11/4 Esmeralda's AMPS 395, +4 232, +6 64

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Danette & Esmeralda (Essi), Nov 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Good Morning Guys,
    With such low numbers yesterday afternoon/evening, I did NOT do a PM U. Do you think I need to decrease her dose back down to 1.5. Im thinking her low numbers were due to NO more dry food, so I dont have to give her as much? your thoughts please....
     
  2. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Okay guys do I need to be concerned here? we are only 1/2 way thru the day, and she is hitting low numbers?
     
  3. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    K, HELP HERE, +6.25/53
     
  4. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Hey there - you're still ok - don't panic. Do you have some higher carb canned food around? You might want to give her a little (maybe a tsp) gravy... but she may be near her nadir (typically around +6, but ECID) which means her numbers will probably start going up on their own soon...
     
  5. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Agree with Krys, maybe even just a small bit of LC to bump the number up just a bit. 53 is getting a bit low. Just give her a small little bit, like a tsp, to eat and see if that bumps up her number. Test again 15 minutes after she eats.
     
  6. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
  7. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    you're doing fine!
    feed another teaspoon of lc and retest in 15 minutes. k?
     
  8. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Are you giving her any wet food? Please update us.

    You're doing fine - 50 isn't super low and even though it looks like she's still dropping, it could just be a variance in meter readings (50 and 55 are basically the same thing)...

    I remember the first time my baby hit the 30s... I cried... The second time, I called my BF laughing and THRILLED because I was confident about how to manage her with food and testing...

    Take a deep breath.
     
  9. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I dont want to give her the high carb yet, just want someone to tell me now to panic
    she isnt dropping as fast now, will test in :45 after the hr.
     
  10. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Im keep mumbling to myself "Im killing her"
     
  11. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Can't advise on dosing but, if you don't want to give HC because you think she's near her nadir, then you best test every 15 until you start to see her rising!!
    Don't panic...you're doing fine. You're NOT killing her!!!! We've gotten down into the 30's...just test...it is your friend and so is food if you need it.
     
  12. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    This is the LONGEST 15 min >>>>>>>>
     
  13. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    don't panic. :D
    feed a teaspoon of lc and retest 15 minutes after getting that 50.
    you're not alone. lots of eyes here...
     
  14. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    No - actually, you are saving her... These are actually good numbers - when you can sustain greens like these, you'll be giving her pancreas a chance to heal!!!!

    Be aware, you will likely end up with a bounce after this - it's a pretty big drop from the high 300s to the 50s...

    But you're doing fine.
     
  15. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    i can't offer advice, but I can offer support! keep hanging in their and BREATHE! You have good support guiding you!!
     
  16. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Absolutely!!! I know...been there. Just remember...you need to get rising numbers and don't stop testing until you do but if you start to get a higher number that is not a food spike, then you are probably ok to go to every 30 mins...whatever she'll let you do. Our first time down, we kept testing every 15 until she was higher.
     
  17. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Gosh I even reduced her dose this morning - What is nadir? I need a stiff drink
     
  18. Barb and Tori

    Barb and Tori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It's OK. You're doing what you need to do. Deep breath. You're getting wonderful advise here.
     
  19. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Nadir is when the insulin peaks in their system - and when their numbers are at their lowest, before they start rising. With Lantus, it's "typically" around +6, but can vary, even from day to day.
     
  20. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    OMGoodness, that would be great if it is her nadir. Cant take this, going to test, its 3min early. But dont care
     
  21. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    What they have told me is that you don't see an immediate effect from the dose change...so you might still be seeing an effect from the higher dose due to her shed but best to ask one of the advisors the specifics on that. Where is she now?
     
  22. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    you're seeing leftover action from the 2u "shed"/insulin depot. "nadir" is when the action of the insulin is reaching it's peak. peak meaning, the numbers are the lowest. when she bounces from this, you'll have time to review the stickies. links to "nadir" and much more are in those stickies. :mrgreen:

    lol! later.
     
  23. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    its 44 Im going to give her a teaspoon
     
  24. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    What are you feeding her - do you know the carb %?

    Take a look at how she's acting. With my girl, I typically would be running around, heart pounding and she'd be looking at me like she wondered what the fuss was all about.
     
