11/05 Fistuk AMPS 85, +3 97, +7.5 79, +9.5 113 PMPS 85

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-04-fistuk-amps-85-pmps-104-3-79.283238/#post-3120241

Good morning :)
(EDIT): This morning was the first time since the bid D that my husband took the morning care of Fistuk and I could stay in bed and not wake up!!!

It was a delight to see Fistuk yesterday enjoy so much sleeping by the fire :joyful:

He's had quite a nice green surf last night and this morning around the 80's.

Question about dosing - I think the TR protocol mentions a reduction after a week of normal range numbers, is that right? And if so, shall I start counting from the 2nd or the 3rd of Nov?
Would appreciate guidance on that.

Wishing you all a lovely Sunday :bighug:
 
Last edited:
The rule for earning reduction is:
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
I think you can start counting from Nov 2nd. Hopefully he earns it sooner by dropping below 50 :-)
 
The rule for earning reduction is:
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
I think you can start counting from Nov 2nd. Hopefully he earns it sooner by dropping below 50 :)
Thanks, Bhooma :bighug:
At the moment I don't have that inner feeling as I had that he's going to drop below. but maybe if you pull out your threat he'll oblige as he respects you greatly :joyful::joyful::joyful::bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly!
Nice cycles he's been having!
But be careful what you say here - Fistuk may be reading up on it and spring into action! :joyful:

Sleeping by fire sounds so delightful. Have a great Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wow, you got to sleep in! Does Switzerland do the time change and you got an extra hour too? I don't recall you do, but that would be lovely. Well done, husband!

I wonder if Fistuk sleeping by the fire helps bake his bread faster too. ;)
 
Wow, you got to sleep in! Does Switzerland do the time change and you got an extra hour too? I don't recall you do, but that would be lovely. Well done, husband!

I wonder if Fistuk sleeping by the fire helps bake his bread faster too. ;)
Yes we do have a change of time. Happened last weekend. In Europe it’s always a week earlier than the US. I trained my husband to test and give shots and took advantage of his three days break from work to ask him to do the morning. He works shift and have a physical work. Sometimes he needs to get up at 3am in the morning. So I’m the main carer of Fistuk so my husband can focuse on work.

Fistuk appreciated the warmth so much that I think he decided to relaxes the baked good without me noticing LOL
 
Good morning Shelly, I’m so glad the Fustuk is having consistent normal BGs and you get to consider a reduction.
That’s wonderful news. Glad he’s been consistent baking also.
And even more wonderful news.., that you got your husband to help out. I’m so jealous!!
I hope you all have a relaxing day by the fireplace again and enjoy your Sunday.:bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning! Ah, what a delight that Fistuk is doing so incredibly well!! Proud of you both :cat: Sleeping by the fire sounds heavenly (though most don't think of heaven when they think of fire LOL). I wish we had a fireplace!

So happy your husband helped you with little Fistuk!! Mine has been taking care of our other 3 animals and picking up slack around the house so I can focus on Cooper, but maybe I'll ask him to trade for a day or 2! :p Enjoy your day!!
 
Morning Shelly, getting that extra sleep must have felt great.
Good job Shelly's husband :cat:
Fistuk is looking great . Have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
It did. Though you can imagine what happened... i woke up at almost shot time because I'm just used to wake up. But I did not allow myself to get up and managed to get another half an hour sleep. Bliss!
Robert appreciates your support :) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly, I’m so glad the Fustuk is having consistent normal BGs and you get to consider a reduction.
That’s wonderful news. Glad he’s been consistent baking also.
And even more wonderful news.., that you got your husband to help out. I’m so jealous!!
I hope you all have a relaxing day by the fireplace again and enjoy your Sunday.:bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci :) Yes it's been quite good with Fistuk lately. A huge relief. And getting Robert to learn to test and give the shots is def a significant help :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning! Ah, what a delight that Fistuk is doing so incredibly well!! Proud of you both :cat: Sleeping by the fire sounds heavenly (though most don't think of heaven when they think of fire LOL). I wish we had a fireplace!

So happy your husband helped you with little Fistuk!! Mine has been taking care of our other 3 animals and picking up slack around the house so I can focus on Cooper, but maybe I'll ask him to trade for a day or 2! :p Enjoy your day!!
It's the first time we have afire place in our home so it's Fistuk's first time and no doubt he LOVEs it. In fact he's by the fire place now ready for it to be lit :joyful:
Four cats, Gabrielle, that's a lot. And a joy. But I can imagine the work. Robert did make an effort to give Prnce more attention so he doesn't feel left out. We had to do it this way with his work. But now that we moved to live closer to his work place it also means that he spends less time on travelling and can chip in more with Fistuk when needed :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Seeing Jason's question about the dose and syringe lines I realise I may have not set the dosing right. I feel tired and worried just thinking of it.

