Rick Max’s dad
Member Since 2020
Hi, My cat max was only diagnosed a few weeks ago. He had a UID and was on antibiotics for a bit which led to other issues which we have mostly resolved. I'm keen to get his BG under control before the six month period to give him the best shot at remission. After starting at 2 units dose the subsequent visit 2 weeks later led the vet to increase this to 2.5 which he is still on. The vet wanted to wait three weeks to see him again but after some research I felt this was too long to wait for adjustments and I got a glucose meter this week. I started taking readings which I've uploaded to his spreadsheet here.
These were:
11/20 Max 293 +4 326 +8 455 PMPS
11/21 Max AMPS 441 +3 434 +6 459 +9 421 PMPS 475
11/22 Max AMPS 356 +4 329
I was surprised by the readings on the 21st since they were basically flat across the day with no curve. Today is looking like it might be a little more traditional but we'll see.
I was feeding him a 1/4 can hills k/d before doses and letting him graze dry food whenever. However after reading here I've just switched him to 1/2 can before doses and about 1 cup of dry food before bed, he didn't eat last night.
Any thoughts as to why his numbers would be flat would be appreciated. After today's readings I will likely increase his dose to 3.
Thanks very much and great web site to understand this issue.
These were:
11/20 Max 293 +4 326 +8 455 PMPS
11/21 Max AMPS 441 +3 434 +6 459 +9 421 PMPS 475
11/22 Max AMPS 356 +4 329
I was surprised by the readings on the 21st since they were basically flat across the day with no curve. Today is looking like it might be a little more traditional but we'll see.
I was feeding him a 1/4 can hills k/d before doses and letting him graze dry food whenever. However after reading here I've just switched him to 1/2 can before doses and about 1 cup of dry food before bed, he didn't eat last night.
Any thoughts as to why his numbers would be flat would be appreciated. After today's readings I will likely increase his dose to 3.
Thanks very much and great web site to understand this issue.