11/13 Mai, AMPS 384 +6 344

Mai & Dad

Member
Hello,

I hope everyone has been doing well. I took a small break from posting Mai's BG each but I have been testing him and updating the chart.

My question is I am now ready to increase his dosage from 7.5 units to 8 units, do I increase by 0.5 unit each time? Or should I increase by 1 unit now that the dosage is already high?

Thanks!
Hao
 
I’d increase to 8.5. I do wonder how low he went on 11/4 but it doesn’t appear he went.a lot lower since then. Tagging Wendy for confirmation. @Wendy&Neko
 
Think of the increases as about 10-15% of the total dose. Over 5 units, that means 0.5 unit increases, up to 1.0 unit increases if over 10 units. You'd go smaller if you were just tweaking a dose that is consistently seeing some green already.

Following TR, I wouldn't hold a dose seeing only yellow nadirs any longer than 6 cycles total. It does look like he is seeing some insulin resistance.

Any updates on getting him tested for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies)? If acro, there is treatment that can help. IAA just takes time.

The link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...89-6-5-270-7-235-10-117-pmps-81-1-120.295348/
 
I’d increase to 8.5. I do wonder how low he went on 11/4 but it doesn’t appear he went.a lot lower since then. Tagging Wendy for confirmation. @Wendy&Neko

Thank you! I did go up from 7.5 to 8.5 units last night. We saw an immediate dive in BG but it came back up to 300+ again in the morning.
 
Think of the increases as about 10-15% of the total dose. Over 5 units, that means 0.5 unit increases, up to 1.0 unit increases if over 10 units. You'd go smaller if you were just tweaking a dose that is consistently seeing some green already.

Following TR, I wouldn't hold a dose seeing only yellow nadirs any longer than 6 cycles total. It does look like he is seeing some insulin resistance.

Any updates on getting him tested for acromegaly and IAA (insulin auto antibodies)? If acro, there is treatment that can help. IAA just takes time.

The link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...89-6-5-270-7-235-10-117-pmps-81-1-120.295348/
Hello! Thank you for the response. I did end up going from 7.5 to 8.5 units last night and this morning and I think I will hold it here since he had two complete cycles on it now.

I have not got a chance to test him. Our vet is very reluctant in testing him so I am considering taking him to a different vet, but that would also take time.
 
Back
Top