12/1 Ailish AMPS: 189, after 30 min: 181

Ailish’s Brother

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-30-ailish-amps-333-2-377-4-351-7-229.296160/

So old gave me a shock this morning: her lowest number ever! She’s been so stable and I was dealing with the newborn so I didn’t get the tests in in the PM like I should have, learned my lesson there.

Waited 30, retested, consulted with an experienced diabetic cat owner and decided to go with 1.0 for this morning, with close monitoring. Would love to hear some people’s thoughts!
 
You did great! This was your first under 200 PS so you stalled without feeding and re-tested. That 189 then 181 means she was flat.
If you could monitor, we would have said to shoot the full dose. I'm not sure how much monitoring you can do with a newborn though :bighug:.
Glad you shot something. And I see she's staying pretty flat today.
 
You did great! This was your first under 200 PS so you stalled without feeding and re-tested. That 189 then 181 means she was flat.
If you could monitor, we would have said to shoot the full dose. I'm not sure how much monitoring you can do with a newborn though :bighug:.
Glad you shot something. And I see she's staying pretty flat today.

thanks for the kind words, makes me feel better about the whole roller coaster!
 
Final update before PMPS: I forgot to mention this here, but after we switched to 1.75, Ailish finally decided she likes the DM pate better than the mix of DM kibble and Hill Science GM we’ve been been leaving out for our kibble addicted civie who were also trying to transition to a lower carb lifestyle. So she’s stopped stealing it overnight and has been sticking to the wet.

Given that she has decided to put herself on the no kibble wagon, she had her lowest BG day ever, and my ability to monitor hypos is low with a newborn, I’m planning to follow the advice of an experienced diabetic cat owner and reduce back to 1.25 for right now and see how that plus her new lower carb lifestyle treats her.

Thoughts and advice welcome!
 
Last edited:
I see you got proof that the DM and Hills is higher carb and not appropriate for a diabetic.:rolleyes: Nice to see those blues.
Thoughts and advice welcome!
Out of curiosity, where did you get the "advice of an experienced diabetic cat owner"? We are an open peer reviewed forum here, and like to see what people say, especially about dosing. And be able to comment on it. I say you also got proof that 1.75 units got Ailish into good numbers. We don't normally suggest jumping down that much in dose.
 
I see you got proof that the DM and Hills is higher carb and not appropriate for a diabetic.:rolleyes: Nice to see those blues.

Out of curiosity, where did you get the "advice of an experienced diabetic cat owner"? We are an open peer reviewed forum here, and like to see what people say, especially about dosing.

Got it from a friend of my aunt’s. I’m not sure if it’s the right call or not, and I may regret it but I’m going to try it for now, as the advice has been good some far. I understand this is unscientific and maybe overly conservative.

And definitely seeing the difference carbs make.

I see what you are saying about the 1.75 and if I were able to monitor better, and not also dealing with the change in her eating habit, I would definitely hold it, but as it is I don’t yet feel comfortable when I don’t have a clear picture of what her new diet will do to her BG.

thanks for pushing me and making me think about this. I appreciate the time and thought, and will keep posting so we can see what ends up happening.
 
Let's keep an eye on her numbers. If numbers start to go uphill fast in the next few days, we could always take her back up without waiting the full 7 days. She didn't technically earn a reduction and I don't want her to hang out in the same numbers she was before 1.75 units.
 
@Wendy&Neko

I completely agree. I’m also going to get more PM cycle tests in, as I know she often dipped lower then when she had the Libre, having that data will make me more confident in shooting lower.

My main goal is to get her below the renal threshold (which if I understand correctly is around 250?) ASAP without risking hypos if someone else in my family has to take over her care for a few days.
 
Looks like a slow and steady cycle tonight. It'll take a few days to build the depot back up too. So we'll have to get past that time to see what 1.25 units is really doing now. That night time data will really help.
 
Back
Top