12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negative

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by tibbs5, Dec 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    well, ive tried 1.0 fat for 10 cycles. i'm going to increase by another drop. this is just so frustrating. I probably shouldn't have reduced when i was at 1.25 and he was doing so well. I just do not understand what is going on inside this little boy's body. His 5 p's are great. no more drinking alot or peeing alot. He plays...acts great. ketones negative. He even gained a pound back but you would never know any of this by his blood sugar. I have to get a real curve on him. I will be able to get a mid cycle on this pm cycle today so we'll see what that says.
    hope everyone else is ok.
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    I wonder if he has a duration issue.

    Can you manage to snag a +10 or +11 any time? If that is when it starts popping up, there a couple of finagles that may be tried - ex TID dosing, or use of a small dose of short acting insulin when he starts to climb.
     
  3. phlika29

    phlika29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    Hi Nadine

    Sorry to see Tibbs is higher again. He had been doing great. I know you will get him back on track though.
     
  4. Christianna

    Christianna Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    The fact that his 5Ps are great and he seems to feel really good, combined with peeing less and drinking less, plus weight gain--all are really positive signs. As a very wise forum member told me when I was agonizing about this same dilemma: "Your cat is more than numbers." (Thank you, BJM, by the way :smile: ) Tibbs has had quite a few blues in the past few weeks so maybe his pancreas is "spluttery" and kicking in once in a while. Fingers and paws crossed for more blues, and soon!

    Hugs,
    Christi
     
  5. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    thanks BJM & Sarah & Christi.
    i will try to get a +10 and i hope he starts coming down again. i'm going to do a tiny increase. here's hoping. also my insulin in going on 5 months. i got a new bottle so i'm going to start the new one. since the potency will be higher, should i keep the 1.0 fat to see if the stronger insulin will work? i probably should only change 1 thing at a time. so new insulin and hold the dose. what do you all think? thanks everyone.
     
  6. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    Absolutely change only 1 thing at a time. If it is the insulin, you could see an impact right away, so watch those nadirs when you can.

    And speaking of more than a number, check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools. You've identified a number of positive changes and there may be a few you want to track more frequently.
     
  7. tibbs5

    tibbs5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Re: 12/11 Tibbs amps 378 +6 464 s-i-g-h ketones negativ

    ok. thanks BJM. i will read your secondary list and i won't change the dose yet as it may be possible that the insulin is losing potency. thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page