  25. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    time to break out the hc. feed a teaspoon and retest in 15 minutes, please...
     
  26. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    she ate a lil bit of it, not the whole thing
     
  27. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    What are you feeding her? If you have something with gravy - all she needs to do is lick some gravy - that's where most of the carbs are.
     
  28. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    then squeeze a little of the gravy out of the hc and see if she'll lick it.
    let me know what she does...
     
  29. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Fancy Feast grilled ckn feast in gravy, she licked the gravy, well most of it
     
  30. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    good!
    retest in 15 minutes, please.
    you're doing great!
     
  31. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Jill's here :mrgreen:

    I'm just going to tell you, you are doing great! Keep it up, once she starts rising, then break out the chocolate/wine for yourself ;-)
     
  32. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
  33. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    we'll be waiting...
     
  34. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Fancy Feast grilled ckn feast in gravy is about 18% carbs - which should be plenty... Good job on getting her to lick the gravy.

    Once she starts rising, remember to keep testing about every 30 min till you're sure.
     
  35. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
  36. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Ok - try another tsp gravy and retest in 15 min... It's the "lather, rinse, repeat" approach... Keep this up and she will start rising eventually!
     
  37. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
  38. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    She's stubborn!!! You got Jill on board so that's all you need!!! Good luck..will keep watching just to see when she comes up.
     
  39. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    let her lick a little more gravy, k?
    retest in 15 minutes.
    in 15 minutes, if she dropped into the 30s, let her lick a little karo mixed with the gravy OR apply some to her gums.
    then post and let us know what's going on.

    we'll be here...
     
  40. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    she licked the gravy off my finger, while Im dying here, last night she had low numbers also, do you think its the Xobaline? or is it the NON dry food?
     
  41. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Maple Syrup is good to right?
     
  42. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    my money's on the dry food having been removed from her diet...


    maple syrup is FINE.
     
  43. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    also, while we are waiting and im dying slowly here, her eyes are very clear, she taking a bath
     
  44. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    good for her!
    you're doing a great job with her...
     
  45. Karrie and Maverick

    Karrie and Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    I'm a newbie and following along closely. You are in good hands.
     
  46. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I keep hearing the vet saying "Now Danette keep her between 200-400...
     
  47. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ugh. yes, many of us have heard the same...
     
  48. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    49, thank you EVERYONE, this is good right?
     
  49. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    When you get through this...and you are doing wonderful....here's Sienne's great post on low numbers:

    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28888
     
  50. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    this is very good. however, let's get her bumped up into the 60s.
    see if she'll eat a bit of hc. if she won't, try having her lick hc gravy. if that doesn't work, try feeding her some lc.
    retest in 15 minutes.

    let me know what she ends up eating/licking, k?
     
  51. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Marjorie, I couldnt help but PANIC, I read it this morning, and re-read it a bit ago. But I promise I will get better...
     
  52. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I just need to drink more often... This has been so raw on my feelings, as Im sure you guys have gone thru this toooo, OH THE TEARS.
     
  53. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
    I can only imagine!!
    I know I want to drink more sometimes too, but the catch is I don't want to drink too much incase Mowgli needs me!

    But I know this, YOU HAVE EARNED YOUR TREAT once your through this!
     
  54. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    (((((danette)))))
    yep, it's scary until you get used to lower numbers. the first time alex dropped to 70 i was shaking.
    the thing is, these are normal numbers. we want our kitties to be cruising these numbers... without the big drops! :D
     
  55. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I know it's scary, but you are doing GREAT!! Keep it up and keep Jill posted as to what Esmeralda's eating and how much.

    :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
     
  56. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    66, ok, she is lookin at me like "my mom has gone mad" first she is pokin me all the time, now she is kissing me all over LOL
     
  57. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Better :smile:
     
  58. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    See - you're doing fine... And once you realize you can steer her numbers with food and testing, you should feel more confident if her numbers start to go low again.

    Hopefully you were at her nadir and the numbers will be rising from here. Look on the bright side - she's fine, grooming away as if nothing special is going on and she had the grace to wait till +6 to throw this at you. Imagine how long an evening you'd be looking at if this were +2!
     
