11/27 Ruby +9 111/PMPS 145/+2 145/+4 60/+5 73

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Katherine&Ruby, Nov 27, 2020.

  1. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Yesterday.

    Our first green AMPS! Hope the rest of the day follows suit. :D

    Re: Dosing. How do we proceed here if we stay mostly green? Do we keep her dose the same unless she prods me with a less than 50 number, or reduce when we're mostly under 100 for 7 days?

    Healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to all of you beans who love them so! :bighug::bighug::bighug:Have a beautiful day, everyone and surf safely!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  2. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Very Nice start.:D:D


    Hopefully you hold on to the dose for 7 days with numbers under 100 before reducing. She may have other thoughts who knows.

    Just keep reassesing the dose.
    If you see the nadirs creeping up you may need to go up again before coming down.
    Just let those BG numbers guide you.
     
  3. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Nice AMPS, Ruby :bighug: and you pretty much understand the reduction rules from TR:

     
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Alright Ruby congrats on your green pre shot, surf safely
    Have a good day Katherine :bighug::cat:
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  5. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I'm totally happy to let Ruby lead this dance. Just wanted to make sure I understood well the options. Thank you!
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  6. Colio

    Colio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    That's wonderful! Hope you have a really good day :D
     
  7. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +3 = 64. It’s a little low for Ruby this early in the cycle. Every day something new is happening for us that makes me nervous and then it passes and everything is fine and I’m less anxious next time. :cool: Going to make sure now that she eats some of her AM meal #2.
     
    Gill & George and Colio like this.
  8. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'd say you have onset, and insulin is kicking in (onset was probably a little earlier) she's only 30 pts lower than amps rather than 60 which was yesterdays drop. So a smoother curve.... that's good.

    good call
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  9. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Yes, you are right. I stare at these numbers all day but it's hard for me to have the emotional distance to see positive signs. Like I said, it's getting easier. I was so accustomed to drops from 400 to 150 and then back up to 400 in one day that being in low numbers is a very new and slightly disconcerting feeling. Have to trust that her liver-pancreas team will do the right thing to keep her from going too low.
     
  10. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +5.5 = 73. This was after a few mouthfuls of LC and a tablespoon of shredded turkey breast. :p A little unusual for her to have had an early nadir. It’s only happened a few times and usually at night.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  11. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +9 = 111. Was hoping for a day in the greens. :( Could it possibly have been the shredded leftover turkey breast I gave her as a treat that pushed her over 100? There should be 0 carbs in that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Ruby is looking good. It could have been the turkey breast depending on how it was cooked and if anything was added to it.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  13. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I dry brined the whole bird with salt for two days and added pepper and butter to the skin before roasting it in the oven for 2.5 hours. That's all. The part of the breast I chose to give her was not even anywhere near the skin because I figured she wouldn't like pepper and the salt would not be good for her. No sugar even came near the turkey. It's weird. Maybe I'm making a too big a deal of it? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    She could just be being a cat.
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  15. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    That is a much more likely reason!
     
  16. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +4 = 60. Quite a steep drop for Ruby. She just ate about ¼ can LC. Will test at +5 again.
     
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Be careful what you wish for! ;):p
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  18. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I need to learn to keep such thoughts to myself! :eek::rolleyes:
     
    Gill & George and Bandit's Mom like this.
  19. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    +5 = 73. Looking good, Rubes. :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  20. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    62hrs consecutive hours n blue /green. I'd say that's fantastic progress.

    I doubt the turkey was the culprit. Ruby was just being a cat, she's read the Kitt FD handbook on how to mess with her bean.:):rolleyes:
     
    Katherine&Ruby and Bandit's Mom like this.
  21. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Thank you! I am thrilled at how well Ruby has been doing. It’s like just a few days ago her body decided with the aid of the insulin to wake up and start getting better. Tonight she was running through the apartment at the speed of light and that was pure joy for me to witness.
     
    carfurby (GA) and Gill & George like this.

Share This Page