I was very happy with amps!Nice! He didn't bounce very high or for very long!![]()
I think, and more experienced members should correct me if I'm wrong, that we're looking at the overall patterns.I was very happy with amps!
I have a question though, clarification really. Do i understand correctly that we are looking for bg’s under 100 all the time? Or “mostly” under 100. Or “mostly” under 120? I would maybe assume a bounce after a low can be mostly ignored but otherwise, what is the number we want them under to ensure they are on the right dose. Does it vary because ecid?
Do i understand correctly that we are looking for bg’s under 100 all the time? Or “mostly” under 100. Or “mostly” under 120? I would maybe assume a bounce after a low can be mostly ignored but otherwise, what is the number we want them under to ensure they are on the right dose.
It's mostly in the range 50-80 but under 100 overall with occasional BGs up to 120.
I was wondering about this a lot yesterday with Biggie since he’s been in the nadir range most of the time for the last week, and looking at other folks’ spreadsheets I could see some that would have moved on with a reduction and some who let the dose ride until almost all blues were gone, and even took them back up if blues snuck in…anyway, you asked what I was thinking, so thank you! And thanks to @Bandit's Mom for always giving good explanations!I was very happy with amps!
I have a question though, clarification really. Do i understand correctly that we are looking for bg’s under 100 all the time? Or “mostly” under 100. Or “mostly” under 120? I would maybe assume a bounce after a low can be mostly ignored but otherwise, what is the number we want them under to ensure they are on the right dose. Does it vary because ecid?
I loved this so much I sent a screenshot to my husband.Herman's about-face over the last month or so gives me hope for all sugar kitties. It wasn't so long ago that you were seeing reds and limes in the same cycle, and look at him now, showing off on his blue and green surfboard! I picture him in lifeguard orange shorts, balanced on both hind legs, fluffy mane blowing wildly about his face as he slices deftly through the ocean waves. Dude!!![]()
Yes - it's amazing how we (or at least I) can end up down a rabbit hole of looking at other SS then fixating on the differences or similarities that I am experiencing and trying to understand and pick apart the why's based on the protocol etc! But that's also what makes this forum so great - having everyones SS available to everyone to look and learn and compare from is just so helpful!d looking at other folks’ spreadsheets I could see some that would have moved on with a reduction and some who let the dose ride until almost all blues were gone, and even took them back up if blues snuck in…
I have questions about this too. Chispa's had more high greens to mid blues than I would like on her current dose, which makes me wonder if I should increase -- but then every time I start to I think about it, she dips into the 50s/60s at night, so I don't know if it's safe to do, plus the sleep deprivation from staying up with her really gets to me after a while. @Bandit's Mom Are the "healing greens" more healing the lower they are? Is a steady surf in the 50s/60s more beneficial than 80s/90s? (Sorry to hijack this condo with my own question, but as long as we're all here ...I was wondering about this a lot yesterday with Biggie since he’s been in the nadir range most of the time for the last week, and looking at other folks’ spreadsheets I could see some that would have moved on with a reduction and some who let the dose ride until almost all blues were gone, and even took them back up if blues snuck in…anyway, you asked what I was thinking, so thank you! And thanks to @Bandit's Mom for always giving good explanations!
I can relate, too! I have wasted so many doses of insulin and dozens of syringes rethinking and overthinking doses. I’m so glad I started using calipers now. I don’t look at the lines much at all now but it does kind of throw you off when they are too high up or too low on the syringe. I’m not sure how calipers will help me when we hopefully get to .1u dosing though. I think that is more winging it or even counting drops. I just can’t even see the space between the calipers at such a tiny distance.Speaking of rabbit holes....I decided to draw up some sample syringes with coloured water to help me draw out the 0.25 dose consistently...and holy moly are the "0" lines on my syringes inconsistent(and rarely actually parallel to the top of the syringe, rather they are angled)....i (almost) always take a photo of my filled syringes to refer back to if he has a crazy low day so I can see if I was maybe too generous that day...soooooo...one more thing to over think!
![]()
@Amy & Herman This is very good to know (about inconsistent markings).Speaking of rabbit holes....I decided to draw up some sample syringes with coloured water to help me draw out the 0.25 dose consistently...and holy moly are the "0" lines on my syringes inconsistent(and rarely actually parallel to the top of the syringe, rather they are angled)....i (almost) always take a photo of my filled syringes to refer back to if he has a crazy low day so I can see if I was maybe too generous that day...soooooo...one more thing to over think!
![]()
Speaking of rabbit holes....I decided to draw up some sample syringes with coloured water to help me draw out the 0.25 dose consistently...and holy moly are the "0" lines on my syringes inconsistent(and rarely actually parallel to the top of the syringe, rather they are angled)....i (almost) always take a photo of my filled syringes to refer back to if he has a crazy low day so I can see if I was maybe too generous that day...soooooo...one more thing to over think!
![]()
I wish I'd have known about the badly-marked syringes from the very beginning. That could save me from some lime BG anxious nights that I thought on the hindsight were overdosed. Those ReliOn and BD syringes I got in the beginning from local pharmacy could be marked off by up to 0.4U, which is almost double when dosing at 0.5U or less. But, thanks dearly to this forum and I learned that I could buy syringes online without prescriptions, I got from Amazon the one syringe that I finally found with almost perfect quality assurance: UltiCare VetRx U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes. I was so amazed that every syringe of the box I got has true zero mark and crispy clear line at the hub bottom, which is crucial to use with calipers when dosing tiny like 0.1U. And a LED tracing light board (under$20) certainly helps too!I can relate, too! I have wasted so many doses of insulin and dozens of syringes rethinking and overthinking doses. I’m so glad I started using calipers now. I don’t look at the lines much at all now but it does kind of throw you off when they are too high up or too low on the syringe. I’m not sure how calipers will help me when we hopefully get to .1u dosing though. I think that is more winging it or even counting drops. I just can’t even see the space between the calipers at such a tiny distance.
