11/22 Jazzy AMPS 88 +2 101 +5 79 +9 74 PMPS 95 +3 77 +6 76

I'm not sure how much better you want Jazzy's numbers to be! You do realize your cat has been in normal range numbers for weeks., don't you?

If you're following TR, you reduce the dose after a week in normal numbers. (The protocol may be a little confusing. You want your cat below 100 overall -- not necessarily at every single test.) I would suggest giving Jazzy a snack at around +9 to see if a little bit of food helps to lower the pre-shot numbers. Looking at your SS, Jazzy if looking great!
 
I'm not sure how much better you want Jazzy's numbers to be! You do realize your cat has been in normal range numbers for weeks., don't you?

If you're following TR, you reduce the dose after a week in normal numbers. (The protocol may be a little confusing. You want your cat below 100 overall -- not necessarily at every single test.) I would suggest giving Jazzy a snack at around +9 to see if a little bit of food helps to lower the pre-shot numbers. Looking at your SS, Jazzy if looking great!
I realize his numbers are good. Looking at other Spreadsheets, I've seen numbers better. Eventually I would like to try an OTJ trial, but when I look at others numbers, they're in 50-90 range steadily. I don't know that Jazzy's numbers are low enough to handle an OTJ trial yet. Any advice?
I also see conflicting advice for the same issue. People are advised to increase dosage so they get numbers back down without waiting too long. Jazzy has been on this dose just over a month now. I was considering a decrease but then kept getting higher preshots.
I've been giving him a snack at +9 for a bit now. Sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn't. He's never really had a consistent pattern.
 
You've had Jazzy in great numbers for quite a while. I'm not sure what needs to happen with his numbers for an OTJ trial to be recommended. Do all of the preshots need to be <100 first? I don't think so. But I think usually you want to get the dose down to a drop or so first, and have that hold.
I wish you the best with whatever you decide to do with his dose. I know these decisions are not easy. :bighug:
 
usually you want to get the dose down to a drop or so first, and have that hold.
Yes, that was my original plan for the next level of reduction. Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but I understand it that all tests have to be under 100 for a week before reducing a dose. And I never get a full week. Lol. That's what I've been trying to do, but it hasn't happened yet. So from what @Sienne and Gabby (GA) has said, I should've been reducing every week for months now. Maybe I've been doing this wrong all this time, I don't know. :(
 
From the TR Protocol:

Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Note the 2nd bullet point says regularly -- not all. With the 0.1 dose, you've had nadirs in the 70s. I would have tried dropping the dose as I suggested above. If the reduction doesn't hold, increase.

If you look at some of the OTJ spreadsheets, you'll see that some cats run low and others run a little higher. It's an ECID thing.
 
From the TR Protocol:

Note the 2nd bullet point says regularly -- not all. With the 0.1 dose, you've had nadirs in the 70s. I would have tried dropping the dose as I suggested above. If the reduction doesn't hold, increase.

If you look at some of the OTJ spreadsheets, you'll see that some cats run low and others run a little higher. It's an ECID thing.
Ok. Thanks for the clarification. I was reading the "under 100 overall" as every one had to be under 100 for a week.
 
Ok. Thanks for the clarification. I was reading the "under 100 overall" as every one had to be under 100 for a week.
FWIW Cheryl, I thought the same thing when. I reduced Jax from 0.75u to 0.5u. Then the nice experienced folks told me not to sweat his couple of low 100s and try the reduction - and, in Jax's case, his reduction held for nearly a week...IDK why it didn't totally hold :p but cats will be cats - so we increased back up.
 
Back
Top