? 11/7 Abby AMPS 229 / + 2 238 / +4 233 / +6 173 Different AM/PM shots?

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-205-2-131-3-98-4-117.238097/#post-2673493

Hi, all - I remain confused on Abby's dosage so I was wondering if its possible to shoot different amounts in AM and PM. Her PM numbers make it look like .25U is the right dosage; however, her AM numbers sometimes look like she should be up at .5U. Is it possible to shoot .5 in the morning and .25 in the evening? I feel like we've been in this holding pattern of not clear dosing changes due to inconsistent nadirs. Thanks for any thoughts!
 
Last edited:
The short answer is no, the depot doesn’t work like that. Apart from the morning cycle of 11/2, which probably resulted from a fast and/or low drop the night before, Abby’s numbers are looking pretty good for a kitty on SLGS, per that method you’re not expecting to see the kitty turn all green like you are with TR. The method statement in the stickies says you’re looking for preshot values of no more than 300 and nadirs approaching 100 so Abby is about right. I suspect that some of the flat day cycles you’re seeing is bouncing from the night before. It would be good if you could get some additional night tests from later in the cycle sprinkled into her spreadsheet.
 
It would be good if you could get some additional night tests from later in the cycle sprinkled into her spreadsheet.
thanks - ok will try to test more at night. I guess my confusion is if she is dropping too low at night (which appears to be the case with suspected bounce and green numbers), should her daytime numbers start to follow? I know each cat is different, but does anyone have a sense if cats on SLGS continue to improve over time or if they flatten out like Abby appears to. Is the only way to get a change to try switching to TR? I don't know if she will get there, but I am trying hard to get her into remission. She is not a great patient (I guess she gets that from her non-cat mama:)). I am just wondering if Abby is stuck permanently at this dose or if her body is still trying to heal her (and if thats the case if its ok if she is low at night and higher during the day)...
 
We do see some cats go into remission using SLGS but nowhere near as many as go into remission on TR.

If per chance she is dropping too low at night then bounce cycles can continue as the liver reacts to save the cat. I’m not saying this is definitely what’s happening with Abby but some additional testing in the night cycles will let us know. One trick people use is to have a big glass of water or two right before bed so they wake up to pee and grab a test then.

It’s also very common for cats to run lower at night than during the day but you can’t ‘fix it’ by giving a higher lantus dose during the day and a lower one at night. But once we know what’s happening we might be able to manipulate her meals to keep her flatter.

One thing I can say with certainty is she won’t be on her current dose forever, insulin needs change one way or the other.
 
Back
Top