11/14 WENDY = PMPS 364/ +2@353/ AMPS 361/ +2@348/ Dose Increase

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
Wendy did well overnight. She didn't vomit or urinate outside the litter box. I increased her AM dose to 5.50 units. I also updated spreadsheet & signature to include TR.

Unfortunately, as I was administering the PM shot last night, she jumped off the "testing" chair and not all insulin was injected. She got some on the fur and was noted on the SS.

Today she has been doing well overall. She gained some weight (from 9.7 lbs. to 11.2 lbs.) and is moving around the house without any issues. She did, however, pee on a blanket very early this morning and has been sitting by the water bowl for longer periods of time. I'm waiting for a call back from her vet to try to get a prescription of Ondansetron pills. On our last vet visit he only prescribed 5 syringes and doesn't see the need for Wendy to take them since she's on Cerenia (I've shown him articles from this site but only glances at them). I'm seeking another vet who is more experienced with feline diabetes but, in the meantime, I am advocating for Wendy to get the medication she needs.

Questions:
  1. Since Wendy has been on insulin (08/01/2022) her poops smell really bad. Even before being diagnosed she would eat Fancy Feast and some dry food, but her poops didn't smell like dead bodies, LOL! Is it normal? Any recommendations? NOTE: She only eats wet low carb food (Fancy Feast Pate).
  2. Do I hold this dose for 7 days?
  3. Once we hit 6 units and the numbers don't improve. What will the next plan of action be? I'm inquiring so that I can be prepared and plan accordingly. Especially since the holidays are around the corner and vets office close or go out of town.
Thank you all for taking the time to read my update and your feedback is much appreciated!


@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)



https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-341-3-314-dose-increase.270753/#post-3016427
 
Do I hold this dose for 7 days?

No, on TR you hold it for 6 cycles unless she gets into blue/green (which I don't see happening anytime soon but our cats can surprise us!

Once we hit 6 units and the numbers don't improve. What will the next plan of action be? I'm inquiring so that I can be prepared and plan accordingly. Especially since the holidays are around the corner and vets office close or go out of town.

Once you're over 6U, we recommend getting Wendy tested for Acromegaly and IAA. The only place that does these specialized tests is MSU so you'd have to have your local vet draw the blood and then send it to MSU.

For the USA and Canada – costs vary depending where you live:
https://vdl.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
Search for code 20005 (for Insulin Like Growth Factor-1 (Acro) and code 20031 (for Insulin Autoantibody (IAA) )

If you click on the test name on the left side, a clearer description of what's needed (how much blood, how to ship, etc) is listed.
 
No, on TR you hold it for 6 cycles unless she gets into blue/green (which I don't see happening anytime soon but our cats can surprise us!



Once you're over 6U, we recommend getting Wendy tested for Acromegaly and IAA. The only place that does these specialized tests is MSU so you'd have to have your local vet draw the blood and then send it to MSU.

For the USA and Canada – costs vary depending where you live:
https://vdl.msu.edu/Bin/Catalog/Catalog.exe
Search for code 20005 (for Insulin Like Growth Factor-1 (Acro) and code 20031 (for Insulin Autoantibody (IAA) )

If you click on the test name on the left side, a clearer description of what's needed (how much blood, how to ship, etc) is listed.
Great information! Thank you so much :)
 
In addition to what Chris suggested, you will keep increasing as you did when her dose was lower. With TR, you increase every six cycles if you aren't seeing numbers below 200.
 
Thank you for that information! Will I continue to increase even when reaching 6 units? I plan on calling my vet tomorrow and scheduling an appointment to send out blood work for Acromegaly and IAA.
 
Back
Top