11/17 Gary AMPS 342;+2 355;+4 364;+7 336;+9 415 - how to proceed with these high numbers

Sepi

Member
1 unit Lantis. Keytones Neg!
Feed less this morning and will try the smaller meals throughout day. Someone mentioned getting meals in before nadir, but does the nadir change daily?
 
The nadir is the low reading in the cycle? Doesn't that change a lot?
Yes. While the "typical" Lantus nadir is around +4, it can move around. For eg, in bounce clearing cycles, the nadir can be much later.

I'm trying the multiple meal path today. So would it be every 2 hr, or every 3?
You could start by feeding some food at +2 and +4 in both cycles and see how it goes.
 
I don't see the usual lantis drop around 2 hour mark today? What would that indicate? Attaching the graph off the Libre. Also will do a ReliOn reading in a little bit. This Libre keeps throwing the "please try again scan message"
 
I don't see the usual lantis drop around 2 hour mark today? What would that indicate? Attaching the graph off the Libre. Also will do a ReliOn reading in a little bit. This Libre keeps throwing the "please try again scan message"
Also, I tried to upload the graph and it says I don't have permission. Would I need to open a new thread to do that? Thx
 
I don't see the usual lantis drop around 2 hour mark today? What would that indicate?
It means he is bouncing.


Also, I tried to upload the graph and it says I don't have permission. Would I need to open a new thread to do that? Thx
Upload File doesn't work. You will need to drag and drop. No need to start a new thread. One thread a day is fine :-)
 
Should I be worried about the Bounce? Is there a number that, if it comes up, he would need medical attention? He seems fine.
Thank you!
 
Sorry to make this 911 but about to do the PM feeding and shot. With his high numbers for 24!hours doningi e same amount of food and same 1 ml?. Thank you
About to do the Relion to get a reading..how far off are the human number from cat?
 
Bounces and resulting high numbers do not change the Lantus dose. We determine the dose based on the low points, nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. The initial dose of Lantus is held for at least 5 days, possibly more, depending on what dosing method you are using. Have you decided which dosing method you'd like to follow?

Bounces are completely normal but annoying to us. Please remove the 911, this is not a medical emergency. If numbers that high had been a medical emergency, my cat would have lived at the vet in the beginning. :p. She did eventually get regulated.
 
Bounces and resulting high numbers do not change the Lantus dose. We determine the dose based on the low points, nadirs, or how low the dose takes the cat. The initial dose of Lantus is held for at least 5 days, possibly more, depending on what dosing method you are using. Have you decided which dosing method you'd like to follow?

Bounces are completely normal but annoying to us. Please remove the 911, this is not a medical emergency. If numbers that high had been a medical emergency, my cat would have lived at the vet in the beginning. :p. She did eventually get regulated.
Thank you
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

The length of time you hold a dose depends on several things, but which dosing method you choose to use is the most important. If you haven't alreadyd, read this Sticky Note and see which method would be best for your situation. Note, if there is any dry food or high carb food in the diet, you have to follow SLGS.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
 
From the New to the Group Sticky Note:


The length of time you hold a dose depends on several things, but which dosing method you choose to use is the most important. If you haven't alreadyd, read this Sticky Note and see which method would be best for your situation. Note, if there is any dry food or high carb food in the diet, you have to follow SLGS.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)
So even a low carb dry food would mean you stay in the SLGS? Currently Gary has not had any dry food or a dry treat for 5 days. My concern would be if he gets picky about food and stops doing wet, and I'm doing the TR, it would mess that up. Hmm. So many decisions.
 
You test enough for Tight regulation, so sounds like the dry is the potential issue. Dried meat treats are fine.
 
Back
Top