12/2 Oberon +8.5 447, AMPS 443, +3.5 399, +6 384, +9 396, PMPS 374, +3 304 ketones 1.1, +5 352

Wow, seriously cranky at PMPS. Took 15 minutes and two of us to finally get him tested, and I had to feed him a bit to try to settle him down first. (Didn't help that his ears were cold.) I was going to do a ketone spot check, but it wasn't worth the trouble. I'll do that later when he's sleeping while I test.
 
It was on the 6th cycle following the skipped shot on 11/21/PM that Oberon returned to green. Tonight will make the 4th cycle since your most recent skipped shot on 11/30/PM. Todays cycle has been quite flat; I wonder if he has something up his kitty sleeve?

The last ketone reading I'm seeing is 11/16 (I just saw your post above as I was typing this). A ketone check is a good idea - they can sneak up on you.

Have you given any thought to a new R scale, should the need arise?
 
Yeah, this is the first time he's been this high for this long in quite a while. I figure a ketone check is a good idea. Just need to get him to cooperate a bit more... usually I can get a big enough drop to do both tests at once, but just now it was all I could do to get enough for the BG test. Went through three BG strips, too. :banghead: I'll get ketones later tonight.

I don't trust him at all... it would be just like him to take a dive tonight. Luckily the biggest testing gap I might have would be between about +4 or 5 and +8, so we should be able to catch anything before it gets too low.

Previous scale had me giving him 1.25 U if he was between 300 and 450, 1.5 if over that (rarely used that dose). Now I'm thinking I'd start with 0.5 U if over 300 and see what that does for him, then bring it up a little if necessary.
 
304 at +3... this could be it (unless he's faking me out). Ah well, who needs sleep? Ketones are 1.1, so that's good. (Not good that he's got them, but good that they're that low. He's been much much higher before.)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top