Roberta and Chloe
Member Since 2020
I posted in the main forum. I've never seen her jump so drastically.
I shot this morning when I saw 'HI". She seemed to be hungry and thirsty. She pooped and peed, but I didn't catch it for ketones.Hi Roberta,
here's the link in the main forum https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-30-chloes-biggest-jump-ever.239340/
I nearly had a coronary when I saw the ss, it shows the 35 in the pmps window then 1u dose, it doesn't reflect that you waited to see the 164 before shooting. You need to amend that you can stack all the numbers in the pmps column 35@+12 82@+13 pmps 164 (the note in the comments that pmps was at +15hrs)
Did you shoot this morning 12 hours after you shot last night? or did you shoot after
35 is absolutely not shootable, but with the DKA history, I'm not sure I would like to with hold insulin altogether. In the end waiting for the numbers to rise and shooting was possibly a better option.No shot tonight but you will have to get Chloe up over 50 and keep her there.
What did you shoot and how many hours after shot time last night was that?I shot this morning when I saw 'HI"
link to previous lantus post please remember to include the link to your previous post in every new daily condo, it helps us to look back through history and see what advice has been given
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2689753/
35 is absolutely not shootable, but with the DKA history, I'm not sure I would like to with hold insulin altogether. In the end waiting for the numbers to rise and shooting was possibly a better option.
What did you shoot and how many hours after shot time last night was that?
Did you shoot the full 1unit last night?
Don't worry about that at them moment we can fix that up for you.I screwed up my SS
That's what I did. I waited until she reached 164. It was +9 until I gave her her morning shot today when she was at HI.In the end waiting for the numbers to rise and shooting was possibly a better option.
I know, but can you tell me how many hours after amps that was and please also tell me how many hours after last nights shot was that HI this morning/which you shot. It's really important to know that. And can you confirm it was 1 u you shot on both occasions please.That's what I did. I waited until she reached 163.
Last night:Don't worry about that at them moment we can fix that up for you.
Just tell me what was the sequence of events.
35 @+12 you quite rightly stalled, waited for the rise and then shot 164 at what time was that? (hours after amps)
Then this morning HI, how many hours after your pm shot?
What time do you want to shoot?She seemed to be doing well on 1 unit until yesterday. I know there was one evening when I forgot to dose her at her regular time and started doing her PMPS at around 9:00 pm. Then I was trying to gradually put it back at its regular time, which was 7:00 pm. That's been hard since she's been eating her dinner at 5:30 pm. So I've been off schedule the past 4 days. I'd like to get her back on schedule before changing the dose and also trying to get a ketone test.
I would like to get her back to 6:30 AMPS, breakfast, then 7:00 shot. I guess 6:30 PMPS and 7pm shot. But Chloe and the other cats are bugging me to feed them at 5:30 pm. With 4 cats crying and getting underfoot, it's hard to get them to wait until 6:30 pm.What time do you want to shoot?
She's had some alright amps and pmps numbers, but with lantus, we need to look at the nadirs to assess how well a kitty is doing on the dose, that is what we base our dosing decisions on, 'the lowest number in the cycle' by and large we ignore the highs.he seemed to be doing well on 1 unit until yesterday.
Any reason you are waiting 30minutes before shooting, essentially with lantus, unlike the faster accting insulins you would test feed shoot all within 10min. I would test George, put his bowl down and give him his shot while he had his head in the bowl. Lantus doesn't onset until +2 so there is no need to wait 30min between amps and shot, infact it is preferable to do it all in the space of 10min.I would like to get her back to 6:30 AMPS, breakfast, then 7:00 shot.
do you think you can test feed shoot within 10min or so?I'll set alarms on my phone for 7/7. The days are getting shorter and Arizona does not have daylight savings time.
I have to figure out a way to keep all the cats from bugging me for dinner at 5:30 pm. I'll have to delay my own dinner until 7:00 because they won't let me eat until I feed them first. Maybe I can have my dinner earlier, at 3:00 pm instead of lunch. Usually they are all sleeping at that time and sometimes I am, too. I think I need to get myself on a schedule to get Chloe on a schedule. l've been in my pajamas for about 2 days now. Also, Stray hasn't been coming until about 7 am when the sun comes up. He used to wake me up by yowling beneath my window, but he hasn't done that for a long time, I think because it's been cold, so he waits for the sun to come up. Do you think it would be okay to go on a sunrise/sunset schedule for Chloe?do you think you can test feed shoot within 10min or so?
I feel your pain. We have four in the house, and it's a bit like that here at times. And with the shorter days, they think dinner is due earlier, I've just about got them all to adjust their internal rolexI have to figure out a way to keep all the cats from bugging me for dinner at 5:30 pm.
She's still at HI at 8:00 am.Are you home?
Did you get a +1?
According to mr google it's 8am there now, so over an hour since you shot. If you shot at 6.20
She's still at HI at 8:00 am.
