12/17. Elmo PMPS 61 +2 67+3 65 +4 74 +5 70 +6 70 +7 79 +7.5 98

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Beth 73, Dec 17, 2019.

  1. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Not sure what to do...Elmo earned his second reduction in as many days ...can I stall 30 minutes at PMPS after stalling 30 minutes at AMPS ? Leary ab shooting even new dose of 1.0 with how he drops at night and is not carb sensitive . @carfurby @Nan & Amber (GA)
     
  2. CRL

    CRL Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    I am not all that experienced at this, but I think you are right to hesitate on giving him a shot tonight if his numbers stay low like they are. Hopefully someone with more experience will be along soon to help you out.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  3. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Hi Beth, if I understand correctly from your SS, you are at +10 =67? What carbs did you intervene with when you had 42 @ +8.5?
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  4. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Beth, you have to be comfortable with whatever you do. How about feeding Elmo higher carb food out of the gate if BG stays above 50. You want to keep him in those low numbers but I know why you are worrying about him at night. He's been surfing along all day is likely to bounce soon so shooting the lower BG would be ideal to try to keep any bouncing down to a minimum.
     
  5. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thanks, Charity ❤️ Elmo is a special case...he is not very carb sensitive so am extra hesitant at night . I think I have a plan but wanted to check with wiser more experienced heads :)
     
  6. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Hey, Christie .....at 42 I went straight for HC 20 .... it takes a lot to get him to come up....I’m actually at +11 with a 69....waiting to take a +11.5 ....since I stalled this AM for 30 minutes I’m actually just 10 minutes from his normal shot time so will take another check in ab 10 and go from there....
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  7. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    That sounds good, Linda ....you know Elmo and his antics especially at night ....he hasn’t eaten since+9 so no food influence going on
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  8. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's basically holding on his own at this point in time which is great. Let's see what he does next.
     
    Sherry and Blackie and Beth 73 like this.
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I like Linda's suggestion of feeding a higher carb food right away. Hopefully he'll come up a little by PMPS.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  10. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    You got this, Beth!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  11. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thanks, Nan ❤️ Went ahead and shot a reduced to 1.0 and fed MC 14. Nan, you very well know this boy and his nighttime shenanigans . :woot:
     
  12. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Ok get another test at +1. That shot won't kick in for awhile and with the higher carb food, Elmo will be fine.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  13. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    From your lips to Gpa Man’s ears , Linda :woot:
     
  14. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Hey, Carla ❤️ Thanks for weighing in :) You know how he can throw curve balls :rolleyes:
     
  15. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  16. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  17. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Sounds good , Carla ❤️ 1 t HC 20....checking him again at +1.5
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  18. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yeah, Elmo's got nothing left to prove, he earned his reduction today already!
     
  19. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm going to have to sign off soon to go to sleep. I hope Elmo surfs safely tonight.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  20. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Glad Carla was here to help. Had to go feed the circling tigers here!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  21. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Curious as to what was going on that Elmo was all in black 3 days ago?o_O
     
    Beth 73 and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  22. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Forget it Jake, it's Elmotown.... :)
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  23. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you once again, Carla ❤️ Glad you know this guy’s history and weigh in from that standpoint ❤️ Sweet dreams :bighug:
     
  24. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :woot: :woot: :eek: :eek: :joyful: :joyful: .....Nan , you are a hoot :joyful:
     
  25. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Judy, if I could figure that out I’d be a rocket scientist. This dude does what he does...he thinks he’s special :woot:
     
  26. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Do y’all know, is there such a thing as 100 carb ?:woot: :eek:
     
  27. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Nope don't think there is anything that high available but you could share your ice cream with him!

