11/5 Disco AMPS 258/+1.5 282/+4 338/+10 191/PMPS 133/+3 135/+6 273

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Last Condo Sunday 10/18: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-2-75-74-3-25-83-3-75-94.237095/#post-2661148

Biggest lapse in posting here ever! I think until Disco had his dental cleaning yesterday, I was overly anxious and just couldn't settle to write anything. Really, I even was sadly imagining if there was anyone who lived close by that could use his Lantus if he didn't make it through anesthesia...

But he did just fine and as bad as his breath was, which had me concerned about resorptive lesions and extractions, he didn't have any extractions and x-rays didn't indicate any problems either and he did well with anesthesia and his BG's. The vet followed the AVMA diabetic anesthesia protocol and his BG's while he was there were good. They tested him with AlphaTrak 3 times, pre-op 70 (45), intra-op 203 (132), post-op 190 (124) and they did administer IV fluids with dextrose added, too. Now I have to be diligent about brushing his teeth 3 x a week!

Disco has been on the 3.5 u dose since 10/18 now, but has had enough blues and greens that I don't think I am supposed to increase, but then again, I may be picking out the wrong pertinent info in @Wendy&Neko's advice: “After 6 cycles the depot is gone...wait 6 cycles after green to ensure bounce clearing and if not more green in that time...increase.”

He's had good numbers except when I did a 'NoFurNo' shot when he was in the car tent while I was having dinner at my mom's and I didn't have him positioned well but shot anyway and my headlamp showed me a drop of insulin on his skin (which I would have missed if he had fur) so I didn't shoot that night (on 10/30).

And on 10/25 I forgot my ReliOn monitor at my mom's so used the AlphaTrak2 for a cycle and found a FDMB conversion info condo and that helped me. I found the numbers to be pretty spot-on, for example AlphaTrak2 = 136, ReliOn 88. I also did both the ReliOn and AlphaTrak2 testing on the morning of the dental procedure as I figured that the vet would be using an AlphaTrak and they appreciated that info.

I've been enjoying the nice Autumn weather, gardening and pruning and suckin' leaves up already, and I know the cat's days of being able to spend time out on the patio in their condo is coming to an end, but I sure have some fun summer outing memories with them and look forward to more in 2021! I did get some snowshoes, but since the closest snow zone is over an hour away, I am not sure if I will venture out with the cats in the snow, but I might if just to snowshoe with one of them in the backpack!

Attached are a few photos of Disco and I out for a hike at Limpy Creek Botanical Trail a couple of weeks ago!
 

Attachments

  • 0F69D55A-8FCD-412E-8B1C-CEF0B7FC32B1.jpeg
    0F69D55A-8FCD-412E-8B1C-CEF0B7FC32B1.jpeg
    90 KB · Views: 112
  • EDD118A6-4E61-40ED-9AEB-AA169060F6BD.jpeg
    EDD118A6-4E61-40ED-9AEB-AA169060F6BD.jpeg
    117.9 KB · Views: 107
  • 963C77CD-A584-43C9-B64F-431372C169A5.jpeg
    963C77CD-A584-43C9-B64F-431372C169A5.jpeg
    125.9 KB · Views: 104
Hi Teri - missed you and diving Disco. I see he's also officially become a long term diabetic, over 1 year since Dx. Looking back, I'm sure you see how much better he is now than then.

Glad to see the dental is over and things went smoothly. Nice AMBG before a dental. :rolleyes: I hope his breath is better now.

As for dosing, you might want to highlight that 45 yesterday - I think that makes 2 out of 3 times between 40 and 49 on this dose. Did you shoot a 45 on the 25th? Shooting under 50 is not something even the more experienced people will do.

The dose question is a tricky one. I'd be sorely tempted to increase. With TR, the goal really is to get to a place where he's regulated and there are too many over 200's for my taste on this dose. The increase might be only for a short period of time so you'd have to monitor closely. Which you do.
so used the AlphaTrak2 for a cycle and found a FDMB conversion info condo and that helped me.
There is no conversion between AT and human meter. Other than we've said below 68 is the "take action" number on the AT and earns a reduction if on TR.
 
Hi Teri - missed you and diving Disco. I see he's also officially become a long term diabetic, over 1 year since Dx. Looking back, I'm sure you see how much better he is now than then.

Glad to see the dental is over and things went smoothly. Nice AMBG before a dental. :rolleyes: I hope his breath is better now.

As for dosing, you might want to highlight that 45 yesterday - I think that makes 2 out of 3 times between 40 and 49 on this dose. Did you shoot a 45 on the 25th? Shooting under 50 is not something even the more experienced people will do.

The dose question is a tricky one. I'd be sorely tempted to increase. With TR, the goal really is to get to a place where he's regulated and there are too many over 200's for my taste on this dose. The increase might be only for a short period of time so you'd have to monitor closely. Which you do.

There is no conversion between AT and human meter. Other than we've said below 68 is the "take action" number on the AT and earns a reduction if on TR.

Thank you! You must think I am untrainable!! yes, I did shoot the 45! It’s now written on the Lantus pen and the box of syringes, on the fridge, and on the monitor now, too!

I made the same error on 10/1 and thought that would be etched in my brain when @Christie & Maverick left a comment/advice!

I will increase him in the morning to 3.75 and yes, his breath is much better!
 

Attachments

  • 67EC9A98-C5A3-4378-A2C5-8E935A746D43.jpeg
    67EC9A98-C5A3-4378-A2C5-8E935A746D43.jpeg
    41.9 KB · Views: 97
Last edited:
Last edited:
Back
Top