Good job getting the test.
How is she in herself?
How are 5 the p's
does she seem herself? Is she lethargic? Is her appy good?
- peeing?
- pooping?
- preening?
- purring?
- Playing?
Give her a couple of hours and get another test? (we don't want any surprisest)
She's might have one heck of a bounce on from that 35 last night, she might have even been lower??? Did you notice any other strange behavior last night, other than she was insistent bugging you for food? George would get very bossy about food if he dropped into lime greens he would come let me know straight away. Wouldn't move away from his bowl until he was above 50.
Do you just feed her twice a day?
I would definitely do the LB dance and try get a ketone test in.
She just pooped. I put a bowl of fresh water down in front of her and she's drinking a lot. As soon as I finish making the bed, I'll get another test and then we'll take a nap.
Darn it, Chloe, come down from the moon.
That's one heck of a bounce.
Is she eating?
Did you get a result from the ketone test even if it was mucky?
I think that is a good idea.2:00 pm. She's still HI. She ate a little earlier but I'm more concerned about getting water into her. I'm going to email the vet.
I think that is a good idea.
Getting water in her is important. Though food is also important, with respect to DKA, a combination of not enough food, not enough insulin, + illness or other stress are the ingredients that lead to ketones and if action is not taken, DKA.
The water can help to flush out ketones..
It's good she ate a little, but I just wonder if she has something else going on.
She's gone down to 502!Roberta, I'm very glad Gill @Gill & George was here, she has given you some excellent suggestions and help. I also am concerned seeing that 35 and wonder how low she was before that test. Was Chloe able to eat a little during the day?
I always got into the habit of drawing out a little extra insulin, then I actually use the light from the fridge as a back drop; I stand with the fridge door open, and squirt out the excess and can see very clearly to the lines because the light in the fridge helps me see.
It may be Chloe is bouncing badly, but I wanted to just caution you that we don't know for certain whether she did get 1u this morning, so giving more insulin this early may be an issue again, just as the time interval from last night's shot to this morning's was early as well. Please do try and test a few times tonight, at least before you go to bed, just to be sure she is not dropping significantly.
couldn't leave her at HI all day so I'm glad I followed my vet's advice. Thank you for the tip about drawing from the syringe using the fridge light. I'll try that. I think I was just too panicked this morning before my coffee. I will wait until she goes below 200 to give her the other .5 unit, then go back to her 7/7 schedule tomorrow at this reduced dosage.Roberta, I'm very glad Gill @Gill & George was here, she has given you some excellent suggestions and help. I also am concerned seeing that 35 and wonder how low she was before that test. Was Chloe able to eat a little during the day?
I always got into the habit of drawing out a little extra insulin, then I actually use the light from the fridge as a back drop; I stand with the fridge door .open, and squirt out the excess and can see very clearly to the lines because the light in the fridge helps me see.
It may be Chloe is bouncing badly, but I wanted to just caution you that we don't know for certain whether she did get 1u this morning, so giving more insulin this early may be an issue again, just as the time interval from last night's shot to this morning's was early as well. Please do try and test a few times tonight, at least before you go to bed, just to be sure she is not dropping significantly.
My vet knows what she is doing. I'm giving the other .5 at her regular time at 7:00 and I will test her at least twice tonight before bed. I am very suspicious that her morning dose contained no insulin in the syringe. I don't know why the pens do this and as soon as Covid ends, I'm putting her back on the vial.There is a considerable danger with giving 2 shots of Lantus (i.e. splitting doses) in a single cycle.. You end up with 2 nadirs which will cause problems with overlap tonight (in other words numbers could tank for a long time) as well as with extended duration tomorrow. In addition, the 1.0u dose dropped Chloe to 35 and if I'm understanding, when your dose, given the low numbers should be 0.75u.
The information your vet is giving you to give an extra 0.5u is not appropriate for a depot insulin. It's the way a shorter acting insulin is used. You can't "shoot down" high numbers with a depot insulin. It's just not the way the insulin is designed to work and can cause all kinds of you're planning on dosing a total of 1.5ucomplications.
I understand this, but I waited for 7 hours and she didn't go down. That's enough. My vet said to give her a half dose and she started coming down. I almost took her to the emergency room. Besides, I thought she has to be regulated before you can change a dose.depot insulin
Her regular dose is one unit and I'm not changing it until she's flat for a couple days.you're planning on dosing a total of 1.5u when your dose, given the low numbers should be 0.75u.
Why?I’m frightened for Chloe
I am pretty sure there was no insulin in the syringe this morning. I'm not a morning person.Roberta, we cross posted. Please, do not give her more insulin before you go to bed. That is not how Lantus works. You don't split the dose, then give some more a few hours later. You will need to ride this cycle out without more insulin. Then shoot 0.75u tomorrow at your usual time. This is very important Roberta, even your vet would not suggest doing what you are planning.
Please do.I will test her at least twice tonight before bed.