    Beth, can you keep the spreadsheet up to date or is the PC out of reach? If that's the case, then can you update the title with readings so we know what's happening without having to rely on memory or scrolling. ;)
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  28. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Beth --

    I just want to make sure you're clear on when to reduce the dose. Elmo is a long term diabetic. As such, if you're following TR, you reduce the dose when numbers drop below 40. Once a cat is past the first year since diagnosis, the point at which you reduce the dose is lower
     
    Sherry and Blackie and Beth 73 like this.
  29. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +1.5. 64. Hit with HC 20 again ? That’s the plan lest I hear otherwise...next ..test at +2
     
  30. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sienne, Elmo is a bit of a outlier. He's been going from lime green to black in a heartbeat and is not carb sensitive at all so letting him drop below 40 is a bit dicy especially on a night cycle. I encouraged Beth to shoot tonight despite the low pre-shot and taking the reduction seemed a good compromise to see what the unpredictable Elmo will do. I realize he didn't "technically" earn it, but having dealt with Elmo's unpredictability in the past, I think we need to move cautiously with him.
     
  31. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes Beth, I'd give Elmo a bit more HC 20. He's just surfing now but with all that HC, I was hoping he'd be up a wee bit by now.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  32. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    And we’ve had the Elmo discussion a few weeks ago...hence the Custom Dosing Do Not Copy added in signature ...was and am appreciative of that as Elmo is a special case
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
    Sonia & Leo and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  33. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Probably a good idea to note explicitly when departing from the rules, too, just to make it clear for lurkers. The longterm diabetic rule is always tough to remember.
     
  34. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Beth: Have you figured out what caused Elmo to come out of remission?
     
  35. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Judy, best we can figure is possibly from a stressful time earlier this year when my mom passed away out of town and we had someone he didn't know care for him . He is use to a daily routine that never changes and our vet thinks the stress played a big part . He's always been a big baby , likes what he likes and doesn't like change . So, here we are .
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  36. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Going with HC 20 again at +2....67
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
  37. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Well.... at least it's in the right direction? o_O
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  38. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Since he's still just surfing yes I think I'd stick with the 20.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  39. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :woot::woot::woot: Ah haaa , Nan ❤️ Yes, it is !!! So glad Wendy put me on to Grandmas Soup I believe it is . It's a very thin juice for its gravy that he handles well .
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  40. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Linda, are you able to stay up for a while with Mr. E. until he locates that trampoline of his? I'm hitting my limit right now, so I'll have to sign off soon.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  41. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Nighty night , Auntie Nan ❤️ So good to see you ❤️
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  42. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes Nan, I'll be up and watching Sir Elmo with Beth. :) Sweet Dreams!
     
  43. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    OK, night all, hope Elmo starts coming up for real soon so you can go to bed. In the meantime, he's looking great in green-- what a nice run of numbers!
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Beth 73 like this.
  44. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Take good care of yourself , Nan ❤️
     
  45. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +2.5. 65. Giving HC 20 ...just in case anyone is keeping count, this is teaspoon number 4 of HC 20 for Elmo tonight....glad he’s holding steady but looking for the HC bump up
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  46. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +3. 65. Giving another teaspoon HC 20 gravy ....that's teaspoon number 5 ... waiting for the big kaboom surge when this HC is allowed to hit ...
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2019
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  47. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yup. He's having a grand old time in those 60s! :D
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  48. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    You called him an " outlier"? Is that by chance Canadian for pain in the butt ??? :rolleyes:
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  49. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes that or an oddball! :woot:
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  50. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    The 60s had great music. Elmo is just dancing to the beat.
     
  51. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I think he's constantly doing the twist only it's Beth he's twisting! :p
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  52. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Paula :woot: :) :joyful: ...He hasn’t done this in a while so I suppose he thought it was time :rolleyes: Hoping that PJ and Olive are better ❤️
     
  53. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Olive is for now. PJ is still the same, urgent care tomorrow.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  54. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +3.5 70.....more HC 20
     
  55. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh, I’m sorry to hear that ,Paula Sending vines and prayers ❤️
     
  56. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    jiminy-cricket8.png Elmo hit 70!
     
    Beth 73 and Olive & Paula like this.
  57. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh yes, oh happy day !!!! I’d do a jig as well ( or a twist as Paula suggested) but I’m all jigged out :arghh: This cat is cooking my grits :woot:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  58. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    @Olive & Paula Give those two beauties of yours some scritches. So sorry to hear about PJs paw and hope Olive continues to improve. Sending more healing vines for them both!
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  59. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +4......drumroll.....74 :woot: And adding in some more yummy HC 20 :rolleyes: Belly is gurgling so giving a bit of aloe juice too...
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  60. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    will do.
     