  59. Mowgli and Keri

    Mowgli and Keri Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    awww i love our kitties!!! they are so genuine with their looks!
     
  60. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    nice! good job, mom!
    now you'll want to make sure she surfs from here. if it were me, i'd retest in 30 minutes...
     
  61. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Kryskat,

    I had that last night, I havnt stay'd up past 10pm (Pacific Time) in ages. I didnt even shoot her last night cause her numbers dropped also. So I dropped her U this morning, and Im still getting low numbers, DOES that mean she is still getting to much?
     
  62. mybuddybinks

    mybuddybinks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    look at you go! nice work...you got the wise ones guiding you, and you're doing it like a pro!
     
  63. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    yes, Im going to test her in 30min. Thank you so much guys, would you suggest dropping her U? (I dropped it from yesterday 2.0 to 1.5 this morning)?

    And I took off the 911, thank you soooooo much guys, if you guys were here Id buy a round :smile:
     
  64. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    since you removed all dry from her diet yesterday, i would be inclined to drop the dose to 1u bid. she can always be fast tracked back up the dosing scale if needed.
     
  65. kryskat

    kryskat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Listen to Jill - she knows of what she speaks!

    She could still be having shed action from her 2 unit dose, but better to play it safe and go with 1 unit and then inch up if need be...
     
  66. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Jill,
    Thank you so much, I couldnt thank you guys enough, Laurie last night, and you guys today.... I do agree, I will drop her tonight to 1.0, and will re-test at the top of the hr. I wont keep you, Im sure there is oooodles of newbies like myself who needs your expertise, wisdom, and calming effects. May the rest of your day be a WONDERFULL ONE. Im forever in your debt guys.
     
  67. Jen and Oreo (GA)

    Jen and Oreo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Great Job!!

    :thumbup cat_pet_icon
     
  68. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Above post goes out to Jill & Alex, Kryskat, mybuddybinks, Mowgli and Keri, Marjorie & Gracie, Jen, and Laurie . And thank you Klkelly for the kind newbie words, I feel so silly sometimes, I feel like I will always be a newbie.
     
  69. Frip&Grip

    Frip&Grip Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Danette... Glad to see that 911 off... Ouf.. now you can breathe... cat_pet_icon I remember when Frip hit below 50 the first time (not so long ago!!)... He was probably thinking I was crazy.. Poor baby never seen so much HC food in ½ hour!!!

    Aren't we a strange gang, we give our kitties Lantus to drop the BG than feed HC to bring them back up!!!
     
  70. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    krys is right. we could very well (we probably are) seeing some leftover action here from the 2u shed. the thing is, we may see even better results from the dry having been removed from her diet over the next couple of days.

    let's keep an eye on things over the next few cycles.
    if she needs more insulin, you won't have to wait 6 cycles before taking the dose back up.

    nice work, danette!!!
     
  71. Barb and Tori

    Barb and Tori Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well that's quite the afternoon you've had. I'm sure you're exhausted. You're doing fine though. You really are. It will get easier. I promise you it will. I love how our kitties look at us as if we're crazy when we get into a panic over a number, be it high or low. They don't give a hoot about a number - just about how they feel. They can't understand what all the fuss is about. Lord bless them. You've earned a treat tonight make sure you take the time to have one.
     
  72. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Danette...just checking in to see where Esmeralda is now. Hope she's back up some...are you ok?? :lol:
     
  73. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hoping you enjoyed an adult beverage or two after this :cool:

    MJ&Donovan
     
  74. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Just wanted to check in and say you did a great job today Danette.
    I have been here 2 years and I still learn new things all the time so don't you feel silly....you are learning and there is a lot to learn. :mrgreen:
     
  75. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Ok guys, she was good at 70, and I left, to pick up my husband, car problems, I come back she is at 42. I tried Gravy & Chicken, wont eat, i gave her some maple syrup. What is driving her numbers soooo low?
     
  76. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Great job today, Danette. Good luck with the dosecrease!
     
  77. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I know what to do, but she wont eat, I have givien her Maple Syprup, via her mouth. She looks good thought, her eyes are clear, and she is really pissed at me for poken her ear AGAIN.
     
