11/28 Ruby PMPS 178/+3 61/+4 49/+4.25 54/+4.75 56/+5.5 50/+6.25 58

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Another delightful blue/green day yesterday. That was fun, Ruby, let’s do it again baby girl!

Healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to all you beans who love them so. Happy Caturday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Screen Shot 2020-11-26 at 9.00.04 AM.png
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-11-26 at 9.00.04 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-11-26 at 9.00.04 AM.png
    157.6 KB · Views: 164
Last edited:
Ruby is looking good. She just has to throw in a higher blue every now and then to keep you guessing. ;)
Carla, as long as that number stays on this side of blue rather than creep into yellow, I'm fine. o_O:D It's amazing how Ruby's liver has snapped into attention after all of these months of work. Stay the course, baby. Stay the course.
 
+3 = 158.
Sure feels that way, doesn't it? 3 months is nothing!

It's been a long three months. When I was initially faced with her diagnosis, I felt so much remorse, thinking I could have paid more attention, could have taken care of her better so this would never have happened. She and her sister have been the most steadfast companions to me through some pretty dark times in my life and I needed Ruby to be around for a few more years. I'm so glad to have found this group who, on a daily basis, has taught me so much about FD and cat health generally and have given me the tools to understand and control this. I would go crazy of I were at the mercy of a vet all of the time, not knowing what was really going on because I wasn't home testing. Now I see this improvement happening day by day, hour by hour, and know that Ruby and I did this together.
 
I felt so much remorse, thinking I could have paid more attention, could have taken care of her better so this would never have happened.
Love the cartoon :) I have thought that I should have noticed what was happening earlier with Cole as it seems very obvious now. But his blood work only 2 months earlier was normal... I also find comfort that we have had 6 cats total in our family - fed them in the same way, cared for them pretty much the same. And this is the first time we've had a cat develop diabetes. So sometime stuff just happens that we can't control. You're doing a great job and be kind to yourself :bighug:
 
Another great day of surfing for Rubes. :cat:

Curious about her AMPS and how they tend to be higher. Was thinking about something you said @tiffmaxee about feeding at +9 to spur the pancreas to work and keep her preshot lower. Could it be that I’m not awake to prod her with food in the early hours of the morning, therefore her AMPS are always higher than PMPS? I’m usually trying to encourage her to eat right up to +10 in the late afternoons. Wish my microchip feeder had a timer...
 
Another great day of surfing for Rubes. :cat:

Curious about her AMPS and how they tend to be higher. Was thinking about something you said @tiffmaxee about feeding at +9 to spur the pancreas to work and keep her preshot lower. Could it be that I’m not awake to prod her with food in the early hours of the morning, therefore her AMPS are always higher than PMPS? I’m usually trying to encourage her to eat right up to +10 in the late afternoons. Wish my microchip feeder had a timer...

Don’t add a +9 yet unless she’s low at +9 and you think you might not be able to shoot. It’s too soon.
 
Yes. I understand. That strategy is for when on a lower dose and almost ready for OTJ or if they might be too low to shoot at amps or PMPS. It was floated that it might work to lower the amps but it’s not true. I think I suggested it at one point but f I did I was mistaken.
 
Yes. I understand. That strategy is for when on a lower dose and almost ready for OTJ or if they might be too low to shoot at amps or PMPS. It was floated that it might work to lower the amps but it’s not true. I think I suggested it at one point but f I did I was mistaken.
Gotcha! Now that there is no competition for her food from her sister, Ruby has become a grazer who eats a few mouthfuls at a time. I record on the spreadsheet when I put down food for her but it sits out for her to free feed until +10. I’ve noticed when I wake up in the morning though she hasn’t eaten all of what I put in her bowl before I went to bed, so I was wondering if there was a correlation.
 
Also, the last numbers to come down often are amps. What does work is feeding until nadir and the waiting until preshot unless you need to guide the curve if they fall too low. Never could do that with Max because if his chronic pancreatitis. He needed small meals. Even with him I tried to stop feeding by +7.
 
PMPS = 178. Sliding up at the ends of cycles even though her nadirs are pretty low. o_O I have a feeling it will be another fun night!
 
It does help, doesn’t it? There’s a reason why we all are data driven.
Ruby did the same exact thing last night as well as this morning, give or take a few hours difference. My DBF says, "Staring at Ruby's spreadsheet again?" every time he sees my computer screen. Now that she's stabilizing and not bouncing very much it's easier to see the patterns.
 
+4 = 49. Grabbing some HC right now.

UPDATE: Ate 1 tsp HC (28%). Testing again @ 20 minutes after +4.
 
Last edited:
+4.25 = 54. Should I feed again and then test or see if she goes up on her own? Still a little early in the cycle.

UPDATE: Trying to get her to eat but she's decided she needs to sit in the litterbox for a bit...
 
Last edited:
Do you have some LC with a higher carb%?
I don't have anything higher percentage than FF turkey in the LC department. The only thing I could entice her with was 6 Dr. Elsey's salmon kibbles (her sister eats them) with a wee teaspoon of HC gravy. That should set her higher so that maybe I can sleep. :confused:
 
Do you have anything in MC? Better to avoid dry food.
I do have some Fancy Feast MC but she walked away from it. I have to get a better/wider selection for my hypo kit. The kibble with gravy was the best I could do. She ate quite a lot earlier in the evening before I knew for sure that she would be dropping like a rock.
 
Back
Top