11/26 Fistuk AMPS 92, +3 90 , +9.25 86 PMPS 85

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
He's really looking good, but I would hold the dose another day or two - provided he doesn't drop below 50 and earn a reduction.

To think that earlier this year you were battling DKA/ ketones and high numbers and look at him now! Amazing! :woot::bighug:
 
He's really looking good, but I would hold the dose another day or two - provided he doesn't drop below 50 and earn a reduction.

To think that earlier this year you were battling DKA/ ketones and high numbers and look at him now! Amazing! :woot::bighug:
Thanks Bhooma. And a lot to your credit!!!
It brings me to tears. I was contemplating it this morning. How constantly stressed and worried I was. How Fistuk was fighting for his life, two hospitalisations for few day... how much he was in bad shape.

I was thinking the same, to hold the dose for a couple of days. Fistuk told me a few weeks ago that he's not going to get low anymore so I'm listening to him. Yesterday felt once again like he was fighting against the low.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Fistuk really is doing well :)
I saw somewhere in this forum that had how to measure up a drop, but can't remember where.
It gets tricky to draw such a tiny amount into a syringe.
But he is really moving along and I am very very happy for you, Shelly, and your sweet boy!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Fistuk really is doing well :)
I saw somewhere in this forum that had how to measure up a drop, but can't remember where.
It gets tricky to draw such a tiny amount into a syringe.
But he is really moving along and I am very very happy for you, Shelly, and your sweet boy!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit :)
I can imagine... I'll start practicing :woot:
It's been an arduous journey to get here and I'm so grateful :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think I read here somrwhere that measuring the drop is by pushing the plunger in hard while in your pen or vial and then letting go. It will pull the tiniest drop into the syringe. But someone can clarify. :cat:

Fistuk is doing SO WONDERFUL!! I just love to see how healthy he is now compared to what feels like such a short time ago. You are an incredible mom to him! :bighug:
 
Oh Shelly, it’s such a wonderful measure of success and how hard you have worked to help heal your sweet Fistuk. I’m so happy for your family. He’s doing amazing under your gentle and diligent care. It’s a pleasure watching him feel so well!
Have a wonderful Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think I read here somrwhere that measuring the drop is by pushing the plunger in hard while in your pen or vial and then letting go. It will pull the tiniest drop into the syringe. But someone can clarify. :cat:

Fistuk is doing SO WONDERFUL!! I just love to see how healthy he is now compared to what feels like such a short time ago. You are an incredible mom to him! :bighug:
Thanks, Alli :bighug::bighug:
 
To measure a drop dose, push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will drawa drop. When you insert the needle into him, push the plunger and count to ten if he will let you.
I tried that with water and it looks like it didn't draw anything :nailbiting:
 
I tried that with water and it looks like it didn't draw anything :nailbiting:
Try it again doing it with the insulin just to see if the drop come out. Push the plunger in really hard, then let it go , then push the plunger hard into the sink and see if a drop comes out. Like Bhooma when the time comes for a drop dose and you give Fistuk the injection try counting to ten when you give Fistuk the shot
 
Try it again doing it with the insulin just to see if the drop come out. Push the plunger in really hard, then let it go , then push the plunger hard into the sink and see if a drop comes out. Like Bhooma when the time comes for a drop dose and you give Fistuk the injection try counting to ten when you give Fistuk the shot
Thanks, Diane. I did try as you suggested and indeed a drop came out :joyful::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I had to practice a few times to get the drop dose. I would do it and check on a paper towel. I didn't worry to much about wasting the insulin since it really is a tiny drop.

Charlie sez come on into OTJ, the water is fine! Hope Fistuk keeps doing well with dose reductions:D
 
I had to practice a few times to get the drop dose. I would do it and check on a paper towel. I didn't worry to much about wasting the insulin since it really is a tiny drop.

Charlie sez come on into OTJ, the water is fine! Hope Fistuk keeps doing well with dose reductions:D
Thanks for the cheering up, Sarah and Charlie :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top