  78. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ooooh, pretty kitty!!!

    What a day you have had today. Good luck with the reduction to 1u! It looks like removing dry food may be doing wonders for Esmeralda. :mrgreen:

    Just saw your post - how many hours has it been since you shot? Probably the spike from the high carb food you fed early is wearing off. How about giving her a tsp of high carb gravy and testing in 15 minutes...

    eta: ok, I see you gave syrup, good. Please test again soon.
     
  79. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Are you at +10.5 now? What + number are you at?
    Do you have any other flavors of HC that you can try?
     
  80. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I will re test at 45 after the hr. OMG I feel horrible for leaving for an hr to get my husband. its at +10.5 hours since her last u? Yah 10.5. Im thinking of not giving her evening again.
     
  81. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I kind of agree with you about skipping the shot tonight, and I think you might be reducing the dose, too. But, I'll leave that up to those more experienced in giving dosing advise. Wow, what a day you've had!
     
  82. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    we'll be here.

    Don't worry, she's not in danger, she's just "surfing" lower than your comfort zone. We don't encourage them to spend a lot of time in the 40's, but they're cats, sometimes they do it anyway. We're here with you, and you are totally in control of these numbers.
     
  83. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I know I was geared up for 1.0 tonight (PACIFIC TIME) 7pm, 1.0u, BUT know way now. Im going to retest
     
  84. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    let's wait and see about tonight's dose. Part of the decision will hinge on how long it takes for her to come back up.
     
  85. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    okay, she is at 71, oh my this will be at 10.75 hrs since her last U, doesnt look like she is getting another one tonight
     
  86. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Libby & Lucy,
    Its taken maple syrup to get back up from 40 to 72
     
  87. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    good, but the 71 is the syrup talking so please test again in another 30 minutes.
     
  88. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Iam home and staying home, testing in 15min. I feel horrible leaving for 1 hr, when her numbers were gooood. But she looks real good, her eyes are clear, and she is pissed that Iam poken her ear AGAIN.
     
  89. Sonia & Tom (GA)

    Sonia & Tom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Good job there! I remember the panic, the shaking, the quick dose lowering when dry removed. And Tom feeling good and wondering what all the fuss was about but hey, Mommy is spoon feeding me food with gravy! Cool!
    Good times. :D
     
  90. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    are you giving treats after her tests? A tiny bit of chicken can go a long way toward getting her to accept testing.
     
  91. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    I dont do treats, OMY do I shower her w/love. she looks at me like "whats all the fuss mom". "what the hell mom", test in 2 min
     
  92. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Omy do we cuddle, I dont go to bed w/o Ess, my husband is like "what the hell". she is my baby. We go together every were.
     
  93. Jenny and Sue

    Jenny and Sue Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    I just want you to know that I completely understand what you are going through...no sleep, tears, worries, raw emotions! I was there just a few short weeks ago! Look at Sue's SS on 10/13/10. I cut the dry food and didn't cut the dose (was on PZI then)(cut the dry food against ex-vet's orders). I almost died when he dropped to the greens. He was fine. I was not fine! After a while, you will not freak out. Remember to watch your cat and let his/her behavior guide you and test every 15-20 minutes and keep offering food! You did a great job! It will get easier!!!!!

    GOOD LUCK!!!!

    Jenny
     
  94. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    she is at 49 +11.0
     
  95. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    sill not give Esmeralda her PM and test every 30min. until i can see her numbers climb w/o carbs/surgars. Its going to be a night. Will give her 1.0 my time (pacific) 7am.
     
  96. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    will she eat anything? A little food should help keep her from dropping any more. Whatever she's interested in eating is ok, even if it's the gravy food.
     
  97. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's 22 points in 15 minutes. From 71 at +10.75 to 49 at +11. Please give her some more gravy, or syrup.
     
  98. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    She loves tuna, human adult kind, i gave her maple syrup 15 min ago, on her gums, well on the roof of her mouth; re=testing now.
     
  99. Jenny and Sue

    Jenny and Sue Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Do you have a Trader Joe's? They sell tuna for cats and it's irresistible!!!
     
  100. Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

    Danette & Esmeralda (Essi) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page