11/1 Ruby AMPS 432 /SLGS to TR advice?/+10 402/PMPS 399/+3 344

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's condo.

Good morning and happy Sunday! Looks like Ruby's dose might be stabilizing but I keep hoping for some blues here. We're back to the dose she was at a month ago but now she's on a nearly all wet diet. Let's hope her pancreas decides to kick in.

Sending healing thoughts and scritches to all of the sick kitties and hugs to their beans who love them so. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am getting a human meter next week because the AT strips are getting too expensive and I'd like to save them for doing curves for my vet. I am also considering switching from SLGS to TR. Members suggested that I pose questions in this forum after posting in the Main forum yesterday. Here is the condo from there.

I guess my only concern is that every time Ruby has been in the 200s and I've shot, she's been in a bounce or experiencing NDW, and she dives pretty quickly. I've got my hypo kit now, have brought her up from low numbers a few times so I know the drill and feel less scared. I still have to arm myself with better HC wet food that she will actually eat (hates FF Gravy Lovers in Beef), but otherwise I'm prepared to rid her diet completely of dry. The only thing I worry about is that I don't have good data to show that I can safely shoot her under 200 yet, and switching from AT to a human meter, I will very likely get much lower numbers than ones I've been seeing. Should I hold off on moving to TR until I get to know Ruby's responses better?
 
I would just bite the bullet and switch. You've likely already shot below 200 on a human meter. Any time you get a number below 150 on this forum, feel free to NOT feed, and post for help deciding what to do. There are options such as stalling or reduced dose that you can also do to build up your confidence. I was lucky (?) in that Neko immediately bounced after a low preshot at first, which made it easier to shoot low the first few times. Not that I wasn't a nervous wreck of course.

For HC, I liked some of the Weruva line. My girl and wheat didn't work well together, so I couldn't use the FF gravy products. Weruva has some higher carbs made with potatoes. The Grandma's Chicken Soup is about 21%, and several of the Cats in the Kitchen pouches are in the 16-17% range, so a lower HC.
 
I would just bite the bullet and switch. You've likely already shot below 200 on a human meter. Any time you get a number below 150 on this forum, feel free to NOT feed, and post for help deciding what to do. There are options such as stalling or reduced dose that you can also do to build up your confidence. I was lucky (?) in that Neko immediately bounced after a low preshot at first, which made it easier to shoot low the first few times. Not that I wasn't a nervous wreck of course.

You are SO right! I have shot below 200 on a human meter on probably about 4 occasions already that I know of only because I started testing. I'm so glad to have you all here to support me when it gets hard! I can't express my gratitude enough for this. I'm so very scared to get her any sicker than she already is.

For HC, I liked some of the Weruva line. My girl and wheat didn't work well together, so I couldn't use the FF gravy products. Weruva has some higher carbs made with potatoes. The Grandma's Chicken Soup is about 21%, and several of the Cats in the Kitchen pouches are in the 16-17% range, so a lower HC.
Thank you so much for the Weruva recommendations. I never thought Ruby was very finicky before she got sick, but now I'm so concerned about her eating all of her meals and especially when she's got low numbers and we don't have dry food to fall back on anymore which I knew she would always want to eat. I used to feed Olive and Ruby the Grandma's Chicken Soup when they were kittens. :cat::cat: I'll look for that. I know they liked it then so she shouldn't turn her nose up at it now.
 
+10 = 402. Ruby is flying high today and I'm really not sure why. Perhaps I missed a much lower number mid-cycle. We'll see what the evening brings!
 
PMPS=399. Thankfully she didn't go too high. Think the +10 number had to do with the FF broth treat I gave her? They are supposedly only 1-2% carbs.
 
+3=344. I'm surprised by these numbers today as I'd hoped with all of the reductions in the last week that we'd see some blues.
 
Back
Top