I use a magnifying app to see how to set the plunger. After drawing juice I push the plunger to touch the lower edge of the line.

What do I do now? shall I just keep on doing what I've done? after all that time.... :banghead::(
 
Seeing Jason's question about the dose and syringe lines I realise I may have not set the dosing right. I feel tired and worried just thinking of it.

I use a magnifying app to see how to set the plunger. After drawing juice I push the plunger to touch the lower edge of the line.

What do I do now? shall I just keep on doing what I've done? after all that time.... :banghead::(
I presume you must be using BD insulin syringes since you are in Switzerland? The lines in those are not as thick as those in some of the brand available in the US. Anyway, when dosing, consistency is as important as accuracy, so if you have been drawing it in the same way, it's fine. You could change to drawing it to top of the line from tomorrow - it will be a tiny reduction in dose.
 
I presume you must be using BD insulin syringes since you are in Switzerland? The lines in those are not as thick as those in some of the brand available in the US. Anyway, when dosing, consistency is as important as accuracy, so if you have been drawing it in the same way, it's fine. You could change to drawing it to top of the line from tomorrow - it will be a tiny reduction in dose.
Ok. Phew. Thanks, Bhooma. I got worried there for a moment and recalled how much worry I felt at the beginning. With the ketones and Fistuk not eating and everything … you’ve been there all the way so you know how tough it was…

Yes, I use BD and the lines are not that thick. I can post a pic tonight when I prepare for a shot. I’ve been very consistent with this way all throughout so it’s good to know. And I’ll start from tomorrow to draw to the top of the line.

should I get a calliper now? Or shall I continue as I did so far?
For 0.25 I eye balled the middle between the lines (up the line to bottom of line within one unit)

and shall I start counting again the days for tomorrow (for a reduction)?
Lots of questions :joyful::bighug:
 
upload_2023-11-5_19-45-30.jpeg


This is ten times bigger in the magnify app
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-5_19-45-30.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-5_19-45-30.jpeg
    19.3 KB · Views: 109
should I get a calliper now? Or shall I continue as I did so far?
I think you can continue without one for now. Just remember to check for "zero errors" before using a syringe - push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters. I could be wrong, but even with the syringe whose pic you have posted, there is some space over the zero line?

and shall I start counting again the days for tomorrow (for a reduction)?
Yes. The days count would reset from tomorrow. The "new" 0.5U will be be a little less than the "old" 0.5U. Maybe add a row in the SS after today saying "Changed way of measuring dose from bottom of line to top of line". I can do this for you if you want :-)
 
r "zero errors" before using a syringe - push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line
There’s def a space between the upper line and the top of the syringe :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Is better look for a calliper today
I’ve always pushed the plunger all the way up to take out air as much as possible so I guess it’s the unit plus some, whatever is on top of the line
 
There’s def a space between the upper line and the top of the syringe :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Is better look for a calliper today
I’ve always pushed the plunger all the way up to take out air as much as possible so I guess it’s the unit plus some, whatever is on top of the line
Sometimes it's the other way around. The zero mark is above the plunger when it is fully pressed, so you're actually getting less insulin than the measured dose. :rolleyes:
 
Sometimes it's the other way around. The zero mark is above the plunger when it is fully pressed, so you're actually getting less insulin than the measured dose. :rolleyes:
I’m so totally confused now :banghead::woot:

so this is the syringe pulling the plunger back so you could see the line markers
upload_2023-11-6_8-53-16.jpeg



this is the plunger pushed all the way up (without pressure) - looks like the plunger is right on the line? And that the plunger is sitting centres in the line rather than just to the top of the line?
upload_2023-11-6_8-53-56.jpeg


And this is how it looks when I press the plunger all the way to get air our as much as possible
upload_2023-11-6_8-56-0.jpeg


So what shall I do now? :nailbiting::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-6_8-53-16.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-6_8-53-16.jpeg
    27.2 KB · Views: 94
  • upload_2023-11-6_8-53-56.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-6_8-53-56.jpeg
    25.7 KB · Views: 96
  • upload_2023-11-6_8-56-0.jpeg
    upload_2023-11-6_8-56-0.jpeg
    26 KB · Views: 94
Back
Top