  61. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Yeah!!!!!!!

    Ollie just hit 47.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  62. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    OH NO! What timing these furkids have!
     
  63. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +4.5. Still 74 ....good ole HC 20 coming up ....think this is teaspoon #6
     
  64. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Paula !!!!! 47 !!!! She’s gotten the Elmo-itis :woot:
     
    Olive & Paula likes this.
  65. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +4.5......74
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  66. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    not as bad though. She is still 47
     
  67. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Well he's not sinking. How about a bit of 14 now and see if he holds?
     
  68. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Rats...already have HC ... I'll go with 14 next check ... it's his favorite :cat:
     
  69. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Paula, does she easily respond to higher carbs or is she like Elmo , the 6 teaspoon dude ?
     
  70. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +5. 70....trying MC 14....
     
    Sonia & Leo and MrWorfMen's Mom like this.
  71. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Normally 6-8% brings her right up. But not tonight, just gave 20% she's at 37 now
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  72. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :woot::woot::woot:
     
  73. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I know, getting hard to stay awake.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  74. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  75. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Seem to recall Wendy saying something ab mashed potatoes helping for higher carbs . Need to ask her ab that . Needing something in addition to this 20 ...
     
  76. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    I see Elmo and Olive are up to no good! :rolleyes:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  77. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Some one used potato flakes added to food to keep kitty boosted because it was hard to keep him/her up.
     
  78. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Got that right.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  79. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Olive and Elmo are being 2 peas in a pod tonight.
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  80. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +5.5. Back to 64 .....back to HC ?
     
  81. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yup. HC it is. While that's basically the same BG I wouldn't chance Elmo deciding to drop.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  82. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh yes, Sonia ...Ollie and Elmo are being co pains in the butt long about now :woot:
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  83. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    How in the world can he ingest this much hi carb and not be boosted ? I am grateful he’s at least steady
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  84. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Linda, do you know anything ab mixing mashed potatoes in ?
     
  85. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Thank goodness for his appetite, he's had a lot of food so far tonight!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  86. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Beth, how does Elmo do with syrup?
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  87. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Pray he can keep it up ...been mostly liquid cos he doesn't want the solid part ... giving him some SEB and aloe in between for gurgling belly
     
  88. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Only thing I heard of mashed potatoes was that Grandma Soup food used it as thickener or something to that effect. Never heard of using mashed potatoes mixed into regular food but I don't see why it couldn't help although I'd have to wonder if most kitties would eat them or how much you'd give.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  89. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Syrup makes him vomit ..he can handle honey but often comes right back down ...stubborn old guy
     
  90. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    So gravy with a bit of food and hope he doesn't get too stuffed before he decides to come up? :rolleyes: Oh boy!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  91. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I too got out the big gun, syrup added to food.

    If I remember the person used instant potato flakes and just mixed in food to keep cat boosted all cycle. Not high, just to surf greens until a reducie
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  92. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +6. 70..... how bout adding in a drop of honey ? What you think , Linda .
     
  93. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Paula, how is Ollie ? Coming up ?
     
  94. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    You can add a drop of honey in as long as it doesn't upset his tummy.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Beth 73 like this.
  95. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Good night (morning) Beth and Linda, I hope Elmo decides to give you a break soon! :bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  96. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Ollie is at 35 at +8..... these two cats :woot::woot:
    Say some prayers for Ollie and Elmo to come up ASAP , Sonia ❤️
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  97. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Done. I hope it works. :bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  98. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Linda , just tell me what to do and you go on to bed . You have a big day with Diane switching today. Elmo is currently chasing Ben around the Christmas tree :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2019
  99. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +6.5. 68....HC plus drop honey ? Don’t think honey has had time to effect ....should I give drop more ?ate HC on his own with some meat ...going to give another drop of honey at +7
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2019
  100. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    At +6 gave drop of honey ... at +6.5 no honey but he came in and ate HC on his own ... at + 7 going to give another drop of honey if no boost
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Sonia & Leo like this.

Share This Page