? 12/19 PMPS 301 +2 251 +4 76 +4.5 59 +5 41 +5.5 61 +6 48 +6.5 60 +7:68 +8:53 +8.5 90 +9 92 +9.5 115

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Melita & Chnoudi, Dec 19, 2020.

  1. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Hello! Chnoudi is dropping reeeaaally quickly again like yesterday. I ll give honey with her lc and test again in 30m. But is this normal to be happening second day in a row? Thank you.
     
  2. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
  3. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Hi Melita, Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will come along, but my understanding is that because of the depot, you will still be seing the result of the larger dose for a few days.
    It always happens at nigh, doesn't it? Honey will hopefully get her up.
     
  4. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Yes, I ve learned here that the depot from the larger dose can last even 5 cycles after the reduction. But this scared me today, it was very unpredictable.

    yes the last 10 nights are really crazy :blackeye:
     
    Hercule's mum likes this.
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I'm sorry I can't stay with you this evening - I'm entertaining and just stopping by for a moment...however you need to keep testing about every 30 minutes until you see a steady rise in those numbers without feeding OR giving honey or karo syrup.

    When she starts to climb the numbers will go way up fast as the bounce will be on the way - and she's just earned another reduction by going down this low tonight.

    @Butters & Lyla @Wendy&Neko - are either of you around to help out this evening??? @Bandit's Mom - are you on this evening?
     
  7. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Ιt' ok!! Thank you very much!! :bighug: I will follow the same procedure as yesterday. I was just worried that this happened again today and I didn't know if I should make another reduction so fast since the 1.75 is still effective.
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The larger depot will be in play for as many as 4-6 cycles. Exhausting I know. As to whether to take another reduction I think I might but see if others feel it’s too close to last one.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I see she’s down again More hc with syrup. She’s making a case to reduce again.
     
  10. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Just saw the tag. Looks like Chnoudi means business. I see Elise is here so I'll stay out of the way but I can help out if needed for backup or anything.
     
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Melita & Chnoudi
    Hi there just a was wondering by looking at your spreadsheet besides the
    honey are you giving any high carb wet food, I noticed on your spreadsheet it says
    lc with honey
    She sure is a beautiful kitty :cat:
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
  12. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    I was just writing to ask about this. i gave her lc with honey. Should I have gave her hc or hc with honey??
     
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi , yes you should have given her some HC with a little honey see what
    @tiffmaxee said in post #9
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hc lasts longer than honey. Honey wears off fast. You need hc and if it doesn’t work you add more honey to the hc. That explains why she dropped again.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good catch Diane.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thanks Elise, I was wondering why she was only giving lc
     
  17. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Ok!! Thank you for the observation!! I thought that we should use hc only as a last resort.
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When she’s under 50 it’s the time for hc and if it’s not enough you add honey. What % carbs is your hc?
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  19. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @tiffmaxee
    Elise just so I know if she was in the middle or high 50's would she try MC first
     
  20. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    It's 25-30 % and as I saw yesterday that I gave for the first time (I have orderded it and due to quarantine it arrived delayed) boosted her prices.
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So hc if she drops under 50 and test in 20-30 until past about 65. If you use lc and honey it acts fast but wears off fast. If hc alone doesn’t bump up add honey. Make sense? The take action with hc is any drop under 50 and if close to 50 if early in the cycle.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. That’s the time for mc to prevent the need for hc. I came on when she was already under 50.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  23. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    OK I understand!
    I was just wondering about different brands and carbs. She does not seem to be affected only by carbs. For example, I have noticed that the mc I use (hills md 14%) seems to rise her numbers less than the Bozita gravy (9%) . ( I don't know if I made it clear, I struggle with my english. ) What's more, I didn't know that it's allowed to use so many different foods (lc, mc, hc) during a day. I thought that we have to see how she reacts only with her usual lc (except under 50) Anyway, thank you so much for teaching me new things :bighug:

    She starts rising now . +7: 68 (last food +6)
    So, I reduce or not? What do you suggest?
     
    Hercule's mum likes this.
  24. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you Elise :cat:
     
  25. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'm going to tag @tiffmaxee if you should reduce in the morning.
    Don't feed her now test her @+8 and let's see what she is

    I see it's 4:00 AM in Greece
     
  26. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Yes its 4 am...
    And she' s dropping again.. :arghh:
    +8: 53
     
  27. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Not sure if Elise is off the board right now. Give her more HC. You should test again in 30.
    She should really be starting to rise soon but you've had a long night (long two nights), so let's get this girl to come up and stay up.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  28. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    I made a mistake and I have fed lc with honey before 2 hours. Ok now I'll give her hc
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  29. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    It's not a mistake:bighug:. Trial and error. Honey works fast but doesn't keep them up for long, as Elise mentioned.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  30. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    :bighug: I hope I'll learn everything soon. Should I reduce again in the morning, given that it's the first day of a reduction?
     
  31. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I think Elise had said she might but wanted to see what others thought. Maybe @Wendy&Neko will be on later...?

    I wonder if skipping the next shot to drain the depot is an option? I have no idea if it is or not...just curious.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  32. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    You're just under four hours away from shot time, so wait and see what the more experienced people think. I don't give dosing advice. I'm still learning about dosing:).
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  33. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    I hope someone see it and reply, there are 4 hours till AMPS. Thank you very much for the help!
     
  34. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko
    Hoping you can give Melita some advice , should she take another reduction
    Having a hard time right now keeping her BG up.
    She's in Greece and it's 4:43 AM right now
    Just to fill you in a little she was feeding LC with honey in the beginning, now feeding HC with honey, but she just dropped again
     
  35. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Wondering if you should mix some of the 25% high carb with some of the
    Bozita gravy (9%) you have, let's see what the next test is
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  36. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    After HC she hasn't dropped yet. On the contrary, BG went from 53 to 90.
     