Wow ok - so I have the BD syringes and here are the two I pulled out today to set up a couple sample syringes with coloured water. I will look on Amazon for the ulticare!I wish I'd have known about the badly-marked syringes from the very beginning. That could save me from some lime BG anxious nights that I thought on the hindsight were overdosed. Those ReliOn and BD syringes I got in the beginning from local pharmacy could be marked off by up to 0.4U, which is almost double when dosing at 0.5U or less. But, thanks dearly to this forum and I learned that I could buy syringes online without prescriptions, I got from Amazon the one syringe that I finally found with almost perfect quality assurance: UltiCare VetRx U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes. I was so amazed that every syringe of the box I got has true zero mark and crispy clear line at the hub bottom, which is crucial to use with calipers when dosing tiny like 0.1U. And a LED tracing light board (under$20) certainly helps too!
By the way, the syringe type like BD's with flared hub will make it almost impossible to use with calipers when dosing tiny.Wow ok - so I have the BD syringes and here are the two I pulled out today to set up a couple sample syringes with coloured water. I will look on Amazon for the ulticare!
View attachment 65734
Wow…wow…what a great photo thank you…I have a hard time already with 0.25, the plunger sticks then I push out too much and have to start over. Dh watched me yesterday and was horrified by how much insulin I wasted getting it “right”. I will look into calipers, too.By the way, the syringe type like BD's with flared hub will make it almost impossible to use with calipers.
You would use the upper (smaller) arms of the callipers for such syringes where there is a "ring" at the end of the syringe.By the way, the syringe type like BD's with flared hub will make it almost impossible to use with calipers when dosing tiny.
I believe green is green and all of them are healing@Bandit's Mom Are the "healing greens" more healing the lower they are? Is a steady surf in the 50s/60s more beneficial than 80s/90s? (Sorry to hijack this condo with my own question, but as long as we're all here ...)
Chewy has them too, for less than Amazon ($17 vs. $22). Might be different in Canada, though (?)Wow ok - so I have the BD syringes and here are the two I pulled out today to set up a couple sample syringes with coloured water. I will look on Amazon for the ulticare!
View attachment 65734
@Elaine Lai Good heavens, that is practically microscopic. LED light pad is a great idea. Not that I'll be needing them for a while, but what kind of calipers do you use, and where do you get them?Dosing 0.1U with UltiCare syringe
View attachment 65735
Here is a photo of the set-up I use. I use the zoom function of a smartphone to magnify (it's wonderful) and another phone with the My Light app as a backlight.@Elaine Lai Good heavens, that is practically microscopic. LED light pad is a great idea.
While callipers make it easy to measure tiny doses, people use them at all doses to measure them consistently. Markings on the syringe can be off by as much as 0.5U. When you use callipers, you can ignore the markings on the syringe.@Elaine LaiNot that I'll be needing them for a while, but what kind of calipers do you use, and where do you get them?
I am such a lazy person so I just contributed most of the hard earned money to the king of the evil capitalism -- Amazon.@Elaine Lai Good heavens, that is practically microscopic. LED light pad is a great idea. Not that I'll be needing them for a while, but what kind of calipers do you use, and where do you get them?
These photos are amazing. I use calipers but I didn’t think I could possibly see such a small measurement as the .1u even but the phone magnifier is brilliant!Here is a photo of the set-up I use. I use the zoom function of a smartphone to magnify (it's wonderful) and another phone with the My Light app as a backlight.
View attachment 65737
View attachment 65738
While callipers make it easy to measure tiny doses, people use them at all doses to measure them consistently. Markings on the syringe can be off by as much as 0.5U. When you use callipers, you can ignore the markings on the syringe.
This is a popular brand used in the US: Harbor Freight 4" digital calipers
And here's the Dosing with calipers sticky which has videos and more info.
It truly is. I got the idea from someone here on FDMB, so I can't take credit!the phone magnifier is brilliant!
Wow….I keep saying wow…I need to get my measuring up to snuff, I can say with certainty that I am nowhere near as accurate as this! Also need to work at zero bubbles and, as I said earlier, physically making the adjustments themselves. It’s one thing to be certain where you want the plunger to line up, it’s another thing altogether to make it happen!….twisting that plunger to express the perfect amount to get the perfect dose proves challenging for me.Here is a photo of the set-up I use. I use the zoom function of a smartphone to magnify (it's wonderful) and another phone with the My Light app as a backlight.
View attachment 65737
View attachment 65738
While callipers make it easy to measure tiny doses, people use them at all doses to measure them consistently. Markings on the syringe can be off by as much as 0.5U. When you use callipers, you can ignore the markings on the syringe.
This is a popular brand used in the US: Harbor Freight 4" digital calipers
And here's the Dosing with calipers sticky which has videos and more info.
I am such a lazy person so I just contributed most of the hard earned money to the king of the evil capitalism -- Amazon.Well, so this is the calipers I got, 6-inch.
I did use the calipers when I dosing especially under .25u. I'd say any digital calipers should work pretty well.I have the Pittsburgh 6" digital caliper; will these work? Have you used yours, Elaine?