11/17 Mr. Lump AMPS 101 (NS)/+2 128/+4 121/+7 119/PMPS 130/+2 120/+4 118

Emma Troxell

Member Since 2021
I have been having a hard time getting my kitty's ear to bleed and this morning could not get a pre shot test so I didn't give insulin and he didnt eat either because I had run out of his regular food (he is a picky boy). My mom was able to come over and bring more food and get a BG reading for me. He was 101 (the lowest pre shot # I have gotten for him) so I decided not to shoot. He hasn't gotten his last 3 shots now and has been in high normal range. For history, he had severe pancreatitis that required a feeding tube and steroid treatment. I believe that caused his numbers to go up and since he is recovering I haven't gotten high numbers so I'm starting to think he isn't truly diabetic. What would be your next course of action here? His prescribed dose is 0.5U lantus twice a day.

yesterday's thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-16-mr-lump-amps-124-ns-118-4.255535/
 
With a 101 its fine that you skipped but he’s not yet earned a reduction. Get another test 3-4 hours after he eats. If his pancreas is working the bg will come down.
 
I am just afraid of shooting this low, especially because I have been having issues getting blood to monitor him throughout the day and I'd rather be safe than sorry
 
That is what some other members were sggesting as well - my 1/2 unit syringes should be here today so tonight I can give him 0.25U. what is the cutoff that I should not give insulin?
 
Yes. I was also thinking going down to .25 so you can shoot safely. When I said he hadn’t earned a reduction I was thinking he’s not ready to stop insulin just yet. I think it could very well happen very soon and .25 now might even turn out to be too much.
 
Depending on his PMPS I will give 0.25 tonight. I can't stay up that late to monitor so if he's too low for my comfort I might just skip. Tomorrow in the AM I can give 0.25 and be around to monitor. But under 100 no shot?
 
You're correct! Im just still so nervous about shooting when he's this low as I've had a hard time getting him to bleed and especially at night I can't really be up to monitor him.
 
You're correct! Im just still so nervous about shooting when he's this low as I've had a hard time getting him to bleed and especially at night I can't really be up to monitor him.
I understand completely, I was just letting Elise and Bhooma know that he already earned a reduction :cat:
Your mom must have the magic touch when testing him :cat:
 
Last edited:
I called my vet this morning and sent over his spreadsheet for her input. She is saying I can stop the insulin, what do you all think? It’s so hard getting different information and I’m feeling conflicted.
 
I called my vet this morning and sent over his spreadsheet for her input. She is saying I can stop the insulin, what do you all think? It’s so hard getting different information and I’m feeling conflicted.
He is still slightly above normal and a little insulin support will see him to a strong remission. We do not stop insulin cold turkey here (unless the cat gives a strong indication that it doesn't need even a drop of insulin). Mr. Lump is not there yet.

Vets tend to be extra cautious since most people do not home test. So their logic is better high than low. Their aim is also largely to keep the cat below the renal threshold and not necessarily in normal numbers.

I'm on my phone but I will later share some spreadsheets of cats that have gone into remission.
 
Thanks for the input! I will keep him on as long as he needs for the best possible outcome here :) His PMPS was 130 and I gave 0.25U - just about time for his +2! Hopefully it is not too low for my comfort because I am getting sleepy, LOL
 
Back
Top