11/12 Mo - AMPS 412 :( +3 380, +6 344

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Previous post

Yesterday's BGLs: AMPS 344, +6 328, PMPS 344, +4 293

Thank you for the comments on my last post regarding Mo's dosing method. I think at this stage, we are stuck using the SLGS method as Tim is now refusing to go against the vet's wishes and he is the one that does most of the insulin shots.

Mo is more lethargic today than usual. He even sat down to let me test him which he never does. He's always standing. I have no idea what's going on with him but clearly his dose of 5.5u isn't working or there is something else going on. His BG has only really been going higher instead of lower with the increase in insulin. I'm going to take him to the vet next week to get a blood test if doesn't start to feel better. The vet is open tomorrow (Saturday) so if something happens, I'll take him in sooner.

I'm just so frustrated that I'm trying to do the best for my boy but now I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. All I want is a day of consistent 200s :arghh:

Oh well, I'm home all day today and tomorrow so I will be keeping a close eye on Mo.

Hope everyone is doing well :)
 
Sorry that you're getting push back from your vet. I understand why they wish to be conservative about feline diabetes. In a way, this group is radical by telling people YES YOU CAN and enabling us with the tools and knowledge to be able to aggressively treat our cats based on tried and true methods. I was really worried about pissing off my vet as well, who told me not to change doses for 2-3 weeks and then do a curve to review with him before making any adjustments. After that conversation, I started TR, got really good at testing Ruby, changed her dose about three times with the help of the wonderful people here without consulting the vet and got her tightly regulated. When we got Ruby's dramatically improved fructosamine test result last week, I started to explain to the vet what I was doing with TR but he cut me off and said, "Whatever you're doing, keep doing it!" So that was that.

Long story short, when the vets see the results, they can't get mad.
 
Hang in there, Katy :bighug: I know you are in a tough spot managing Mo, Tim, and the vet :bighug:

Would Tim be willing to look at SS of kitties who follow TR? And/or be willing to read about glucose toxicity? This post (link) is a good resource. Maybe if he *saw* other kitties breakthrough glucose toxicity, he may see what's possible for Mo (of course ECID). One that comes to mind is Henry - see the SS in Robert's signature. I should note that Henry/Robert did have guidance from one of the moderators here too - they started on SLGS and once they got rid of the dry food, they switched to TR.
 
Sorry that you're getting push back from your vet. I understand why they wish to be conservative about feline diabetes. In a way, this group is radical by telling people YES YOU CAN and enabling us with the tools and knowledge to be able to aggressively treat our cats based on tried and true methods. I was really worried about pissing off my vet as well, who told me not to change doses for 2-3 weeks and then do a curve to review with him before making any adjustments. After that conversation, I started TR, got really good at testing Ruby, changed her dose about three times with the help of the wonderful people here without consulting the vet and got her tightly regulated. When we got Ruby's dramatically improved fructosamine test result last week, I started to explain to the vet what I was doing with TR but he cut me off and said, "Whatever you're doing, keep doing it!" So that was that.

Long story short, when the vets see the results, they can't get mad.
Yeah I understand it too. When they don't have the control, it can be really scary for them because I imagine they think I don't know what I'm doing. But I'm getting worse numbers since waiting and I might just have to take back the reins :( I'm so glad your boy is doing well! :)

Hang in there, Katy :bighug: I know you are in a tough spot managing Mo, Tim, and the vet :bighug:

Would Tim be willing to look at SS of kitties who follow TR? And/or be willing to read about glucose toxicity? This post (link) is a good resource. Maybe if he *saw* other kitties breakthrough glucose toxicity, he may see what's possible for Mo (of course ECID). One that comes to mind is Henry - see the SS in Robert's signature. I should note that Henry/Robert did have guidance from one of the moderators here too - they started on SLGS and once they got rid of the dry food, they switched to TR.

Thank you :) I will definitely have a look at that. I'll have a talk with Tim and see if I can get through to him. Ugh, this is all so stressful :(
 
Back
Top