a little larger breakfast and dinner which I serve at shot time). I serve a small snack at +9.5 or +10 (1-2 tsp) and then dinner at shot time.
     
    Colio likes this.
  99. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I'd say we're good. Nice job. Carry on as normal with dinner. You can give him a poke break to PMPS. But do post at PMPS time with the number.
    Remember Cole earned a reduction to 2.75u.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  100. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    It used to be 2 meals, with dry down all the time. Now that we are only having wet food, it's several small meals, and two larger ones for breakfast and dinner. Evening shot is about 2.5 hours after dinner.
     

Share This Page