12/12 Fred AMPS 401, + 6 410, PMPS 430 (dosing question)

Valerie & Fred

Member Since 2023
12/11

Fred was a sneaky kitty this morning. He decided to escape before I woke up (we keep him baby gated in our sunroom during the night) and he apparently couldn’t wait until breakfast so he thought it was a great idea to break out and eat who knows how much dog food. :facepalm: Sky high all day.

also a question: Since Fred got a reduction a couple days ago what comes after? How long am I suppose to keep him held on this dose?
 
From the dosing sticky:


General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
 
From the dosing sticky:


General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Perfect, so it’s just the regular duration until I increase again. Sounds good though we’ll see what happens when he clears this, thanks! :bighug:
 
Just a small housekeeping note. Once your question has been answered, could you remove the "?" prefix and remove the question on the title? There are those of us who scan the forum for those "?" and it saves us time if we could just look for ones that haven't been answered. If you get a new question, go ahead and put the "?" back up there.

Paws crossed Fred ditches that dog food hangover soon!
 
Back
Top