11/16 Tilda AMPS 134

Should I do the full 1.5U again? Looks like yes?! I'll be around to test and monitor...
Yes, if you can monitor, then you shoot. Feed her and test her at +1 and +2 :-)

Also would love to switch to relion meter today, does anything need to change on my spreadsheet?
There's a small formatting change that I can help you with. I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS.
 
Yes, if you can monitor, then you shoot. Feed her and test her at +1 and +2 :)


There's a small formatting change that I can help you with. I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS.

Just shared, thank you!
 
Do you think you'd be comfortable working with a lower reduction point like 70 or 80? Of course, the switch to a low carb food might have her speeding down in dosing nevertheless.

As in don't reduce until we see a 70-80? Instead of below 90. I'm ok holding this dose (and keeping the food at 6+ oz 14% and 3oz 7%? I have not been increasing the 7% at all, just mostly feeding it after +5) and waiting to see lower number... if that is what makes the most sense.
 
As in don't reduce until we see a 70-80?
Yes, if you lower your reduction point to 70, you'd reduce only if he drops below 70.

I have not been increasing the 7% at all, just mostly feeding it after +5) and waiting to see lower number... if that is what makes the most sense.
You want to keep increasing the 7% at the pace that you'll think he'll tolerate. No point in feeding him carbs and then giving him insulin. If there is a chance he might get regulated and even go into remission with a change in diet, you want to explore that possibility.
 
Yes, if you lower your reduction point to 70, you'd reduce only if he drops below 70.


You want to keep increasing the 7% at the pace that you'll think he'll tolerate. No point in feeding him carbs and then giving him insulin. If there is a chance he might get regulated and even go into remission with a change in diet, you want to explore that possibility.


Got it. I've been nervous to do the food changes too quickly with the reduction as well. I'm ok with the idea of holding the dose and changing the food and watching for lower numbers (only decreasing under 70 like you said). Pushing into the lower numbers will get her body used to them again right?

I've got her at 25% low carb now... She's loving it. Should I go 100% and see what happens?
 
It's great that she's loving the low carb. We typically do any food transition over a week or so to avoid tummy upsets. Maybe you could go up to 50% for a couple of days and then 75% for another couple of days and then go to 100% LC.

Yes, the best way to get her body used to lower numbers is for her to spend more time in them. In cases where a cat is rushing down the dosing ladder due to a change to a low carb diet, we use larger reductions and skips to get it to the lower dose it wants to be at.
 
Will do! I'll increase to 50% LC and hold.

we use larger reductions and skips to get it to the lower dose it wants to be at.

That's really interesting! Thank you for explaining. I'll just keep posting here and we'll see where the LC food takes us with the dosing.
 
I just used a glass of warm water and it worked ok! Wish we had a microwave...

95 at +2 so I fed 14% and 7% mixed.
I’ve used a pill bottle with really warm water in it when I can’t get to the microwave (upstairs). Then I rub the ear as well and it does work.
Congratulations on the reduction! Go Tilda :cat:
 
Nice job shooting!
I see on your spreadsheet that you feed at +9 and its about 7% carb? I wonder if feeding after nadir is shortening the duration of the insulin. Do you have any food that she can eat (i see her diet is novel rx wet) which is lower than the 7% and won't upset her tummy?
 
Nice job shooting!
I see on your spreadsheet that you feed at +9 and its about 7% carb? I wonder if feeding after nadir is shortening the duration of the insulin. Do you have any food that she can eat (i see her diet is novel rx wet) which is lower than the 7% and won't upset her tummy?

Interesting! I don’t have any food lower than 7 for her… I just introduced the 7% food in the last few weeks slowly and she’s only getting 25-50% in that food at the moment. I might be able to find a freeze dried treat that’s 100% protein… I’ve been feeding her often because she was SO HUNGRY up until recently. She’s thirstier today (the 7% is dry compared to the 14%)… the food thing is so difficult!
 
The more time they spend in "normal" numbers, the less ravenous the appetite because their body is actually using the food properly.

I apologize, I didn't remember that you were transitioning food :facepalm:. Keep doing what you have been with the food change.
When you say the 7% is dry, do you mean that it's dry food as in kibble like or not as wet as the 14%?
 
The more time they spend in "normal" numbers, the less ravenous the appetite because their body is actually using the food properly.

I apologize, I didn't remember that you were transitioning food :facepalm:. Keep doing what you have been with the food change.
When you say the 7% is dry, do you mean that it's dry food as in kibble like or not as wet as the 14%?

No worries! So many variables… she’s way less hungry. I’m trying to get enough calories in her. She was always 8lbs… 12lbs in the last few years and didn’t loose any with the diabetes diagnosis.

Oops! Dry as in wet pate 7% vs very wet “stew” that is 14%. Not related, but the only bad thing about the new food is it’s higher in phosphorus. I’ll need to look at her labs but I don’t think she has high phosphorus yet (just early kidney stuff). Otherwise I’m pretty happy to have found it and she loves it. Fingers crossed!
 
Back
Top