12/10 Henry AMPS 93 +1 91 +2 99 +3 92 +5 86 +11 100 PMPS 94 +2 76 +3 64 + 4 72 + 5.5 80

Good job shooting.
If you catch him dropping at +1, you may want to bring the scheduled feed forward to +1 instead of +2. Also consider feeding higher than 2%carb if you catch him dropping at +1 or +2.

Although you reduced, the depot of the recent larger doses are still at work , so he may still get a very active cycle.
I'll check in on you in an hour see how Henry is doing.
 
Good job shooting.
If you catch him dropping at +1, you may want to bring the scheduled feed forward to +1 instead of +2. Also consider feeding higher than 2%carb if you catch him dropping at +1 or +2.

Although you reduced, the depot of the recent larger doses are still at work , so he may still get a very active cycle.
I'll check in on you in an hour see how Henry is doing.

His schedule food occurred at AMPS
 
What did you feed at amps? Carb % and amount.

At +1 we would expect to see a rise in BG from his amps meal, the absence of that rise this morning, may well indicate the start of an active cycle, just how active will become clearer by +2 typically he will have onset by then.

As he is flat at +2 you could give him a teaspoon of LC 2% ,or you could wait and see what happens by +2,and make a decision then.
 
Looking at the info on the SS, it seems that you usually give him a programed meal at +5.5 of 2.4ounces/2% carb. Perhaps today instead of feeding him all that then you could split the meal. Giving him half of it at +2 (it may help to flatten his curve and stop him bottoming out on you).
If he is in the 50s or low 60's at +2 you might want to swap it for 8% carbs instead at +2.
 
Looking at the info on the SS, it seems that you usually give him a programed meal at +5.5 of 2.4ounces/2% carb. Perhaps today instead of feeding him all that then you could split the meal. Giving him half of it at +2 (it may help to flatten his curve and stop him bottoming out on you).
If he is in the 50s or low 60's at +2 you might want to swap it for 8% carbs instead at +2.

OK
Meal Times (AMPS - 6:00am EST, +5.5 11:30am EST, PMPS - 6:00pm EST, & +5.5 -11:30pm EST)

We can split the full meal to spread over the cycle

At AMPS (6:00am EST) Henry had 2.4oz of 2% carbs but will split in the future to smooth out curve
Up to this point Henry was getting (2) tsps of food of various carbs to influence his bg curve
 
Like you, and with Georges weight problem, I was also initially just feeding amps +6 pmps and +6, unless I had to influence BG.
I found that he dropped fast at the start of the cycle and would have to give him extra snacks, not ideal given his weight. So I started splitting his +6 meal up, I gave half at + 2 and half at +5, (it meant I less often had to feed extra to steer his BG.
 
Does that mean you will try it today?

We cross posted.


You mean splitting his AMPS & PMPS meals

Henry always receives (2) of his meals right after the shot of insulin, then we have (2) midpoints feedings (+5.5 & +5.5)
Having said that Yes starting today for his PMPS (6:00pm EST) will be split for influencing the BG curve

OK it looks like you mean splitting the midpoint meals and leaving the AMPS & PMPS meals intact?
 
so amps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+5 1.2 ounce
pmps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+4 1.2 ounce

It would be better to keep, his larger, main meal at shot time, and then split his midcycle meal.
If you reduce the amps and pmps meal, you will likely see him drop harder at onset, and we want to avoid this.
 
so amps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+5 1.2 ounce
pmps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+4 1.2 ounce

It would be better to keep, his larger, main meal at shot time, and then split his midcycle meal.
If you reduce the amps and pmps meal, you will likely see him drop harder at onset, and we want to avoid this.


OK will do
 
OK the + 2 split of 1.2oz is being given now at +2.45
OK that's fine.
Still flat at +2, so usually this can indicate an active cycle, but probably not one where he will dive like crazy on you.
Of course, cat's don't always read the FD handbook us humans get, and they can throw surprises, given the change in Henry in the last week, I don't trust him, something has changed, possible the stopping the dry food (even though it is allegedly LC) may have influenced him somewhat.

I think you are OK to leave him till +4 for his next test.
 
OK that's fine.
Still flat at +2, so usually this can indicate an active cycle, but probably not one where he will dive like crazy on you.
Of course, cat's don't always read the FD handbook us humans get, and they can throw surprises, given the change in Henry in the last week, I don't trust him, something has changed, possible the stopping the dry food (even though it is allegedly LC) may have influenced him somewhat.

I think you are OK to leave him till +4 for his next test.


To give you idea of the DRY FOOD feeding it was in conjunction WET (84% wet, 16% DRY) this is the combination of those past feeding when it included DRY

Of course this method is no longer all WET
 
Last edited:
Here's a current picture of Henry enjoying a Sunny 62 degree day in southern Indiana

You folks need to see he's feeling great from all of your efforts

Thank You

DSCN0202.JPG
 

Attachments

  • DSCN0202.JPG
    DSCN0202.JPG
    56.5 KB · Views: 256
Hey just stopping by to say goodnight (I'm in Spain).
Try to get a +10 or +11 before pmps tonight. If he's low it'll give you time to ask for help
 
Will get another BG reading at PMPS +2

30 minutes from now

Will feed Henry ==> 1.2oz of 2% carb

If it drops 30 points do I feed Henry a mix of (2) tsps of 10% in conjunction with 1.2oz 2%??
 
Will get another BG reading at PMPS +2

30 minutes from now

Will feed Henry ==> 1.2oz of 2% carb

If it drops 30 points do I feed Henry a mix of (2) tsps of 10% in conjunction with 1.2oz 2%??
It’s easier to not mix foods with different carbs if you can avoid it. Keep it simple :) I’d go with what you know stops his drop and let’s him start a surf.

You all are doing a good job learning how to feed Henry to keep him flat. This morning was “textbook”. As you can see, Henry is definitely telling you ge likes going lower at night. It’s important to try and keep his BG up enough to avoid a reduction. His dose has dropped a lot in six days. I don’t want him to stall out with too many reductions too fast but we still have to keep him safe....which means there are times you must take a reduction like that 49 the other night.

I love his picture! He’s so handsome.
 
It’s easier to not mix foods with different carbs if you can avoid it. Keep it simple :) I’d go with what you know stops his drop and let’s him start a surf.

You all are doing a good job learning how to feed Henry to keep him flat. This morning was “textbook”. As you can see, Henry is definitely telling you ge likes going lower at night. It’s important to try and keep his BG up enough to avoid a reduction. His dose has dropped a lot in six days. I don’t want him to stall out with too many reductions too fast but we still have to keep him safe....which means there are times you must take a reduction like that 49 the other night.

I love his picture! He’s so handsome.

Thank You
 
Outstanding. See how you all are getting a feel for what you need to feed him at what time?

IMHO, I would not reduce the dose again so soon.
 
Back
Top