11/26 Bootsy Girl BG = 458 looking for dosing advice

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bootsy Girl, Nov 26, 2020.

  1. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Looking for help on dosing for My cat. 11 years old diagnosed with diabetes last Thursday. Her numbers climbed to 458 this morning based upon 9am test. Her insulin was increased from 1 unit to 2 units prob too fast. How long should I wait before I give her more insulin and how much should I give?
     
  2. Cinnie Cole

    Cinnie Cole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Hi Bootsy Girl - since you are new, it will be helpful if you add the photo of your recent readings so folks understand that this is high compared to what you have seen before, and that your vet is having you adjust doses more frequently than normal.

    Cinnie
     
  3. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
  4. Cinnie Cole

    Cinnie Cole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    @carfurby @Olive & Paula Can you look at this - I don't think @Bootsy Girl has any serious issue, but she is new to FD and is trying to navigate what things mean. For me 458 doesn't seem dangerously high, but the dosage that her vet has suggested seems high. Do you think she should reduce it to try to get a better baseline?
     
    Bootsy Girl likes this.
  5. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Let me look.
     
  6. Cinnie Cole

    Cinnie Cole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    She is on Lantus - she was posting in Facebook group and we encouraged moving discussion over here.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Welcome. Looks like you having bringing her to your vet for a check every few days and he’s upping her dose way too fast. Are you testing at home? What kind of meter if you are?
     
    Cinnie Cole likes this.
  8. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    This is her trends so far
    im using Alpha Trak2.
     
  9. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I deleted my comment because it wouldn't let me edit, statement was wrong.

    Numbers are NOT dangerously high. A bit wonky.

    @Bootsy Girl you need to hold the initial dose for 7 days. I think I would drop dose to 0.5 or 1 unit and keep that for 7 days. What do others think?

    Lantus is a depot insulin, it needs to build its reservoir. If your home testing you don't need to see the vet for glucose checks. If vet is raising that much that fast, it will create a dangerous situation, you need to monitor closely if that continues.

    Can you set up a spreadsheet for us? It's the only way we can see what is happening. A little bit housekeeping here. Your profile you put type of insulin, meter. Date of diagnosis, any other important info so you won't have to repeat all the time.

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/creating-a-fdmb-profile.159626/

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/understanding-the-spreadsheet-grid.156606/


    My links are not working.
     
    Cinnie Cole and tiffmaxee like this.
  10. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    She is very hungry, I cooked her some fried chicken breast and chicken liver and fed her at 9 after testing and insulin. She is begging for more food. When should I feed her again?
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The AT reads higher than human meters. Be sure to download the spreadsheet for the AT. Then plug is all the test results you have. F you need any help setting it up we have people that can get you set up in just a few minutes. Let me know.

    What are you feeding kitty?
     
    Cinnie Cole likes this.
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes, feed her. How’s her weight? If she’s too thin you need to feed her as much as she wants but pick up food 2 hours before dosing insulin so the test is not food influenced.
     
    Bootsy Girl and Cinnie Cole like this.
  13. Cinnie Cole

    Cinnie Cole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    I agree - I would drop to 1 unit and see what the numbers look like over the week.
     
    Bootsy Girl likes this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  15. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Diabetes will cause insatiable appetite until glucoses get under control. Be careful on the fried chicken. It's probably to high in carbs, fat, and depending on seasoning just not good choice.
     
    Cinnie Cole likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What dose depends on what you are feeding and possibly her weight as well as if there has been a diet change in the last week. Are you feeding any dry food?
     
  17. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Friskies or Fancy Feast pate. No gravy or sauces. Is best. Let him eat when he wants. Just no food 2 hrs prior to shot time blood test.
     
  18. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you so much. I’m going to feed her again right now.
     
  19. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    It was boiling chicken breast and then I fried it with a little butter along with the chicken liver. I thought that was okay. I’m lost, should I just give her the Tiki wet food and no extra meat? I’m trying to give her meat snacks in between her reg feedings of tiki I didn’t add any seasoning or anything
     
  20. Bootsy Girl

    Bootsy Girl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    I haven’t fed her any dry food since the diagnosis only tiki after dark chicken and duck and meat for snacks in between
     
    Cinnie Cole likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Feeding her chicken is fine. I just wouldn’t fry it although frying it will not effect the bg. Were you feeding dry before diagnosis? Eliminating that alone can help lower the bg.
     
  22. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Boiled is fine. I wouldn't fry it though.
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Even better gently bake it. Boiling removes some of the nutrients.
     

Share This Page