11/22 Ivy amps 400, +3 270, +6.5 218, +8 89, pmps 273, +3.5 142, +4.75 57, +5 187 (Libre)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...16-3-75-74-4-75-57-5-5-58-6-165-libre.283809/
amps 400
Ouch with the big old red bounce :(
Wish she would give up this enormous bounce after going lower. Jeez, just enough already.
I keep wondering if there’s something else I can do to keep her from bouncing so high after a low, which just perpetuates this bounce cycle over and over. Cause then she drops so fast once she picks up speed coming down from the high bounce again…..

We saw a few hours of green on Libre sensor last night (so that’s lower mid 100s on a handheld device).
It took her until last night to get the nicer colors going on her SS after a very yellow then pink am cycle.
Hope she slides down from this red start to a nice blue and green surf today.
Well, Safe surfing to all your kitty cats. A pleasant day to all the parents. :p
I’ll be in the kitchen doing Thanksgiving prep and cooking today with my girl nearby. :)
 
Good morning Staci!
I know (and I know you know I do) the pain!
Hope Ivy slides down nicely.
I am starting my prep this afternoon for tomorrow.
We'll have a small gathering tomorrow - I am selfishly hoping a calm, even if it's a little high, PM cycle tomorrow :nailbiting:
Another dimension of holiday stress :rolleyes:
Have fun in the kitchen today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci!
I know (and I know you know I do) the pain!
Hope Ivy slides down nicely.
I am starting my prep this afternoon for tomorrow.
We'll have a small gathering tomorrow - I am selfishly hoping a calm, even if it's a little high, PM cycle tomorrow :nailbiting:
Another dimension of holiday stress :rolleyes:
Have fun in the kitchen today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know you get it, Kit. Just so frustrating to not feel like any real progress :(
And I understand your thoughts about coordinating holiday & BGs.
I’m intentionally staying home and hosting a small gathering and then my husband will go visit his extended family after dinner and I will stay home with Ivy.

Good luck with your meal prep also today, Kit. Hope Mikan has a great safe surf today as well. :bighug::bighug:
 
Come on down to some nice blue and greens Ivy. Have a nice day Staci :bighug::cat:
Hi Diane, thanks for the blue and green wishes today. She listened to you last night by the way, I think it was your picture of Ivy that worked on her, so thanks again for that.
Have a wonderful day:bighug::bighug:
 
Ooh quick 100 point dive this morning, come on Ivy, let's get to the beach!!

Have a great day Staci!
Hi Deb, she does love her hundred point dives doesn’t she? Let’s see if we can visit the beach today. That would be awesome. At least in daylight hours would be wonderful, while I have a semblance of being awake.
Hope you and Sly have a great day :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci!
I wonder if she bounces so much because you use higher carbs when she gets in blue or green. Did you try giving her LC snacks instead, as long as she is not into dangerous numbers, just to keep her flat?
I noticed that Bella goes higher if I give her MC snacks (such as your 9%), but when I stick with LC that prevents her from crashing but keeps her in greens. Just a thought :-)
 
Hi Staci!
I wonder if she bounces so much because you use higher carbs when she gets in blue or green. Did you try giving her LC snacks instead, as long as she is not into dangerous numbers, just to keep her flat?
I noticed that Bella goes higher if I give her MC snacks (such as your 9%), but when I stick with LC that prevents her from crashing but keeps her in greens. Just a thought :)
Hi Cecile, I do try to use 6% as much as possible, but when she’s going down really fast and I can see she’s dropping quickly, and I just wanna put the brakes on her a little bit that’s when I use some 9%.
My problem with her is that 6% does nothing to bring her back up, so I try to just slow her drop with 9%.
It could be what you’re saying that the 9% is playing into some of this.
She’s tricky. I know some cats with very low carb like 1 to 3% will keep them stable. Or even bring them up. But not Ivy.
(6% is the lowest food that I have, and that’s her homemade diet.)
 
What I meant was maybe try that when she is at safe levels. Even if she does not go higher, the numbers she had those last few days were safe, especially since you say they are even higher if you use the meter.
 
Nestle was a big bouncy boy too so I understand what you're going through and how frustrating it may feel. Unfortunately there isn't much you can do. Just be patient and hopefully Ivy flips that switch soon.
I sure hope so. She’s been this bounce since I’ve been watching her numbers closely, since February. :bighug::bighug:
 
What I meant was maybe try that when she is at safe levels. Even if she does not go higher, the numbers she had those last few days were safe, especially since you say they are even higher if you use the meter.
I understand. I’m always trying to keep her from bottoming out. Once I see her dripping if I don’t intervene with food, she’ll keep going down and then earn another reduction.
I’d like to try to hold her dose, so she can spend more time in lower numbers. It’s a real challenge figuring out what to do with her.
I really appreciate your guidance! I’ll try to follow what you said some more :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. I understand your frustration. Phew. It's stretching you each time anew. I send a hug. I know it might not be much but maybe a little 'you're not alone in this' :bighug:
I don't have any advice.When I look at her SS in a glance I see a significant shift in Aug then in Sep. Perhaps Ivy is more cautious as she'll learning to keep longer in lower numbers and she's putting your patience to work.
I trust that Ivy will get shorter and shorter bounces :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci. I understand your frustration. Phew. It's stretching you each time anew. I send a hug. I know it might not be much but maybe a little 'you're not alone in this' :bighug:
I don't have any advice.When I look at her SS in a glance I see a significant shift in Aug then in Sep. Perhaps Ivy is more cautious as she'll learning to keep longer in lower numbers and she's putting your patience to work.
I trust that Ivy will get shorter and shorter bounces :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for that, Shelly. I really appreciate your kind works and compassion. It means a lot to me. Sometimes just words of encouragement mean more than anything.
I keep hoping she will turn the corner and make some real progress one day. All I can do is keep at it.
Have a wonderful evening and I hope you get some good sleep. Safe surfing to sweet Fistuk! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yellow PMPS! Not pink! I hope she has a nice gentle night that maybe gives you a better AMPS (hear that Ivy - little less bouncing, please and thank you).
I think she heard you Alicia. Yep, yellow pmps.
Action now at +4.75
She’s at 50 on Libre.
Less bouncing after this lovely low, please and thank you. :bighug::bighug::rolleyes:
 
It’s so difficult with the dives. Tigster dives so quick and with the Libre being 15-20 minutes behind I feel like I’m already missing the boat.

I hope Ivy gives you a nice flat day today. Have a lovely day! :bighug::bighug:
 
It’s so difficult with the dives. Tigster dives so quick and with the Libre being 15-20 minutes behind I feel like I’m already missing the boat.

I hope Ivy gives you a nice flat day today. Have a lovely day! :bighug::bighug:
I know what you mean about the fast diving. It is rough. Thank you for the good wishes for a flat cycle. My best wish, too!
With the Libre, it’s better than having no idea she’s diving and that’s when I can blood test. If she’s very low, it usually will show that low too on the handheld meter. So at least I can react and use food if needed to bring her up.

I hope Tigster has a calm, flat cycle. Have a great day, Chris :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top