? 12/11 Ailish AMPS 290 +3 241, +6 221, Question about new food test

Ailish’s Brother

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...309-2-257-7-173-pmps-231.296450/#post-3227004

Good day overall, Ailish seemed happy and content cuddling with my mother-in-law.

Coulda done with just the blues and yellows, but she decided to add some pink to her palette

I have a question about adding a new food. I want to trial young again dry, if I do that, how long do I have to wait to see how it affects her BG overall? I know you can see the bump after an hour or two, but does it take a few days like insulin for an overall effect?

upload_2024-12-11_5-56-49.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-11_5-56-49.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-11_5-56-49.jpeg
    81.5 KB · Views: 64
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...309-2-257-7-173-pmps-231.296450/#post-3227004

Good day overall, Ailish seemed happy and content cuddling with my mother-in-law.

Coulda done with just the blues and yellows, but she decided to add some pink to her palette

View attachment 71797
Awwww. So nice to cuddle with your MIL. Bet she enjoyed that and maybe a baby visit, too? :)

Lovely painting, very serene. But yes, we always like them better without those pinks in the palette.
Hoping Ailish has a more blue less pink day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Staci & Ivy

Oh yeah, great baby visit with a side of cat. Ailish likes to hang around the baby. She was my mom’s cat before my mom passed and we say it’s her way of staying near.

Thanks for the good wishes, I hope Ivy gives you a chill day today!
 
It's easier to see if a food is impacting a cat negatively when they are regulated. When in higher numbers and bouncing, it might take a few days to figure out if there is an impact.

Timing also depends on how slowly you introduce the new food. It should be done gradually. If you are feeding higher carb dry now, then switching to a lower carb dry should be noticeable fairly soon.

FYI, if you have a new question, rather than updating the first post, it's best to add a new post with the new question. If people have already posted on your thread, they'll get a notification of a new post, but not when you edit an existing post.
 
It's easier to see if a food is impacting a cat negatively when they are regulated. When in higher numbers and bouncing, it might take a few days to figure out if there is an impact.

Timing also depends on how slowly you introduce the new food. It should be done gradually. If you are feeding higher carb dry now, then switching to a lower carb dry should be noticeable fairly soon.

FYI, if you have a new question, rather than updating the first post, it's best to add a new post with the new question. If people have already posted on your thread, they'll get a notification of a new post, but not when you edit an existing post.

Ok, and I’m assuming how Ailish is currently doing qualifies as higher numbers with bouncing?

I’m doing a curve today, and then will go to the vet to get her kidney tests run and possibly up her dose.

If I do that, does it make sense to see how that affects regulation before trying a new food test?

I’ll keep that in mind and start a new post next time!

Thanks for the help Wendy!
 
Also, procedural questions for y’all: if I post at AMPS, can I update the post title with additional tests as the day goes on?

Like post one: “12/12 Ailish AMPS: 214”, then update the title to 12/12 “Ailish AMPS: 214, +3 XXX”?
 
That’s what I’m thinking, I just wonder what the order of operations should be: dosage change then food, or food then dosage change, or it doesn’t matter?
I went through this recently and did food first. I was lucky though because we were between dosing methods which allowed me to hold a dose a little longer to see what the food would do. Not sure if that would be possible with your dosing method.

Also, procedural questions for y’all: if I post at AMPS, can I update the post title with additional tests as the day goes on?

Like post one: “12/12 Ailish AMPS: 214”, then update the title to 12/12 “Ailish AMPS: 214, +3 XXX”?
About the title - that’s what I do, just update as the day goes on.
 
Thanks for the info, I remember watching you, and it’s what inspired me to go no-carb with Ailish. Now that I’ve seen the no-card, I wanna try the Young Again, just cause it’s single protein, low phosphorus, and it would keep her from trying to steal the other cat’s kibble! (They have had separate kibble for a while, but when Ailish had to get in wet only she started stealing kibble, so maybe having her own would let me and my wife not have to play kibble cop)
 
Thanks for the info, I remember watching you, and it’s what inspired me to go no-carb with Ailish. Now that I’ve seen the no-card, I wanna try the Young Again, just cause it’s single protein, low phosphorus, and it would keep her from trying to steal the other cat’s kibble! (They have had separate kibble for a while, but when Ailish had to get in wet only she started stealing kibble, so maybe having her own would let me and my wife not have to play kibble cop)
Kibble cop haha. That’s got to be tough with another cat in the mix. Well, hopefully you get a nice natural decrease from the YA and she likes it too.
 
Back
Top