  37. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Another option is to do a BCS or reduced dose tomorrow morning, to drain the 1.75 units depot, then go back to 1.5 units.
     
  38. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Excuse me, what does BCS mean?
     
  39. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko dumb question but what is a BCS?
     
  40. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Big Chicken Shot = BCS. Shooting a reduced dose.
     
  41. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Great! So you can see the difference HC can make, compared to using honey/syrup and mixing it into LC. It is nearer to the end of the cycle, so I expected she'd go up quite a bit.

    She should stay up now, but I'd set an alarm to test in an hour just to be safe and make sure she is still up, unless someone tells you otherwise.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  42. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    OK you just answered my question. So if I'm understanding Wendy correctly, give a reduced dose and then go back to shooting 1.5 units.
    Is that how you take it
     
  43. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Yes. Reduced dose for the morning only. Then back to 1.5U in the evening.
     
  44. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I'll try and tag @Bron and Sheba (GA) to see how much she should shoot for the AM ,
    Hi Bron Can you please take a look at these posts, we are trying to figure out how much of a reduced dose she should give just for the AM shot only , then she will go back to 1.5 U
    at her PMPS shot.
    See #37
    Melita is in Greece it's 5:38 AM and she's been up all night so far.
    So her AMPS will be rolling around soon
    Besides that she is wondering if she should take another reduction so soon

    Thank you Bron
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  45. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    @Wendy&Neko Thank you so much! How much should I reduce according to BCS?
     
  46. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    After +9.5 115 I think I can go to bed, I'm totally exhausted . I Hope the experienced members see the posts the next 2 hours until my AMPS and make a suggestion. Otherwise, I don't know... I'll reduce 0.25u and see....
    I'm so sorry I put you all in trouble tonight, thank you very much for the support and quick responses! Big hug from me and Chnoudi :):)
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  47. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    No problem at all, I hope someone does reply back , yes I think you can go to bed.
    You must be exhausted. Get some sleep :bighug::bighug:
     
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  48. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    A BCS dose can be around 1/2 the regular dose. Note, there is no guarantee she won't go down on that cycle, again because of the depot. Or she could bounce.
     
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  49. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Usually she bounces after a drop under 50. She is really bouncy. So what do you suggest me to do?
     
  50. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You will have to decide based on her AMPS, and how tired you are feeling. It's too hard to guess now where she'll be.
     
    Melita & Chnoudi likes this.
  51. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Ok i see. We have eliminate the option to reduce to 1.25, right?
     
  52. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I see Wendy said in #48 a BCS dose could be around 1/2 the usual dose
    So that would be 0.75 units

    I don't know if you should reduce to 1.25 units come night time.
    You can always post and ask.
    How many hours until her AMPS shot

    This is what I am reading
    if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

    We will have to ask about this when it comes to your AMPS time
    Edit
    The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.

    • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)

    @tiffmaxee

    @Chris & China (GA)

    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Please ladies I'm trying to help @Melita & Chnoudi
    Whether or not she should reduce
    It's been a long night so if you can read what's been going on
    It's much appreciated :bighug::bighug:
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  53. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    1 1/2 hour.
     
  54. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    II'll be up to see what it is
     
  55. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Thank you soooo much for that!!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  56. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    No problem at all
     
  57. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    AMPS 158. The lower amps she'd ever had
     
  58. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    OK
    Well since no one replied back from what Wendy said in postv# 48 and #50
    Half of 1.5 units would be 0.75 units

    Maybe 1.25 would be too much
    So how about 0.75 units?
    What do you think?
     
  59. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Yes, I'll shoot 0.75... I hope it's the right choice. I just made a new thread for today
     
  60. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Then hopefully with everyone I tagged might be on to give us an answer whether
    to reduce the PMPS or not
     
  61. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Why did you want to go higher?
    Have you even slept at all yet, probably not right
    @Melita & Chnoudi
     
  62. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    I hope so.... And her numbers today will show us the right path.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  63. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    No no! I'm just completely new to all these things... I can't take initiatives for the dose
     
  64. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I understand, I have never been in this situation like this even though I have been here for awhile.

    Since no one came back on board that's what I think I would shoot
    let the depot drain a bit.
    The 1.25 still might be too much
    Better to be safe than sorry
    Did you sleep yet
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  65. Melita & Chnoudi

    Melita & Chnoudi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2020
    Yes you' re right! I hope she goes well. The last nights are really hard, I just want to burst into tears, but I must be patient and strong. I've slept for about a half an hour.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  66. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Just saw this. I didn't get this tag. Just happened to look at this condo. Makes me wonder if others @Diane Tyler's Mom has been tagging have got the tags!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  67. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I know but as soon as we find the correct dose for her things will get better.
    Try and get some sleep and set an alarm and maybe test her @+2 to see where she's at.You are doing a great job and you have learned d a few more things .
    Just like I had to do when I first started off. Just remember

    The take action with HC is any drop under 50 and if close to 50 if early in the cycle.

    If she is in the middle or high 50's you would try MC first

    That’s the time for MC to prevent the need for HC.

    Book mark this page for future reference.
    Will check in with you later :bighug::cat:

    @Melita & Chnoudi
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2020
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  68. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Bhooma , Wendy did receive the tag and so did tiffmaxie (Elise) and Lyla
    Butters Mom
    I see Sue tagged you in #6 you didn't get it
     
    Sue and Luci and Bandit's Mom like this.

Share This Page