11/6 - GIDEON BLUE - AMPS=334, , +4=96, +5=96, +6=102, +7=136, +10=102, PMPS=67, +3=110

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-162-10-183-pmps-163-105-5-134-10-344.238119/

Not sure if Gideon Blue went very low last night, because he has bounced into the PINK this morning..:-( At +5 last night/early this morning he was 134. I fed 1 TBSP of 15% carb to get him through the night. I thought I had set my alarm to test again at +8, but it never went off. I awoke at +10, and did a quick test and he was 344. Then at his normal test this morning he was 334. It was so nice with him surfing in the BLUES. I hope we can get back there again.
 
Probably not lower last night, looks to me like he had an early nadir, so the 15% carbs likely put the brakes on duration for the rest of the cycle. It is a bit of an experiment, you want to feed just enough carbs to keep the surf going. Maybe try some higher LC next time, I like to have some food in the 6-10% range for such instances.
 
Yes, perhaps the 15% was too high in carbs, but I really needed some sleep. We have food from 0% - 20% carb (and a few even higher), and everything in between. Each can is marked with the carbs and phosphorus level. We normally feed 0-9%, except when a bump is necessary.

Thanks for your reply, and have a great day!
 
I am really concerned about shooting at 69. I work tonight, so I will test at +1 and +2. Husband will test at +3. Son will test at +5, and husband will test at +7 or +8.
I am going to retest in 5 more mins to see if he is any lower. Then I am going to feed 15% to bump him up a bit.
Is there anything else I should be doing it not doing?
 
Sorry for the 911, but because Gideon is 67 at PMPS, I am going to not give Lantus, correct? He now gets a reduction from 2.4 units to 2.2 in the AM??
 
Even if I didn't have to work, I thought 68 was the cut off to give insulin. I actually tested him 15 mins early, then when I saw the 69, I tested him 15 mins later, which is on time, and he was 67. So, since he is not getting insulin, he shouldn't go any lower, since his last dose was 12 hrs ago. Should I still have husband and son test? I just fed 11% carb food, but will feed lc tonight.
Thank you so much!
 
If you didn't have to work, and had not fed, you could have stalled to see if his number came up and then maybe given insulin.

He can still drop because of the depot. I would still have your DH and son test.
 
If you didn't have to work, and had not fed, you could have stalled to see if his number came up and then maybe given insulin.

He can still drop because of the depot. I would still have your DH and son test.
OK. They will test Gideon tonight. Thanks again!

Gideon did eat at +10 when I picked the food up, and he still managed to drop to 67!
 
Sometimes they pick the worst times to tell you they want a reduction, he did have an interesting cycle today, that's a bit more than a Lantus double dip. Any chance you can add some notes in the remarks about what % carb you feed and when?

Good luck with the decrease.
 
Sometimes they pick the worst times to tell you they want a reduction, he did have an interesting cycle today, that's a bit more than a Lantus double dip. Any chance you can add some notes in the remarks about what % carb you feed and when?

Good luck with the decrease.
Tomorrow, I will try to make notes regarding what he was fed, but it was between 5-9% carb. I have closed the spreadsheet for the night and have no access to it at my night job. Gideon can eat anytime up until 2 hrs before insulin. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Gideon loves to do this on your work nights. We need to have a serious talk with him.

He’s actually earned a reduction with that 67.
 
Back
Top