Look at him go! He looks like wants another reduction, but the 3.25 unit depot will still be at play.
Congrats on yesterday's reduction!Such beautiful green cycles. Great job both of you.
You’ve got this down, Robert. Great work with the food.
Bhooma (@Bandit's Mom) is correct that the larger dose depot (3.25u) is still in play here so we want to be careful about reductions for a couple cycles.
The natural question is “for how long and at what BG do we reduce”? If he drops between 40-50 within four cycles of the new dose, we probably do not want to reduce again but it certainly bears looking at. For example, if he does do that but you are having to feed him nothing but HC to keep him steady around 50, it’s time to reduce. But if you feed LC and he comes right up or stabilizes, then we hold off.
However, if he drops below 40, regardless of how many cycles after the last reduction, we reduce at the very next shot.
May the green be with you
View attachment 58638[/QUOT
Like I said Sandy you're alright
Makes it easier
Beautiful day!
Another potentially busy night![]()
Look at the morning cycle on 12/13. His pattern is almost identical to tonight only he’s starting a tiny bit lower. That cycle, he was 89 at AMPS, 79 at +2 and then proceeded to 49 by +4. Tonight, he was 81 at PMPS and 71 at +2. Look at last night as well. There was a 9 mg/dL difference between PMPS and +2 and he dropped to 53 by +2.5.Wow this is where more experience is speaking. I thought is was going to be softer than the other night that earned the reduction.
So is +3 too long for a check being it is one hour from the prior?
Now Henry was fed 1.2oz of 2% carb at +2
Do you anticipate potential 50's?
Look at the morning cycle on 12/13. His pattern is almost identical to tonight only he’s starting a tiny bit lower. That cycle, he was 89 at AMPS, 79 at +2 and then proceeded to 49 by +4. Tonight, he was 81 at PMPS and 71 at +2. Look at last night as well. There was a 9 mg/dL difference between PMPS and +2 and he dropped to 53 by +2.5.
You gave him 10% at +2 last night. Just sayin’....
You’ve been doing a great job at feeding him and knowing how he reacts. I was just pointing out what you did before and wondered what you felt was different tonight. We will see what he does here shortly.OK, Marje we just fed Henry @+2.45 (2) tsp(s) of 10% carb
Did I interpret that correct?
You’ve been doing a great job at feeding him and knowing how he reacts. I was just pointing out what you did before and wondered what you felt was different tonight. We will see what he does here shortly.
One thing we often find when the dose starts down is that it requires less carbs to keep the numbers flat but that’s usually when the dose gets under 0.5u. But...ECID.
Yes, thank you. I appreciate that you thought it out....that’s important to learning.Good question I will answer that for you (two thoughts)
I thought the 70's being 20 points higher than 50 I could wait an hour and make a call about what Henry might need if necessary
Second thought is the third cycle shot ( PMPS Today) Henry would not have the drops prior to the cycle you mention above in other words Henry would be flat for a few cycles now that 3.0 units was more in play and then be prepared for a rush to the 50" again possibly beginning cycle number 7
I looked at the flat cycles prior to the one's you mention
Hope this helps you on my frame of mind which is still at the freshman level
+4 is 60 or 90?Henry's BG Reading @ +4 is (60)
No food
Next Reading @ +5.5
His scheduled meal of 1.2oz of 2% carb will be at +5.5
I think it will be cool for 90 minutes later on reading?
Marje I'm sorry typo it's 60 for + 4+4 is 60 or 90?
If it’s 90, I’d say it can wait.
No....there is no such general “rule”. It’s more what you determine is applicable to him based on what he’s doing, what he’s done before, and what you’ve fed.Do I need to see (2) consecutive 30 minutes apart rises to determine Henry truly is rising?
No....there is no such general “rule”. It’s more what you determine is applicable to him based on what he’s doing, what he’s done before, and what you’ve fed.
Glad you were able to test alone! That’s improvement!
Maybe some catnip?I can have more success performing the tests from about 9:00pm and on because Henry just wants to sleep
This will allow my wife to nap between 9:00pm and 11:30pm
She feeds the cats at 11:30pm
So I'm going to put more effort to perform the tests at the times stated above ==> she needs the sleep I got to step it up out of respect for her if I can perform those tests in that time frame it will allow her to get a potential 2-1/2 hour nap
But to perform a test the middle of the day game over He's fully rested
Maybe some catnip?![]()
Again....I’m really happy you are thinking this out.I'm happy you were observing data points that I was missing tonight
What I saw was (3) parts during the 3.25units
1) First two cycles BG readings will have depot influence meaning larger dropping points
2) Next four cycles BG readings have no depot influence which has less point differences stable, flat
3) After the sixth cycle watch for a potential drop because the pancreas will be participating by a small fraction which cause a DEEP DIVE again similar to the depot leaching off during the first two cycles
There is where my brain is at
Maybe give some to Henry, too.I'll try it (CATNIP)
Again....I’m really happy you are thinking this out.
1. You mean depot influence from the higher dose from which you reduced? - Yes this statement is correct from my thinking
2. Although the depot from a larger dose can influence up to six cycles, it’s usually four. That would take up two of your four cycles in #2. Yes my thought is more stable very little need to address potential spikes But no guarantees
3. Maybe. I’ve seen cats on the same low dose in just flat greens for weeks and weeks. But if a dive occurs could it be the pancreas moved up an increment
Maybe give some to Henry, too.![]()
No, I don’t agree with this. While beta cells are healing in normal numbers, they are still “fragile”. The pancreas is probably not helping out with endogenous insulin until the dose is very low and the cat is ready for remission. The drops are due to the depot. Each shot is cumulative and when the depot is overfull, the BG drops.After the sixth cycle watch for a potential drop because the pancreas will be participating by a small fraction
This is great news!You know Marje Henry is acting like a younger cat since these consecutive greens BIG difference
I don’t know specific names but there are always members who fall into that category. Diabetic Cats in Need provides insulin when they can. Some of the Vetsulin/ caninsulin users do so because they can’t afford Lantus or Levemir. Many, many members get their insulin from Canada where it is much cheaper.Marje do you know any pet owners who want to use lantus insulin but cannot afford it?
No, I don’t agree with this. While beta cells are healing in normal numbers, they are still “fragile”. The pancreas is probably not helping out with endogenous insulin until the dose is very low and the cat is ready for remission. The drops are due to the depot. Each shot is cumulative and when the depot is overfull, the BG drops.
This is great news!
I don’t know specific names but there are always members who fall into that category. Diabetic Cats in Need provides insulin when they can. Some of the Vetsulin/ caninsulin users do so because they can’t afford Lantus or Levemir. Many, many members get their insulin from Canada where it is much cheaper.
That is so kind, Robert, you can PM @Chris & China (GA) as she is a counselor for DCIN.This where I get my insulin Mark's Pharmacy. I would be willing to purchase a box of (5) Lantus pens for somebody because nothing is free in life this includes your mentoring me this is how I could pay back what I receive from you