12/2 Herman amps 99 pmps 97

He likes the number 99! :D
He does! His cycles have been flat... really flat....I don't understand honestly how they can be so flat. o_O
Happy for the greens but he is still trending higher... which isn't great...and I can't be sure, but I think his pooping a bit of an issue....so hard to tell.....but he isn't outside nearly as much as he used to due to wind and rain and snow (so he's also not getting as much exercise) and he hasn't had any poop in litter box in days, work has been busy so I haven't been able to check on him much when he does go outside so it's possible he is going out there...hope so anyway. I am going to take him outside on a "poop walk" later this afternoon if work allows and see if I can witness an outdoor arena poop! Don't want to consider increasing until I know better whether constipation is playing any roll. :D
 
Ha ha! I actually was considering putting a camera pointing towards Simon’s litter box so I could monitor it when I was away from home! Luckily I never had to go that far, but I knew I was in crazy cat lady territory for considering it o_O
I put one home cam to monitor his litter box, and one cam toward his feeding place. Often woke up at wee hours of the night to check the app to see if the auto feeder opens. :rolleyes:
 
Well....I spent a good hour I didn't really have today to hanging out with Herman in his favorite litter box, the arena. Once in am, once afternoon. This am he just peed out there, this afternoon he peed - then looked like he really needed to find a "good spot", took his time digging multiple little holes..... so I watched....and watched......and then I saw him go!!!! I ran over after to check it out and it was only a tiny tiny amount :(...but not at all firm (not quite diarrhea). A spy camera wouldn't have helped me today - by the "look" of him he was taking a mighty poop! But on inspection it was barely a squirt! (sorry to be graphic).... And I am pretty confident he didn't go outside without me today and nothing in litter box. So....who knows?!?! I would be thrilled if he poops overnight _ I would just feel so much better. That said - he seems completely fine - he isn't grumpy at all like he was a few days ago when constipated so who knows!! Maybe he is making ghost poops!
 
Hi Amy! I like the sea of green on Herman's spreadsheet. He's spending a lot of time in "normal" cat BG numbers right now. I'm happy to see that. His pancreas can hopefully keep on healing.
Thank! I am trying not to get hung up on the odd blue, he seems happy and I am enjoying giving his ears a bit of a break. Just super surprised just how little movement there is in his numbers all day long. Talk about a flat curve. :D
 
:DOut of curiosity, is a non-diabetic cat's numbers flat? I assume so (with the odd food bumps) because there is no insulin to onset nadir and wear off.
I don’t know. My cats all have had stress elevated bg at the vet. I was surprised how high Chai was when she was sick a couple weeks ago. It was in range but high. A non diabetic cat)s bg will have a food spike and then the bg will come down 3-4 hours later.
 
Well....I spent a good hour I didn't really have today to hanging out with Herman in his favorite litter box, the arena. Once in am, once afternoon. This am he just peed out there, this afternoon he peed - then looked like he really needed to find a "good spot", took his time digging multiple little holes..... so I watched....and watched......and then I saw him go!!!! I ran over after to check it out and it was only a tiny tiny amount :(...but not at all firm (not quite diarrhea). A spy camera wouldn't have helped me today - by the "look" of him he was taking a mighty poop! But on inspection it was barely a squirt! (sorry to be graphic).... And I am pretty confident he didn't go outside without me today and nothing in litter box. So....who knows?!?! I would be thrilled if he poops overnight _ I would just feel so much better. That said - he seems completely fine - he isn't grumpy at all like he was a few days ago when constipated so who knows!! Maybe he is making ghost poops!
I think this is a sign of constipation- a tiny amount of soft stool gets around a larger hard stool that is mostly blocking the lower intestine. At least that is what happened with Simon. Sometimes you can actually feel the stool if you massage in that area and then you can gently move it down the intestine. This really helped Simon when he was constipated. You can also try a glycerine suppository- it usually works really quickly. Wishing you good luck!
 
I agree about the soft stool that squeezes around the hard stuff in there. This does happen with constipation. You may need to step up the Miralax a bit. Ask your vet about Lactulose if he doesn’t get his bowels moving on an increased dose of Miralax. Psyllium can be added to food as well although it changes the texture of the food and a lot of cats don’t like it - also freeze dried pumpkin.
 
I think this is a sign of constipation- a tiny amount of soft stool gets around a larger hard stool that is mostly blocking the lower intestine. At least that is what happened with Simon. Sometimes you can actually feel the stool if you massage in that area and then you can gently move it down the intestine. This really helped Simon when he was constipated. You can also try a glycerine suppository- it usually works really quickly. Wishing you good luck!
I did try massaging him a bit, makes him very angry…he’s very specific about his ‘ok to pet’ zones. I’ll keep trying!
 
I agree about the soft stool that squeezes around the hard stuff in there. This does happen with constipation. You may need to step up the Miralax a bit. Ask your vet about Lactulose if he doesn’t get his bowels moving on an increased dose of Miralax. Psyllium can be added to food as well although it changes the texture of the food and a lot of cats don’t like it - also freeze dried pumpkin.
I’ll up his miralax. He was picky about pumpkin before but can try again. Thanks. At least he doesn’t seem outwardly uncomfortable but I’ll keep close eye! o_O
 
Some cats are more responsive to psyllium than miralax, and some need both (or at least one stool softener and one bulking agent- pumpkin is also a stool softener). I hope you find something that works- finding the right combo or even anything that works can be so hard!
 
he’s very specific about his ‘ok to pet’ zones.

upload_2022-12-3_2-39-34.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-3_2-39-34.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-3_2-39-34.jpeg
    59.6 KB · Views: 185
Back
Top