12/1 Blue amps 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-30-blue-amps-84.239343/

Morning. Blue did well last night, even though he was close to 50 he never got down past it.

I'm still worried about his big tummy. Such a dilemma. I could take him into the vet and have
them check him but I'm afraid they'll want to keep him again. That would mess up his present
schedule of insulin because they won't shoot him at the correct time or dose.

I am tired today. I have another MRI on my knee today. Even after all the surgery and shots
I still have pain in my knee. :(
 
Super good job last night! Max never had a big tummy. Is he pooping normally? Butters had that. Not sure how long. @lylaandbutters
She had it for the two days when she was home from the hospital before she went to the other hospital. Since then, she has had it maybe four times, where I can feel that her tummy is bigger and feels hard. Normally it is squishy. I think it is related to pain, not constipation. I noticed it again yesterday and upped her bupe a little to see if it would help.

Her tummy goes back to squishy when she isn't in pain. That's what I've noticed.
 
She had it for the two days when she was home from the hospital before she went to the other hospital. Since then, she has had it maybe four times, where I can feel that her tummy is bigger and feels hard. Normally it is squishy. I think it is related to pain, not constipation. I noticed it again yesterday and upped her bupe a little to see if it would help.

Her tummy goes back to squishy when she isn't in pain. That's what I've noticed.

That is good to know. My vet wants to do x-rays and blood work. His hair hasn't even grown back on his leg from the IV from the last bout. I know they'll want to keep him again. It was over $1000 for Blue and then his sister had to go to the ER right after and spend the night. Thank God for Care Credit. I just wish they would give me the pain meds.
 
:bighug:I can relate to all of this.:( Butters spent five nights in hospitals for pancreatitis and she probably wouldn't have had to if the first hospital had managed her pain and given me proper pain meds. I just finally found a vet who takes pain management seriously and he is giving all the pain meds that he and I think she needs. I hope you can find a vet who will do the same.
 
His hair hasn't even grown back on his leg from the IV from the last bout.
Known as post-clipping alopecia.

Saoirse had that problem - little or no growth for months after being clipped for scans - and our vets couldn't suggest anything to help. As luck would have it, following a recommendation on Tanya's Site, I started giving her a B-complex supplement for her kidneys (she was IRIS stage II) and lo! to my surprise and delight her fur started growing back straight away.

Another thing I've seen mentioned with regard to treating post-clipping alopecia is melatonin but I can't comment on efficacy because I've not used it, nor have I seen reports of other members here using it. Here's a link (bit technical):

ETA - Corrected Link:


https://veterinary-practice.com/article/melatonin-and-seasonal-alopecias

Maybe you could ask your vets about B-complex supplementation (info here - dose is 1/10 capsule of Jarrow B-right per day, split across several feeds) and melatonin?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I am taking Blue back in for blood work. They will not prescribe pain meds without doing blood work.
I'm not happy about it but feel bad for Blue if he's in pain. Why you ask did I take him to the vet on Saturday? Good question.
 
Blue is 138 +3 and I gave him a little 10% to slow the drop. I'm worried about leaving at 1:00 for my MRI but I can test him right before I leave and have Tara feed him a little while I'm going. His appt. is at 3:00.
 
Oh, Patty. I feel for you. Don’t let them keep him there unless you feel strongly it’s needed. If they want to run a test for pancreatitis you will be in a bind if they run the Snap. If it is in the gray zone it will be negative. If you only run the SpecfPL it won’t be back until tomorrow. If you can get the buprenorphine I would want the test sent to the lab. If they won’t give you buprenorphine without a test and the Snap is positive you don’t need it sent to the lab. The problem is if negative.
 
(((Patty)))

@tiffmaxee - I'm really upset about this. Blue's clinical signs should be enough evidence that he needs the pain meds, especially as he has only recently been diagnosed with pancreatitis - with the same clinical signs at that time! :banghead:

Patty, I really feel for you too.

(((Patty)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
She didn't say what blood test but I'll find out more when I take him. No, she didn't run blood work on Saturday. Why did I take him??? I'm just so done with them.
 
I'm back. I'm too tired. I misread my calendar and my appt. is Thursday and doctor follow up on Tuesday.

Checked Blue and he's down to 62 +4.75 so I'm glad I returned when I did. Just fed some 16% MM and will test again in 30.
 
I misread my calendar and my appt. is Thursday and doctor follow up on Tuesday.
Oh, no!

That reminds me of times when you think you've overslept and you're late for work, you get dressed in a panic and you're about to rush out the door when it dawns on you that the presenter on the radio radio only broadcasts on a Sunday... :arghh:

And then the adrenaline rushing round your system means it's a waste of time trying to go back to bed for a nice lie-in. :(

(((Patty)))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Are they doing the Spec fPL test as well, Patty? Sometimes levels can fall into a 'grey area' so the numerical result can be helpful. See the 'Interpretation' section at the following link:

TAMU Spec fPL Testing


Mogs
.
 
Per Elise's earlier post:

"If they want to run a test for pancreatitis you will be in a bind if they run the Snap. If it is in the gray zone it will be negative. If you only run the SpecfPL it won’t be back until tomorrow. If you can get the buprenorphine I would want the test sent to the lab. If they won’t give you buprenorphine without a test and the Snap is positive you don’t need it sent to the lab. The problem is if negative."


[Emphasis mine]


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top